Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
Complete Phlebotomy Exam Review by
Prepare for phlebotomy certification and licensure exam success with Complete Phlebotomy Exam Review, 2nd Edition. This comprehensive review book has 1,500 questions. A new pretest provides an assessment of strengths and weaknesses, and a mock certification exam at the end of the book tests your knowledge of necessary information. Organized into chapters that correlate with the trusted textbook by Warekois and Robinson, each chapter includes a content review followed by multiple-choice questions, each with an answer, a rationale, and a page-number reference to information in the companion textbook. An Evolve website offers even more opportunity to practice ,with all the questions in the book plus 500 extra and the ability to sort by category or test in study or exam modes. 100-question mock certification exam at the end of the book allows you to test your comprehension of the material and identify areas of strength and weakness to target study. Answers, rationales, and page-number references to the trusted companion test by Warekois and Robinson help you understand why your selected answer was right or wrong and strengthen your knowledge of key exam content areas. The Evolve site provides you with myriad opportunities for practice. With all the text questions plus an additional 500, you can take tests in exam or study mode and sort questions by category or chapter to tailor practice to your individual needs. Organized by chapters, each begins with a content review to break the subject of phlebotomy into manageable areas. Multiple-choice questions with answers and rationales in each chapter test your comprehension of the material. NEW! 1,500 questions provide you with even more opportunities for testing yourself and reinforcing the content. NEW! 100-question pretest at the beginning of the book lets you assess where you stand from the start so you can target your study accordingly. NEW! Photos and line drawings throughout the book illustrate what is being discussed and help you learn more about the equipment you will encounter on the job.
Call Number: RB45.15 (Golden Isles, Jesup, Waycross)ISBN: 9780323239110Publication Date: 2015-03-06
Gahart's 2020 Intravenous Medications by
The essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For 45 years, Gahart's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for comprehensive drug coverage, unparalleled accuracy, and an intuitive quick-access format. In addition to updating drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all existing IV drugs, this new 36th edition includes over a dozen new monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA. Administering intravenous drugs is a critical field where being inaccurate or out-of-date is not an option. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, Gahart's annual publication and history of impeccable accuracy gives your students the extra confidence and guidance they need to safely and effectively treat patients. Monographs on more than 400 IV drugs offers an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. Annual publication prevents you from referencing outdated information. 45-year history of impeccable accuracy reinforces the importance of safe IV drug administration. The perfect depth of information equips you with everything that is needed by today's clinicians for safe administration of IV drugs nothing more, nothing less. Proven, clinically-optimized format keeps all dosage information for each drug on either a single page or a two-page spread to prevent hand contamination by having to turn a page. Highlighted Black Box Warnings and relevant content make locating critical information fast and easy. Special circumstances in blue-screened text call attention to important circumstances that may not warrant black box warnings. Life stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Dilution and dosage charts within monographs provide quick access to essential clinical information. Convenient, alphabetical format organizes all drug monographs by generic name, allowing you to find any drug in seconds. Additional drug monographs housed on the companion Evolve website. NEW! Updates on drug interactions, precautions, alerts, and more have been made throughout the guide to reflect all changes to existing medications. NEW! Drug monographs for approximately 10 to 15 newly approved drugs by the FDA provides you with the most current drug information.
Call Number: Course Reserve RM170 .G33 2020 (Jesup, Waycross, Golden Isles)ISBN: 0323661386Publication Date: 2019-05-06
Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants by
Learn the foundational concepts and skills necessary to become a successful clinical medical assistant! Written using clear and accessible language, Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants, 10th Edition guides you through common office procedures such as taking vital signs, collecting and processing lab specimens, preparing patients for examinations, and assisting with office surgeries. This new edition is thoroughly updated throughout and includes content on elephant system for ear irrigation, influenza test, h. pylori test, digital scale for measuring weight, administration of rotavirus vaccine, along with new chapters on nutrition, emergency preparedness, and the medical record. Plus, with the addition of soft skills, and critical thinking exercises, this comprehensive text introduces you the skills you need to succeed in today's fast-paced medical office. UPDATED procedural photos provides you with the most current pictures of how to perform important clinical medical assisting procedures. Detailed learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter align with respective procedures to help guide you through the learning process (and ensure that you learned everything you should from the chapter). Over 120 procedures presented in a clear, illustrated, step-by-step format, with online videos showing 84 of the procedures in action. Student resources on the Evolve companion website offer a fun way for you to practice your medical assisting knowledge with animations, games matching exercises, and other interactive activities. Chapter outlines and learning objectives prepare you for the skills and concepts you will be learning. Charting examples help you understand the process for charting your own procedures. Patient Teaching boxes prepares you for effective communication, with detailed instructions on how to answer questions and how to explain medical concepts and procedures. What Would You Do? What Would You Not Do? case studies challenge you to apply yourr knowledge to realistic medical office situations - with a practitioner's response at the end of chapters. Putting It All Into Practice and Memories from Practicum boxes feature real medical assistants sharing personal, on-the-job experiences. Glossary of key terms gives you a quick reference guide for important terms and concepts. NEW! Chapter on nutrition focuses on everything a medical assistant should know about the important field of nutrition. NEW! Chapter on emergency preparedness focuses on everything a medical assistant needs to know about emergency preparedness in the medical office. UPDATED chapter on emergency procedures and first aid ensures you have the most up-to-date information on this vital trend. UPDATED chapter on the medical record reviews how the MA maintains and interacts with the medical record. UPDATED content on the latest products and tests used in the medical office includes elephant system for ear irrigation, influenza test, digital scale for measuring weight, administration of rotavirus vaccine, procedure for measuring BP using an automatic BP cuff, and the new hazardous communication standard. NEW! SimChart® for the Medical Office (SCMO) connection ties Elsevier's Educational EHR cases to the appropriate chapters and provides cohesion for the total curriculum solution. NEW! New certification examination review on Evolve help you use the textbook when studying for certification and will help you to create a study plan. NEW! Professionalism and soft skills content emphasizes importance of professional interaction with patients and co-workers.
Call Number: R697.P45 B66 2018 WaycrossISBN: 0323377114Publication Date: 2017-10-10
Selected eBooks
Blood Results in Clinical Practice by
This book was originally written after feedback suggested that storytelling was very helpful to students and practitioners wanting to remember blood tests and their implications. Each section, where appropriate, therefore contains a 'story', as well as an overview of the relevant anatomy, physiology and biochemistry. This revised, updated edition continues to use storytelling to aid understanding, and introduces a unique 10-point system to help explain blood results. The use of storytelling has also been significantly improved and refined, following several years of feedback on the first edition.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1910451169Publication Date: 2019
Intravenous Therapy Administration: A Practical Guide by
This handy book, written by the author of the very popular Venepuncture and Cannulation: A Practical Guide, offers step-by-step guidance in how to administer intravenous fluids and medicines. It will be equally helpful, whether you are already practising intravenous therapy and wish to refresh or update your knowledge or you are learning this skill for the first time. Each chapter contains intended learning outcomes, clinical points for practice, and activities that enable you to relate the content to your own clinical area. The book opens with a general discussion of intravenous therapy, followed by an overview of the circulatory system and different types of intravenous access. The author explains how to calculate medication doses, and describes relevant aspects of pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics. She looks at safe techniques used in the administration of intravenous fluids and medications, and how to use different types of infusion devices, as well as the potential risks, complications and adverse reactions associated with intravenous therapy. The final chapter explores the professional responsibilities of the healthcare practitioner.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781905539901Publication Date: 2017
Venepuncture & Cannulation: A Practical Guide by
Venepuncture and Cannulation – A Practical Guide offers an easy-to-read, comprehensive account of the practical procedures of venepuncture and intravenous cannulation. It provides the underlying theory and underpinning knowledge required, as well as a step-by-step approach that will enable healthcare practitioners to carry out these procedures safely, efficiently and with confidence.
This book is intended as a supplementary resource for those involved in practising or teaching these procedures, for healthcare practitioners wishing to update their knowledge, and for novice practitioners learning these skills for the first time. Each chapter contains intended learning outcomes and points for practice. Some chapters also include helpful illustrations and practical activities, and the book ends with two self-assessment checklists.
This second edition has been thoroughly updated and includes a very useful ‘Test yourself’ chapter at the end of the book. Readers can now test their knowledge by answering the relevant questions. They can also identify any gaps in their current level of knowledge or skill, as well as further learning opportunities that may be required to support their practice.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1905539444Publication Date: February 7, 2017
