Selected Books
Paramedic Certification Exam by
This completely revised and updated edition of Paramedic Certification Exam offers targeted preparation to help applicants pass their EMT-certification exam. Inside: - Access to SIX complete practice tests based on the most current National Registry Exam;- Up-to-date and revised review lessons on U.S. DOT/NHTSA curriculum- Hundreds of exam-style practice questions with detailed answer explanations
Call Number: RC86.9 .P34 2017 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781611030808Publication Date: 2017-01-01
National Registry Paramedic Prep by
Kaplan's National Registry Paramedic Prep provides essential content and focused review to help you master the national paramedic exam. This paramedic study guide features comprehensive content review, board-style practice questions, and test-taking tips to help you face the exam with confidence. It's the only book you'll need to be prepared for exam day. Essential Review New EMS Operations chapter with practice questions Concise review of the material tested on the NRP exam, including physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology, cardiology, respiratory and medical emergencies, shock, trauma, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, the psychomotor exam, and more Full-color figures and tables to aid in understanding and retention Realistic practice questions with detailed answer explanations in each chapter Overview of the exam to help you avoid surprises on test day Expert Guidance We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years, and our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams Want to boost your studies with even more practice? Try Kaplan's National Registry Paramedic Exam Self-Study Toolkit which includes book and 1 month access to 1,150-Item Qbank.
Call Number: RC86.9 .N38 2022 (Waycross & Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781506274034Publication Date: 2022-04-05
Selected eBooks
Paramedic Crash Course with Online Practice Test by
From the Author of REA's Best-selling EMT Crash Course® REA's Paramedic Crash Course® is the only book of its kind for the last-minute studies or any prospective Paramedic who wants a quick refresher before taking the National Registry Paramedic (NRP) Exam. Targeted, Focused Review - Study Only What You Need to Know; Written by Dr. Christopher Coughlin, an EMS Program Director and paramedic with 27 years of experience, Paramedic Crash Course® relies on the author's careful analysis of the exam's content and actual test questions. It covers only the information tested on the exam, so you can make the most of your valuable study time; Our fully indexed targeted review covers all the official test categories including airway and breathing, medical emergencies, trauma, special patients, and EMS operations. Expert Test-taking Strategies; Our experienced author explains the structure of the exam, so you know what to expect on test day. He also shares detailed question-level strategies and shows you the best way to answer questions. By following our expert tips and advice, you can score higher on every section of the exam. Full-length Online Practice Exam; The book comes with a true-to-format online practice test with diagnostic feedback, topic-level scoring, and detailed answer explanations to help students gauge their test-readiness. No matter how or when you prepare for the Paramedic Exam, REA's;Paramedic Crash Course® will show you how to study efficiently and strategically, so you can get a great score!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0738688762Publication Date: 2019-01-02
Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Clinically focused and evidence-based,Harwood-Nuss' Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine, Seventh Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-use reference for practitioners and residents in today's Emergency Department (ED). Templated chapters rapidly guide you to up to date information on clinical presentation, differential diagnosis, evaluation, management, and disposition, including highlighted critical interventions and common pitfalls. This concise text covers the full range of conditions you're likely to see in the ED, with unmatched readability for quick study and reference. Emphasizes management and disposition, helping you make effective management decisions for patients with or without a confirmed diagnosis. Contains a unique high-risk chief complaint section, covering frequently seen, critical presentations in the ED, including chest pain, abdominal pain, shortness of breath, and altered mental status. Provides carefully selected tables, diagrams, and illustrations to enhance and augment concise, focused chapters. Features key testing sections throughout as well as pertinent clinical guideline boxes providing practical advice and guidance to increase your knowledge and improve your clinical care. Includes access to additional online-only content (including chapters, figures, and tables) and access to over 1,500 self-assessment questions and answers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1975111591Publication Date: 2020-10-10
Medicine at the Margins by
Presents a unique view of social problems and conflicts over urban space from the cab of an ambulance. While we imagine ambulances as a site for critical care, the reality is far more complicated. Social problems, like homelessness, substance abuse, and the health consequences of poverty, are encountered every day by Emergency Medical Services (EMS) workers. Written from the lens of a sociologist who speaks with the fluency of a former Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), Medicine at the Margins delves deeply into the world of EMTs and paramedics in American cities, an understudied element of our health care system. Like the public hospital, the EMS system is a key but misunderstood part of our system of last resort. Medicine at the Margins presents a unique prism through which urban social problems, the health care system, and the struggling social safety net refract and intersect in largely unseen ways. Author Christopher Prener examines the forms of marginality that capture the reality of urban EMS work and showcases the unique view EMS providers have of American urban life. The rise of neighborhood stigma and the consequences it holds for patients who are assumed by providers to be malingering is critical for understanding not just the phenomenon of non- or sub-acute patient calls but also why they matter for all patients. This sense of marginality is a defining feature of the experience of EMS work and is a statement about the patient population whom urban EMS providers care for daily. Prener argues that the pre-hospital health care system needs to embrace its role in the social safety net and how EMSs' future is in community practice of paramedicine, a port of a broader mandate of pre-hospital health care. By leaning into this work, EMS providers are uniquely positioned to deliver on the promise of community medicine. At a time when we are considering how to rely less on policing, the EMS system is already tasked with treating many of the social problems we think would benefit from less involvement with law involvement. Medicine at the Margins underscores why the EMS system is so necessary and the ways in which it can be expanded.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781531501075Publication Date: 2022-12-06
Find Books and eBooks
Find books, eBooks, and more by searching CPTC's online library catalog and GALILEO.
Also see: