Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Books @ CPTC

Logo for McNaughton book subscription service

Library Services subscribes to McNaughton, giving our students, faculty and staff access to a rotating collection of bestselling fiction and nonfiction leisure reading materials. Media Specialist Linda Lane chooses the books, but we welcome recommendations.

Submit a recommendation form.

 

New Books

New Books

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9781982143091/LC.GIF&client=springshare

The Gift

 The Gift, Eger expands on her message of healing and provides a hands-on guide that gently encourages us to change the thoughts and behaviors that may be keeping us imprisoned in the past. Eger explains that the worst prison she experienced is not the prison that Nazis put her in but the one she created for herself, the prison within her own mind. She describes the twelve most pervasive imprisoning beliefs she has known--including fear, grief, anger, secrets, stress, guilt, shame, and avoidance--and the tools she has discovered to deal with these universal challenges. Accompanied by stories from Eger's own life and the lives of her patients each chapter includes thought-provoking questions and takeaways, such as: -Would you like to be married to you? -Are you evolving or revolving? -You can't heal what you can't feel. Filled with empathy, insight, and humor, The Gift captures the vulnerability and common challenges we all face and provides encouragement and advice for breaking out of our personal prisons to find healing and enjoy life.

Girl with No Job

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A laugh-out-loud funny look at pop culture and social media stardom from one of the most popular funemployed millennials today, perfect for fans of Next Level Basic and The Betches. As the creator of the breakout Instagram account @GirlWithNoJob, Claudia Oshry has turned not wanting an ordinary career into a thriving media company and pop culture-focused podcast and morning show. T

The Affair

In this riveting novel, Danielle Steel explores a high-profile affair that reverberates throughout an entire family, from the wounded wife to her husband--torn between two women--to the wife's close-knit sisters and their mother. When Rose McCarthy's staff at Mode magazine pitches a cover shoot with Hollywood's hottest young actress, the actress's sizzling affair with a bestselling French author is exposed. The author happens to be Rose's son-in-law, which creates a painful dilemma for her. Her daughter Nadia, a talented interior designer, has been struggling to hold her marriage together, and conceal the truth from their young daughters, her family, and the world. But Nicolas, her straying husband, is blinded by passion for a younger woman--and not only that, she is pregnant with his child.

Dearest Josephine

Love arrives at the most unexpected time . . .  1821: Elias Roch has ghastly luck with women. He met Josephine De Clare once and penned dozens of letters hoping to find her again. 2021: Josie De Clare has questionable taste in boyfriends. The last one nearly ruined her friendship with her best friend. Now, in the wake of her father's death, Josie finds Elias's letters. Suddenly she's falling in love with a guy who lived two hundred years ago. And star-crossed doesn't even begin to cover it . . .    "Dearest Josephine is the type of story that becomes your own. The characters' heartaches worked their way into my own chest until I hurt with them, hoped with them, and dared to dream with them.