LibGuides: Human Communication: GALILEO Journals and Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Included is a special collection of diagnostic interviews related to mental disorders that is geared for nursing students.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Provides access to over 175,000 eBooks imprints from more than 650 publishers.

eBooks on EBSCOhost
eBooks on EBSCOhost provides access to eBooks in the Academic Collection as well as a shared selection of titles from other EBSCO ebook databases, which include the Community College, High School, K-8, and Public Library collections.

Encyclopædia Britannica Online
Films on Demand
Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.
Global Newsstream
Enables users to search the most recent global news content with archives that stretch back into the 1980s; from over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides information on important current news events. The GALILEO database can help with writing a critical essay, researching a paper, or preparing for a debate. This database covers a variety of reference materials, commentaries, and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia.

ProQuest Research Library
Provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers (1971 to present).

Sociological Collection
Sociological Collection includes more than 500 full-text titles related to sociology. Most of the resources are peer-reviewed publications, in case you need material of that type.

Selected Journals

American Journalism Articles & book reviews on media history, including the history of broadcasting, advertising, public relations, & media outside of the United States, & communication of history in general.
Atlantic Journal of Communication Publishes eclectic research on communication theory, practice, policy, and issues within communication studies regardless of geographic origin.
The Bulletin of the Association for Business Communication About: The Bulletin of the Association for Business Communication is an academic journal. The journal publishes majorly in the area(s): Business communication & Higher education. Over the lifetime, 433 publications have been published receiving 1783 citations.
Columbia Journalism Review CJR’s mission is to be the intellectual leader in the rapidly changing world of journalism. It is the most respected voice on press criticism, and it shapes the ideas that make media leaders and journalists smarter about their work. Through its fast-turn analysis and deep reporting, CJR is an essential venue not just for journalists, but also for the thousands of professionals in communications, technology, academia, and other fields reliant on solid media industry knowledge.
Global Media Journal The Global Media Journal offers open access platform to the scholars, researchers, academicians and students of media and communication with a view to publish the most trending and innovative researches that explore media, society and culture in the wake of globalization. Coupled with revolution in the field of information and communication technologies, globalization could bring phenomenal changes in the field of Mass Communication globally. The journal is keen in capturing the major developments in the media industry that is growing vertically and horizontally. Global Media’s impact in the border less societies is equally immense. The journal encourages seminal studies of media on the society and cultures cutting across economics of class, gender, age, region and religion.
Teaching Journalism & Mass Communication Journal Teaching Journalism and Mass Communication: A Journal Published by the Small Programs Interest Group is a peer-reviewed electronic journal focused on teaching journalism and mass communication in small departments and dedicated to the open exchange of information. Teaching Journalism and Mass Communication: A Journal Published by the Small Programs Interest Group is intended to utilize some of the strengths of the Internet to further the scholarship of teaching and learning in journalism and mass communication programs in colleges and universities where the emphasis is on teaching. In its promotion of reflexive practice that merges theory and practice, the journal seeks to highlight peer-reviewed research, essays, articles and multimedia presentations that focus on teaching journalism, public relations, advertising and related mass communication curricula. In creating the journal for its constituency, the Small Programs Interest Group neither eschews theory nor limits itself to the practical; rather, the goal is to promote a better integration of both at a time when the field of journalism and mass communication must reshape itself not just to address the demands of the industries with which it is aligned, but also as a professoriate whose subject area has increasing relevance for disciplines across the academy. The journal is a way to better articulate what it is we do and must do better, while putting teaching as the central activity that organizes our university life. This means that submissions should reflect an awareness of some of the constraints faced by faculty with heavy teaching loads and more limited resources.