Stingray Library Catalog Search
Select Books
Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing by
Respiratory disease is one of the leading causes of both mortality and morbidity, causing a significant burden on healthcare resources, the economy, and on individual patients and their carers. Respiratory conditions are managed in many different settings, from home and residential care through the full range of primary to tertiary care. The multifaceted nature of both diseases affecting respiration and the care options is comprehensively covered in this second edition of the Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing. Offering a systematic description of the main respiratory diseases found in adults, the Handbook covers the assessment, diagnosis, and nursing management of each condition. With a special focus on the role of the multidisciplinary team in meeting the multiple care needs of respiratory patients, including physical and psychosocial concerns, and both pharmacological and non-pharmacological therapies, the Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing is a unique and invaluable companion for all healthcare professionals working within the specialty. Fully updated to reflect changes in new national and international guidance, with additional topics on biologics, antifibrotic therapy, inspiratory flow, and new NICE and UKIG standards and algorithms, the material has been fully overhauled to reflect current best practice and therapeutic options. Concise, didactic, and augmented with further reading and useful online resources, the second edition of the Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing gives nurses working in the field all the information they need at their fingertips.
Call Number: RC735.5 .O94 2021 CamdenISBN: 0198831811Publication Date: 2021-07-26
Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care by
Master the principles and skills of respiratory care for neonates, infants, and children! Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care, 6th Edition provides a solid foundation in the assessment and treatment of respiratory disorders in children. Clear, full-color coverage simplifies the concepts of respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. Reflecting the changing face of this profession, this edition unpacks care strategies with coverage of the newest treatment algorithms, interventions, mechanical ventilation technologies, and more. From an expert team of contributors led by Brian K. Walsh, an experienced respiratory therapist and researcher, this text is an excellent study tool for the NBRC's Neonatal/Pediatric Specialty examination. Authoritative, evidence-based content covers all of the major topics of respiratory care for neonates, infants, and children, including both theory and application, with an emphasis on an entry-level BS degree. Nearly 500 full-color illustrations - plus clear tables and graphs - make it easier to understand key concepts. Case studies include a brief patient history and questions for each, showing how concepts apply to the more difficult areas of care for neonatal and pediatric disorders. Complete test preparation is provided through coverage of all the content in the matrix for the 2020 NBRC neonatal/pediatric specialty (NPS) credentialing exam. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter break down key content into measurable behaviors, criteria, and conditions. Key Points at the end of each chapter summarize the more important information in a bulleted format. Assessment Questions at the end of each chapter are written in the NBRC multiple-choice style as found on the Neonatal/Pediatric Specialty (NPS) exam, helping you become familiar with the NBRC testing format. Glossary makes it easy to find definitions of all of the book's key terminology. Answers to assessment and case study questions are provided on the Evolve website. NEW! Logical, easy-to-use organization divides the content into three sections of 1) Neonatal, 2) Pediatrics, and 3) Neonatal and Pediatric combined, mirroring the academic approach of most respiratory care programs. NEW! Updated content reflects the new matrix for the 2020 NBRC Neonatal/Pediatric Specialty (NPS) exam. NEW! Assessment Questions at the end of each chapter are updated to reflect the changes to the 2020 NBRC exam. NEW! Additional treatment algorithms of care are added to relevant chapters.
Call Number: RJ433 .W35 2023 WaycrossISBN: 0323793096Publication Date: 2022-09-26
Equipment for Respiratory Care by
Equipment for Respiratory Care, Second Edition continues to break the archetype of equipment texts. Uniquely focused on the usage of respiratory equipment in practical, clinical settings, the Second Edition guides learners through not only WHEN and WHY to use equipment but HOW it is important. Through a combination of theory and operation, Equipment for Respiratory Care, Second Edition illustrates how to effectively and safely match the therapeutic modality to a patient's needs, making this text an essential resource for the Respiratory Care practitioner.Equipment for Respiratory Care, Second Edition prepares learners for successful completion of the National Board for Respiratory Care 2020 Examination. It is a go-to guide for exam preparation, offering online study aides and detailed simulations.
Call Number: RC735.I5 E68 2022 WaycrossISBN: 1284196224Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Selected eBooks
Anatomy & Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing by
Anatomy & Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing, Sixth Edition provides a solid foundation in anatomical and physiological principles relevant to communication sciences and disorders. This bestselling textbook beloved by instructors and students integrates clinical information with everyday experiences to reveal how anatomy and physiology relate to the speech, language, and hearing systems. Combining comprehensive coverage with abundant, beautiful full-color illustrations and a strong practical focus, the text makes complex material approachable even for students with little or no background in anatomy and physiology. The text includes numerous full-color anatomical images to help students form a clear, accurate understanding of the classical framework of the speech, language, and hearing systems. Photographs provide a real-life look at the body parts and functions. Use these images as reference for accuracy in describing body systems, parts, and processes. Thoroughly updated to reflect current trends, techniques, and best practices, this new edition of is supported by innovative ANAQUEST study software (formerly called Anatesse) offers students further interactive learning via lessons and interactive quizzes, and other resources to help students of all learning styles master the material and prepare for professional licensing exams.New to the Sixth EditionUpdated and expanded information on the physiology of swallowing that includes discussion of orofacial-myofunctional disorders and other swallowing dysfunction arising from physical etiologies.More physiology content, including an introduction to the effects of pathology on communication within each of the physical systems of communication. Many new photographs of specimens have been added, with a focus on a clear and accurate understanding of the classical framework of the speech, language, and hearing systems. Clinical Notes boxes link anatomy and physiology with disorders seen by speech-language pathologists and audiologists to provide real-world clinical applications for students.The ANAQUEST study software (formerly called Anatesse) is accessible on a PluralPlus companion website. The software now includes ten video lab experiences narrated by new contributor, Katrina Rhett, an anatomist and lecturer in the Department of Biological Sciences at Idaho State University. The authors have also added three-dimensional views with animations that explore the important processes of hearing, phonation, respiration, swallowing, and more. Student Resources: ANAQUEST study software as described aboveOnline quizzes for each chapter Instructor Resources: PowerPoint lecture slidesTest bankSample syllabiLabsClass ActivitiesVideos
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1635502799Publication Date: 2019-12-15
Respiratory and Critical Care by
This reprint provides important scientific information across all areas of respiratory research including COVID-19, COPD, asthma, pulmonary embolism, pneumonia, sleep medicine and respiratory critical care.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783036563756Publication Date: January 11, 2023
Mechanical Ventilation in Patient with Respiratory Failure by
This handbook covers the principles of mechanical ventilation, making them easy to understand and apply in clinical settings. Presented in an accessible style and supplemented by a wealth of illustrations and graphs, it includes chapters on the basic mathematics and physics of ventilation, respiratory anatomy, basic and advanced ventilation modes, and the fundamentals of acid-base balance. A closing chapter on troubleshooting for mechanical ventilation provides valuable tips on how to deal with various situations encountered in intensive care units. The book is primarily intended for respiratory therapy practitioners, clinicians in pulmonary units, and pulmonologists, as well as graduate students in respiratory medicine and students pursuing undergraduate courses in respiratory therapy - all of whose work involves mechanical ventilators.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9811353700Publication Date: 2018-12-23
