Selected Books
The Communication Clinic: 99 Proven Cures for the Most Common Business Mistakes by
Your go-to, quick reference guidebook on business etiquette and communications In an increasingly digital landscape, where businesses and clients are spread out across the globe, there's never been a time before when essential communication skills have been so imperative. Internationally renowned business communications speaker, coach, and author Barbara Pachter returns with an invaluable guidebook to help you improve office conduct, increase your career opportunities, and succeed in the business world--all through clear, effective communication. The Communication Clinic addresses numerous different elements of communication, including blog posts, making successful presentations, writing effective emails, and presenting yourself professionally in the workplace, interacting via Skype, and more. Laid out into 99 quick and easy-to-digest chapters, Pachter helps you identify and diagnose any of your communication problem areas, and then provides you with prescriptive, implementable steps to not only overcome these difficulties, but to thrive in the face of them. Succinct suggestions and helpful exercises are included so you can immediately apply these new, unique lessons.
Call Number: HF5718 .P334 2017 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781259644849Publication Date: 2016-12-08
Mastering Communication at Work: How to Lead, Manage, and Influence by
Mastering Communication at Work is based on 45 years of research and working with over half-a-million clients around the world. From leaders of countries to leaders of companies to people just starting out in their career, Becker and Wortmann teach techniques that start with the essential wisdom of Aristotle and include the best practices in today's global organizations. The book includes interviews with leaders who reveal the inside story of the communication secrets at: The White House Doris Kearns Goodwin, presidential historian and Pulitzer Prize winning author Google Laszlo Bock, Vice President, People Operations EMI Publishing Big Jon Platt, President IBM Jeanatte Horan, Vice President of Enterprise Business Transformation Harvard Business School Tony Mayo, Director of the Leadership Initiative The New York Giants Peter John-Baptiste, Director of Public Relations Mastering Communication at Work provides clear, actionable advice you can put to use right away and simple drills to practice during your next meeting, one-on-one conversation--or even sitting at your desk. Use Mastering Communication at Work as your coach and you'll see immediate results in yourself, your people, and your organization.
Call Number: HD30.3 .B415 2009 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780071625029Publication Date: 2009-08-07
Working Together by
Today's workplace brings together a variety of people with very diverse backgrounds and behaviors. Discover how culture and politics impact your organization, and learn to reverse prejudicial thinking and understand how gestures and body language can differ between cultures. This book will guide you through mastering how you think about yourself and others, how to speak and listen effectively to people with different backgrounds, and how to pay attention to the non-verbal language of "where, when, and how" you do things.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 S56 2002 (Jesup)ISBN: 9781560526704Publication Date: 2002-04-25
Selected eBooks
Find these books and more by searching CPTC's online library catalog.
Body Language by
What does your body language say about you? From strangers on the street, to your closest friends and family - even if you're not speaking, you're saying a lot with your body. Body Language explores the way we use our bodies to communicate, the way we hold ourselves, the way we sit, stand, and point our hands, feet and eyes can all reveal how we are feeling in any given situation. This book explores the body language we use in a wide-range of business and personal-life scenarios, from delivering a presentation at work to how you should act on a first date! Packed with images to clearly demonstrate each of the scenarios discussed, Body Language will help you understand the way others around you choose to communicate and also what you are saying with your own body. These valuable skills will improve your day to day communication, helping you to judge situations and understand how others around you are feeling. Use Body Language to: Harness the power of your own body language Communicate confidently to all of those around you Dip in and out of useful scenarios to find the best advice for you Understand people's hidden emotions and learn what you are hiding yourself Tackle those important life events, such as interviews, first dates, important meetings and more!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780857087041Publication Date: 2016-07-25
Conversations about Language & Culture by
Conversations About Language & Culture includes the following 5 in-depth Ideas Roadshow Conversations featuring leading researchers. This collection includes a detailed preface highlighting the connections between the different books. Each book is broken into chapters with a detailed introduction and questions for discussion at the end of each chapter: 1.Babbling Barbarians: How Translators Keep Us Civilized - A Conversation with David Bellos, translator and professor in French literature at Princeton University. This conversation examines many fascinating features of language and translation, including the value of a translation as opposed to the original work, translating humour, the Bergman Effect and more. 2. China, Culturally Speaking - A conversation with Michael Berry, Professor of Contemporary Chinese Cultural Studies at UCLA and a world-renowned Chinese literary translator and film scholar. This conversation covers a wide range of topics such as the appeal of literary translation, modern and contemporary Chinese literature, the history and development of Chinese cinema, popular culture in modern China, censorship, and the importance of staying true to one's values. 3. The Value of Voice - A Conversation with Nick Couldry, Professor of Media, Communications and Social Theory in the Department of Media and Communications at the London School of Economics. This conversation explores how the media can be used as a filter to examine power structures, political movements, economic interests, democracy and our evolving notion of culture, the importance of voice and the challenge posed by media institutions that order the social, political, cultural, economic, and ethical dimensions of our lives. 4. Perspectives on Mass Communication - A Conversation with Denis McQuail (1935-2017), who was Emeritus Professor at the University of Amsterdam and Visiting Professor at the University of Southampton. Widely considered to be one of the most influential scholars in the history of mass communication studies, this conversation provides detailed insights into the concepts, metrics and ideas that McQuail developed to measure the sociological influence of the media; the critical role of journalism in society and more. 5. Sign Language Linguistics - A Conversation with Carol Padden, the Sanford I. Berman Chair in Language & Human Communication at UC San Diego. This conversation covers many topics related to sign language, such as growing up with ASL, Padden's early work with Bill Stokoe, the linguistic complexity, structure and properties of ASL and other sign languages, the development of new sign languages throughout the world, the role of gesture and embodiment, and more.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781771701037Publication Date: 2021-05-28
Engaged Journalism by
Engaged Journalism explores the changing relationship between news producers and audiences and the methods journalists can use to secure the attention of news consumers. Based on Jake Batsell's extensive experience and interaction with more than twenty innovative newsrooms, this book shows that, even as news organizations are losing their agenda-setting power, journalists can still thrive by connecting with audiences through online technology and personal interaction. Batsell conducts interviews with and observes more than two dozen traditional and startup newsrooms across the United States and the United Kingdom. Traveling to Seattle, London, New York City, and Kalamazoo, Michigan, among other locales, he attends newsroom meetings, combs through internal documents, and talks with loyal readers and online users to document the successes and failures of the industry's experiments with paywalls, subscriptions, nonprofit news, live events, and digital tools including social media, data-driven interactives, news games, and comment forums. He ultimately concludes that, for news providers to survive, they must constantly listen to, interact with, and fulfill the specific needs of their audiences, whose attention can no longer be taken for granted. Toward that end, Batsell proposes a set of best practices based on effective, sustainable journalistic engagement.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780231168359Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Journalism by
This volume sets out the state-of-the-art in the discipline of journalism at a time in which the practice and profession of journalism is in serious flux. While journalism is still anchored to its history, change is infecting the field. The profession, and the scholars who study it, are reconceptualizing what journalism is in a time when journalists no longer monopolize the means for spreading the news. Here, journalism is explored as a social practice, as an institution, and as memory. The roles, epistemologies, and ethics of the field are evolving. With this in mind, the volume revisits classic theories of journalism, such as gatekeeping and agenda-setting, but also opens up new avenues of theorizing by broadening the scope of inquiry into an expanded journalism ecology, which now includes citizen journalism, documentaries, and lifestyle journalism, and by tapping the insights of other disciplines, such as geography, economics, and psychology. The volume is a go-to map of the field for students and scholars--highlighting emerging issues, enduring themes, revitalized theories, and fresh conceptualizations of journalism.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781501510380Publication Date: 2018-05-22
Neuroscience Fundamentals for Communication Sciences and Disorders by
"Neuroscience Fundamentals for Communication Sciences and Disorders, Second Edition is a comprehensive textbook primarily designed for undergraduate neural bases or graduate neuroscience courses in communication sciences and disorders programs (CSD). The text can also be used as an accessible go-to reference for speech-language pathology and audiology clinical professionals practicing in medical and rehab settings. Written with an engaging and conversational style, the author uses humor and analogies to explain concepts that are often challenging for students. Complemented by more than 400 visually rich and beautifully drawn full-color illustrations, the book emphasizes brain and behavior relationships while also ensuring coverage of essential neuroanatomy and neurophysiology in an integrative fashion. With a comprehensive background in the principles, processes, and structures underlying the workings of the human nervous system, students and practitioners alike, will be able to better understand and apply brain-behavior relationships to make appropriate clinical assessments and treatment decisions"--
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781635503593Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Understanding Everyday Communicative Interactions by
Understanding Everyday Communicative Interactions is a unique text that uses a situated discourse analysis (SDA) framework to examine basic human communication and the interactions of those with communicative disorders in everyday and clinical settings. The book introduces SDA as a theoretical and empirical approach for examining the complexities of communicative interaction. It explores how people collaborate in everyday contexts to communicate successfully and how they learn to do so. From close analysis of a pretend game played by two children and their father to an observation of a man with aphasia and his family at a football match, the present volume offers rich portraits of communicative lives and illustrates the applications of SDA. The final part of the book uses SDA methods to demonstrate how clinicians can function as communication partners even during assessments and can design rich communicative environments for therapeutic interventions. In explaining the SDA framework and equipping readers with the tools to understand the nature of human communication, this sophisticated and engaging book will be an essential reference for students, researchers, and clinicians in communication sciences and disorders.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780367472023Publication Date: 2020-04-29
Expert Recommendations
Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking When Stakes Are High by
When stakes are high, opinions vary, and emotions run strong, you have three choices: Avoid a crucial conversation and suffer the consequences; handle the conversation badly and suffer the consequences; or read Crucial Conversations and discover how to communicate best when it matters most. This wise and witty guide gives you the tools you need to step up to life's most difficult and important conversations, say what's on your mind, and achieve positive outcomes that will amaze you.
Call Number: BF637 .C45 C78 2012 (Camden)ISBN: 9780071401944Publication Date: 2012
Just Listen by
Getting through to someone is a critical, fine art. Whether you are dealing with a harried colleague, a stressed-out client, or an insecure spouse, things will go from bad to worse if you can't break through emotional barricades and get your message thoroughly communicated and registered. Drawing on his experience as a psychiatrist, business consultant, and coach, author Mark Goulston combines his background with the latest scientific research to help you turn the "impossible" and "unreachable" people in their lives into allies, devoted customers, loyal colleagues, and lifetime friends. In Just Listen, Goulston provides simple yet powerful techniques you can use to really get through to people including how to: make a powerful and positive first impression; listen effectively; make even a total stranger (potential client) feel understood; talk an angry or aggressive person away from an instinctual, unproductive reaction and toward a more rational mindset; and achieve buy-in--the linchpin of all persuasion, negotiation, and sales. Whether they're coworkers, friends, strangers, or enemies, the first make-or-break step in persuading anyone to do anything is getting them to hear you out. The invaluable principles in Just Listen will get you through that first tough step with anyone. With this groundbreaking book, you will be able to master the fine but critical art of effective communication.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780814436479Publication Date: 2015-03-04
Nonviolent Communication: a Language of Life by
What is Violent Communication? If "violent" means acting in ways that result in hurt or harm, then much of how we communicate--judging others, bullying, having racial bias, blaming, finger pointing, discriminating, speaking without listening, criticizing others or ourselves, name-calling, reacting when angry, using political rhetoric, being defensive or judging who's "good/bad" or what's "right/wrong" with people--could indeed be called "violent communication." What is Nonviolent Communication? Nonviolent Communication is the integration of four things: * Consciousness: a set of principles that support living a life of compassion, collaboration, courage, and authenticity * Language: understanding how words contribute to connection or distance * Communication: knowing how to ask for what we want, how to hear others even in disagreement, and how to move toward solutions that work for all * Means of influence: sharing "power with others" rather than using "power over others" Nonviolent Communication serves our desire to do three things: * Increase our ability to live with choice, meaning, and connection * Connect empathically with self and others to have more satisfying relationships * Sharing of resources so everyone is able to benefit
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781892005281Publication Date: 2015-09-01
What Every BODY Is Saying by
Joe Navarro, a former FBI counterintelligence officer and a recognized expert on nonverbal behavior, explains how to "speed-read" people: decode sentiments and behaviors, avoid hidden pitfalls, and look for deceptive behaviors. You'll also learn how your body language can influence what your boss, family, friends, and strangers think of you. Read this book and send your nonverbal intelligence soaring. You will discover: The ancient survival instincts that drive body language Why the face is the least likely place to gauge a person's true feelings What thumbs, feet, and eyelids reveal about moods and motives The most powerful behaviors that reveal our confidence and true sentiments Simple nonverbals that instantly establish trust Simple nonverbals that instantly communicate authority Filled with examples from Navarro's professional experience, this definitive book offers a powerful new way to navigate your world.
Call Number: BF 637 .N66 N38 2008 (Jesup & Waycross)ISBN: 9780061438295Publication Date: 2008-04-15
