Stingray Library Catalog Search
Books
Surgical Technology by
Prepare to deliver the best patient care before, during, and after surgery with this approachable guide to surgical skills and operating room procedures. In addition to covering all the content in the AST Core Curriculum, this one-of-a-kind text offers a unique mentoring approach and engaging learning features that make even complex skills and techniques easy to understand. Comprehensive coverage addresses all areas of the AST Core Curriculum for Surgical Technology. Reader-friendly writing style and organization builds content from fundamental concepts, aseptic technique, and the role and function of the surgical technologist, to the specialty surgical procedure chapters. Consistent chapter format breaks down surgical procedures in an easy-to-understand way that helps you understand the key elements of more than 200 procedures. Experienced author/consulting editor team lends a breadth of experience for a well-rounded and multi-perspective focus on operating room procedures and quality patient care. Over 1,200 full-color illustrations and clinical photos bring concepts and procedures to life. Robust practice opportunities include review questions and case studies at the end of each chapter, along with additional review questions and surgical practice videos on the Evolve companion website. Learning objectives serve as checkpoints for comprehension and as study tools in preparation for examinations. Key terminology appears in boldface throughout chapter discussions with key terms defined and cross-referenced to a back-of-book glossary. Key concepts are covered in a bulleted list at the end of each chapter discussion to summarize and review chapter content. References and bibliographies provide a listing of in-text and additional citations of scientific research and best practices. Pathology appendix summarizes the most commonly seen pathological processes and organizes them by body system. NEW! Robotic Surgery chapter describes the most advanced equipment and procedures involving surgical robots. Additional skills content includes patient preparation, transporting, positioning, and draping. Expanded coverage of endoscopic procedures is featured in the Minimally Invasive Surgery chapter.
Call Number: RD32.3 .F84 2022 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780323680189Publication Date: 2021-02-25
Operating Room Skills by
For courses in surgical technology. A lab manual for surgical technologists new to the operating room Operating Room Skills: Fundamentals for the Surgical Technologist helps students develop the essential skills needed to perform safely and competently in the operating room. The unique format follows the role of the surgical technologist, in conjunction with a patient's movement through surgery. From the start, students are immersed in an active-learning experience that integrates best practices, core-curriculum requirements, and recommendations from program graduates and instructors. Supported by a companion website, the 2nd edition has a new Chapter 26, "Transition to the Clinical Setting"; new quick-reference guides; and updated Competency Assessments.
Call Number: RD32.3 .D36 2020 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780135204030Publication Date: 2020
LANGE Q&a Surgical Technology Examination, Eighth Edition by
Pass the Surgical Technology Certification (CST) exam with ease! Featuring more than 1,700 Q&As, online practice tests, and summaries of important points for each chapter, this valuable resource provides the most complete review available for the surgical technology certification (CST) exam. The book is divided into six core sections to facilitate more effective studying and review. LANGE Q&A Surgical Technology Examination, Eight Edition includes detailed answer explanations and covers all major areas of the surgical technology curriculum. This is an essential resource for students preparing for the certification exam as well as surgical technologists looking for the latest information on specific procedures such as orthopedics, plastic surgery, and emergency procedures. 1,700+ exam-style questions with detailed answer explanations prepare you for what you will actually see on the exam Online practice tests help you assess your knowledge and hone your test-taking skills Organized into six core sections for the most effective study possible: Fundamental Knowledge, Infection Control, Concepts of Patient Care, Preoperative Preparation, Intraoperative and Postoperative Procedures, and Technology in the Operating Room Chapter synopses summarize key topics, terms, and objectives in quick-read bulleted text Thorough coverage of cutting-edge topics such as robotics and endoscopic surgery Ideal for use during coursework and for intensive exam preparation
Call Number: RD32.3 .S54 2022 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781260470246Publication Date: 2021-09-10
eBooks
Acute Care Surgery by
Substantially updated with more illustrations and brand-new chapters that reflect the growth and advances in the field, this latest edition of Acute Care Surgery features an editorial board drawn from the ranks of trauma surgery, emergency surgery, and critical care surgery. A comprehensive, updated, and timely overview of this fledgling specialty! Over 10 new chapters that address topical issues, including career advancement, quality improvement, surgical rescue, and more. Editors as well as contributors are thought leaders in acute care surgery and experts from the fields of trauma surgery, emergency surgery, and critical care surgery. Includes over 500 illustrations and figures to help illuminate concepts and techniques. Covers a wide range of topics in depth--principles and practices, outcomes research, surgical complications, management of commonly encountered disorders and injuries, and more. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781496370044Publication Date: 2018-10-25
The Fundamentals of SURGICAL INSTRUMENTS by
This book provides a sound introduction to surgical instrumentation, including their recognition, use and care. It provides useful information that is essential for operating department practitioners, nurses, scrub practitioners, surgeons under training, surgical technologists, junior doctors and medical students. Descriptions of how and where the instruments are used will also aid in the knowledge required for their application, providing an understanding of instruments for specific procedures. The book is relevant to surgical practice around the world. It also aligns with the core curriculum of the Association of Surgical Technologists in the United States. This book provides the fundamental knowledge required for students and qualified staff working within the perioperative environment, to ensure the safe and efficient use of surgical instrumentation and ultimately the care of the surgical patient as a result.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781910079553Publication Date: 2017-10-01
Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Study Guide by
This new text helps facial plastic surgery fellows and advanced residents in otolaryngology/head and neck surgery find the answers they're looking for when preparing to take the American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery exam. Covering core content relevant to the ABFPRS board exam, this guide emphasizes key facts and clinical pearls essential to exam success and includes hypothetical exam questions and relevant surgical and clinical images. Written by leader in the field and the Director for the facial plastic surgery fellowship program at the University of California Irvine, this book discusses everything from basic techniques and evidence-based medicine, to fillers, injectables, implants and the psychological aspects of plastic surgery. Additionally, the chapter layout and organization of the Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Study Guide allows the reader to focus on just those topics relevant to the board exam, making it a must-have for anyone preparing to take the exam.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 3319180347Publication Date: 2016-04-18
Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023. The fifth edition of Mayhall's Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention has a new streamlined focus, with new editors and contributors, a new two-color format, and a new title. Continuing the legacy of excellence established by Dr. C. Glen Mayhall, this thoroughly revised text covers all aspects of healthcare-associated infections and their prevention and remains the most comprehensive reference available in this complex field. It examines every type of healthcare-associated (nosocomial) infection and addresses every issue relating to surveillance, prevention, and control of these infections in patients and in healthcare personnel, providing unparalleled coverage for hospital epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists. Covers the basics of hospital epidemiology and infection prevention, types of healthcare-associated infections, details of specific pathogens (bacterial, mycobacterial, fungal, and viral), special populations, prevention of infections related to specific procedures as well as the hospital environment, antibiotic stewardship, occupational health, and emergency preparedness, among other key topics. Focuses on the evidence, science, and operational insight critical to the detection, transmission, and prevention of healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). Includes chapters centered on specific types of HAIs (CLABSI, CAUTI, SSI, for example) and specific healthcare settings and patient populations (such as burn units, neonatal ICUs, and transplant recipients). Includes two several entirely new chapters on antimicrobial stewardship.
ISBN: 9781975124588Publication Date: 2020-12-30
