Books at CPTC
Critical Thinking by
The first integrated program designed specifically for the critical thinking course, Moore & Parker's Critical Thinking teaches students the skills they need in order to think for themselves-skills they will call upon in this course, in other college courses, and in the world that awaits. The authors' practical and accessible approach illustrates core concepts with concrete real-world examples, extensive practice exercises, and a thoughtful set of pedagogical features. Connect and LearnSmart for Critical Thinking coalesce in a highly adaptive learning environment where each student gets the targeted help he or she needs for more efficient mastery of course concepts. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect#65533; is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook#65533; - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
Call Number: General Collection ; B105 .T54 M66 2015 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9780078119149Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Critical Thinking Skills by
The second edition of this leading guide helps students to develop reflective thinking skills, improve their critical analysis and construct arguments more effectively. Written by Stella Cottrell, leader in the field with over one million book sales to date, this text breaks down a complex subject into easily understood blocks, providing easy-to-follow, step-by-step explanations and practice activities to develop understanding and practise your skills at each stage. Essential for students who are mystified by tutor comments such as 'more critical analysis needed', this is an invaluable tool for anyone wishing to develop advanced skills in this area and learn to apply them to tasks such as reading, writing and note-taking.
Call Number: General Collection ; BF 441 .C68 2005 (Camden and Waycross)ISBN: 9780230285293Publication Date: 2011-05-11
Is That True? by
Across disciplines, critical thinking is praised, taught, and put into practice. But what does it actually mean to think critically? In this brief volume, sociologist Joel Best examines how to evaluate arguments and the evidence used to support them as he hones in on how to think in the field of sociology and beyond. With inimitable style that melds ethnographic verve with dry humor, Best examines the ways in which sociologists engage in fuzzy thinking through bias, faddish cultural waves, spurious reasoning, and implicit bias. The short chapters cover: A general introduction to critical thinking and logic in the social sciences Sociology as an enterprise Key issues in thinking critically about sociological research Challenging questions that confront sociologists and a call for the discipline to meet those challenges. Students across disciplines will learn the building blocks of critical thinking in a sociological context and come away with key concepts to put into practice.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780520381407Publication Date: 2021-02-16
Thinking for Yourself: Developing Critical Thinking Skills Through Reading and Writing by
THINKING FOR YOURSELF: DEVELOPING CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS THROUGH READING AND WRITING offers a unique integration of composition, reading, and critical thinking. As you complete the book's writing assignments, you'll see how your writing reflects your thinking and how self-directed improvement in thinking also improves your writing. The book offers step-by-step instruction, humor, cartoons, and up-to-date social and political examples as a foundation for lifelong improvement in thinking and writing. Available with InfoTrac Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Call Number: General Collection ; PE1408 .M3933 2003 (Jesup)ISBN: 9781133311188Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Writing That Makes Sense, 2nd Edition by
The second edition of Writing That Makes Sense takes students through the fundamentals of the writing process and explores the basic steps of critical thinking. Drawing upon over twenty years of experience teaching college composition and professional writing, David S. Hogsette combines relevant writing pedagogy and practical assignments with the basics of critical thinking to provide students with step-by-step guides for successful academic writing in a variety of rhetorical modes. New in the second edition:-Expanded discussion of how to write effective thesis statements for informative, persuasive, evaluative, and synthesis essays, including helpful thesis statement templates.-Extensive templates introducing students to conventions of academic discourse, including integrating outside sources, interacting with other writers' ideas, and dialoguing with multiple perspectives. -Examples of academic writing from different disciplines illustrating essay titles, abstracts, thesis statements, introductions, conclusions, and voice. -Expanded discussion of voice in academic writing, including an exploration of active and passive voice constructions in different disciplines and tips on how to edit for clarity. -A new chapter on writing in the disciplines. -Updated sample student papers.-New readings with examples of opposing views and multiple perspectives.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781532650086Publication Date: 2019-11-05
You've Got to Be Kidding! How Jokes Can Help You Think by
You've Got to Be Kidding!: How Jokes Can Help You Think is a thoughtful and accessible analysis of the ways in which jokes illustrate how we think critically, and how the thinking process goes awry in everyday human situations. Uses jokes to illustrate the various mistakes or fallacies that are typically identified and discussed in courses on critical reasoning Provides an effective way to learn critical thinking skills since jokes often describe real-life situations where it really matters whether a person thinks well or not Demonstrates how philosophy is actually very practical and clearly related to real- life human experiences Explains how developing good reasoning habits can make a real difference in all aspects of one's life
Call Number: General Collection ; BC 177 .C3455 2009 (Jesup)ISBN: 9781405196659Publication Date: 2009-09-15
