United States History

Local sites include the Bloody Marsh Battle site and St. Simons Lighthouse on St. Simons Island, Christ Church and Fort Fredrica in Fredrica, and the Horton House on Jekyll Island.

The purpose of Coastal Georgia Historical Society is to aid in the administration, restoration, and maintenance of those historic facilities and resources entrusted to its care so that they will be preserved as a living part of the historical and cultural foundations of our coastal community.

The Society presents an array of activities and events year-round designed to engage people of all ages in discovering Coastal Georgia’s history while strengthening their connection to the region’s rich legacy.

Georgia Historical Society (GHS) is the premier independent statewide institution responsible for collecting, examining, and teaching Georgia history. GHS houses the oldest and most distinguished collection of materials related exclusively to Georgia history in the nation.

Local sites include Fort King George in Darien and Hofwyl-Broadfield Plantation site in Brunswick.

The Georgia Archives identifies, collects, provides access and preserves Georgia’s historical documents. Includes documents and pictures of local history

A helpful online encyclopedia about the history of Georgia, including specific information on local regions

Historical Maps of Georgia are a great resource to help learn about a place at a particular point in time. Georgia Maps are vital historical evidence but must be interpreted cautiously and carefully.

Includes history and data about Georgia and its individual counties specifically

This is your portal to some of Georgia's most important historical documents, from 1733 to the present. The Virtual Vault provides virtual access to historic Georgia manuscripts, photographs, maps, and government records housed in the state archives.