Religion Books
Understanding the Religions of the World by
Understanding the Religions of the World offers a new approach to the study of religion which moves away from the purely descriptive and instead helps students understand how religions actually 'work'. Covering all the main faith traditions, it combines historical context, contemporary beliefs and practices, and original theory, with numerous study features and valuable overviews. A major new student-focused textbook concentrating on contemporary practices and beliefs of world religions Brings together a team of experts to provide a uniquely comprehensive coverage of religious traditions, including African religions and the religions of Oceania, which are rarely covered in detail Integrates original theory by arguing that each religion operates according to its own logic and order, and that they fulfill our need for a point of orientation Incorporates extensive student features including chapter introductions, 'did you know?' sections, boxed examples/material, numerous images and maps, conclusions, study questions and teaching plans, available on publication at www.wiley.com/go/deming
Call Number: BL48 .U48 2015 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781118767566Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Religion 101 by
Discover the origins and traditions of world religions! With so many religions in the world, it isn't always easy to recall each faith's key influences, spiritual figures, and dogmas. Written in easy-to-understand language, Religion 101 offers a fascinating--and memorable--glimpse at the sacred stories, traditions, and doctrines that have influenced today's most popular religions. From Jesus and the Four Noble Truths to the Buddhist Wheel of Existence, this book provides you with thought-provoking insight into the customs and beliefs of common faiths like Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, and Islam. Inside, you will also discover hundreds of important religious facts, illustrations, and thought puzzles that you won't be able to find anywhere else. So whether you're looking to unravel the mysteries of existence and meaning, or just want to find out what Kabbalah is all about, Religion 101 has all the answers--even the ones you didn't know you were looking for.
Call Number: BL80.3 .A74 2014 (Camden)ISBN: 1440572631Publication Date: 2013-11-29
Founders of Faiths by
Founders of Faiths explores the origins, basic teachings, and legacy of the founders and heroes of seven major world religions: Krishna, Abraham, the Buddha, Zoroaster, Confucius, Jesus, and Muhammad. Faith and religion play a central role in the life of billions of people around the world. Yet, a recent survey of American religious literacy found that most of us lack a basic knowledge of our own religion, as well as that of our neighbors. Founders of Faiths provides insightful introductions to these seven key figures and their roles in world history, combined with clear explanations of the fundamental precepts of their teachings. This new vividly illustrated book will not only help young readers better understand the religious origins and beliefs of those around them, but will also encourage them to further study. Book jacket.
Call Number: BL72 .P72 2012 (Waycross)ISBN: 1599351471Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Religion eBooks
Comparative Religion by
Over 7 billion people live on the earth, and 84 percent of them describe themselves as being religious. Few topics incite such passion as religion. What does that mean? Why are humans invested in ideas that may never be proved? Why has religion played such an important role in history? In Comparative Religion: Investigate the World through Religious Tradition, readers seek answers to these questions by comparing and contrasting the cultural, spiritual, and geographical underpinnings of five different religions. By developing a better understanding of the similarities and differences among religions of the world, readers gain a strong foothold in a dialogue that has continued for thousands of years. Combining hands-on activities with theology, history, geography, world cultures, art, and architecture, Comparative Religion encourages deeper understanding of the world's religions. Entertaining graphic art, fascinating sidebars, and links to primary sources bring the topic to life, while key questions reaffirm foundational concepts. Activities include conducting an interview with a rabbi, comparing the story of Abraham and Isaac in three sacred texts, studying the architecture of the National Cathedral in Washington, DC, studying the Hindu practice of yoga and meditation, and examining how religious doctrines shape the behavior of believers.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781619303010Publication Date: 2015-10-13
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by
In 2, 800 pages across 4 volumes, Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, 2nd Edition, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. Volume 1, Religions and Denominations, contains 24-to-40-page entries on 13 major religions, such as Buddhism, Christianity and Islam, and 8-to-14 page entries on 28 religious denominations/sects, such as Tibetan Buddhism, Roman Catholicism and Shiism. Volumes 2, 3, and 4 focus on the significant religions practiced in 195 countries; entries range from 6-13 pages. Using the standardized rubric format of the Worldmark series, the entries provide easy access to information and encourage comparisons across different religions, religious groups, and countries. Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, 2nd Edition, features more than 725 color photographs and maps; a comparative table showing important facts about the 41 religions profiled; key-fact boxes; religious quotations; a glossary of terms; a chronology of events; a bibliography of general sources; and a comprehensive index.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1414498705Publication Date: 2014-09-29
On World Religions by
'... Swamiji attended the World Parliament of Religions at Chicago in 1893 as a true representative of his country and religion...Through his speeches at Chicago, and his subsequent work in America and England, [he] showed the universal relevance and significance of India's ancient philosophy and spiritual culture in solving many of the problems associated with modern living'. --Shri Pranab Mukherjee, The President of India Based on the ideas propagated by Swami Vivekananda, this book presents a brief survey of various approaches to religion and offers different perspectives of religious diversity. Scholars and philosophers of many religious traditions examine the social and cultural issues that lie at the interstices of this religious diversity. The volume throws light on several mega trends--knowledge revolution, a new kind of humanism stressing on the rights of underprivileged people, equality of gender, and protection against all forms of exploitation, injustice along with the awareness toward environmental concerns, as well as spiritual revolution--all characteristics of a new age. The contributors to this volume have devoted themselves to studying specific facets of this vast and intricate theme over many years of their respective professional careers. The interview with HH Dalai Lama, Maulana Wahiduddin Khan, Karan Singh and Reverend Mpho Tutu forms the key feature of this book. The volume will appeal to those interested in Philosophy, Religion, History, Culture and Asian Studies.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9788132118343Publication Date: 2014-04-07
