Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films on Demand consists of 7,000 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also included is the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1,250 segments).
Allied Health Videos, a collection within Films on Demand, will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby.
This page provides links to a number of Films on Demand videos within the Surgical Technology field. Each video includes a description, a transcript, and citation information. You can also watch individual segments of each video.
For more information on how to use this database, check out our Films on Demand video, part of our Database Video Spotlight series.
To access these videos off campus, you will need to sign on using OpenAthens.
OpenAthens provides secure access to CPTC GALILEO resources through single sign-on when users are off campus.
CPTC students, faculty, and staff will use their full CPTC email address and password to log into GALILEO versus using a password.
GALILEO is still accessible on campus without having to log in.
Setting Up a Back Table
Preparing the Sterile Field
The surgical team gathers all materials for the procedure. Place packs on clean tables; drape from sterile to unsterile areas. Learn the procedures for moving sterile items, addressing contaminated items, draping the Mayo stand, and draping the patient.
Surgical Hand Scrub: Aseptic Nursing Technique in the OR
Presenting three purposes of the surgical hand scrub, this video differentiates between the two approved products for the hand scrub, shows techniques, and explains proper nail care for surgical staff.
How to Use Avagard Surgical Hand Antiseptic
This video includes details around application instructions, reduced risk of HAIs, intention of use, the only product that is FDA/NDA approved, description of ingredients, Avagard CHG provides a greater than 99% microbial kill in 15 seconds in vitro. Uniquely formulated to moisturize skin.
Sterile gowns are donned after completing a hand scrub. The scrub tech or nurse gowns first. View a demonstration of putting on a gown, using sterile technique.
iew demonstrations of closed gloving, assisted closed gloving, assisted open gloving, and unassisted open gloving. In addition, see how to tie the gown with and without a protective cover.
Draping the patient is the final process in establishing a sterile field; only sterile team members may come in contact with draped surfaces. Several types of drapes are used in surgery, but all must meet specific criteria to serve as effective barriers.