Nursing and Allied Health Video Collection

What is it like to be a radiologic technologist? In this Career Q&A video interview, Kristin Dukes talks about her career path, what she does on the job, and the keys to success in radiology. She also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years.

This video looks at the history of x-radiation from the invention of Geissler tubes and the work of Wilhelm Röntgen to the recognition of the dangers of exposure. It discusses the technical aspects of the modern x-ray machine and the imaging process and introduces digital radiography. It presents an overview of safety protocols, contrast agents, and basic machine controls. The video also offers guidelines for x-ray image interpretation with basic radiographic opacities for various tissues and explains Roentgen signs.

This program traces the development of x-ray imaging from the early discovery of its fluorescing properties to modern digital imaging with flat panel displays. It explains the use of X-ray image intensifiers and provides an overview of their technical properties. It discusses types of flat-panel detectors, looking at their mechanisms, and considers safety protocols, system configurations, and general equipment adjustments. It also examines contrast agents and image evaluation.

This module provides an introduction to X-rays.

Presenting a brief history of the development of nuclear magnetic resonance imaging (now known as MRI), this video examines the interaction between magnetic fields and radiofrequency waves that produces MR images. It looks at pre-MRI screening and protocol, considers the positioning of RF coils, discusses actual imaging sequences, and provides a general explanation of intensity for each sequence.

This module provides an introduction to MRI physics.

Beginning with a brief history of CT scanner development through the 1970s and 1980s, this program covers the technical aspects of x-radiation, image processing and construction, and the Hounsfield unit scale. It discusses safety protocols, including use of CT in pregnancy and in patients with implanted devices. It looks at contrast agents and considers general usage protocols. The program examines interpretation, discussing windowing along with artifacts and the means of minimizing them. It also presents a brief overview of new technology in computed tomography scanning.

This module provides an introduction to CT imaging.

This program includes a brief history of the medical use of Ultrasound and an explanation of sound wave transmission, reception and image formation. This video covers multiple ultrasound modulation techniques including Doppler, and the use of contrast agents. The Operations segment explains possible adverse effects along with an overview of interventional ultrasound, equipment adjustments and the use of ultrasound in obstetrics. The Interpretation segment of the program covers both B-scan and Doppler ultrasound.

This program, the first in a two-part series on nuclear medicine, includes a brief history of Positron-Emission Tomography in medical imaging and an explanation of radiotracers and the means of their detection in the imaging process. It discusses preparation of the radiotracers and offers overviews of attenuation correction, 2D and 3D reconstruction, and "Time of Flight" technique. The program describes the applications of PET in oncology, neuroimaging, cognitive neuroscience, and other areas of diagnosis and research. The program also covers use of 18F-FDG and provides an overview of the FDG PET/CT scanning procedure, as well as a general discussion on image scales and examples of tumor imaging. It concludes with a brief look at the perceived future of PET imaging technology.

This video describes the defining moments in the history of SPECT and describes the gamma camera imaging process. It discusses the advantages of integrated SPECT/CT scanning, along with the more commonly used radiotracers. It discusses general protocols and provides overviews of the current applications of SPECT in myocardial perfusion imaging, functional brain imaging, diagnosis of infection and inflammation, and oncology. The video concludes with a segment on interpretation that offers examples of SPECT/CT imaging in various cerebrovascular diseases and dementias, as well as the myocardial perfusion study.