GALILEO Search
Nursing and Allied Health Databases
- Consumer Health CompleteConsumer Health Complete has consumer-oriented health content, including full-text articles from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
- Gale Interactive: Human AnatomyGale Interactive: Human Anatomy allows students to examine virtual 3-D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research. These resources can be used for in-classroom demonstrations or help with homework and research assignments.
- LearningExpress LibraryWhatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. The GALILEO database has practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and the information needed to achieve the results you want at school, at work, or in life.
- MedlinePlus (at NLM and NIH)MedlinePlus brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
- Merck ManualMerck Manual databases provide detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides information on important current news events. The GALILEO database can help with writing a critical essay, researching a paper, or preparing for a debate. This database covers a variety of reference materials, commentaries, and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia.
- OvidSPOvidSP provides full-text journals and ebooks on nursing, medicine, and other health topics.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health SourceProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
Journals
- African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition & Development The journal is envisaged to enable dissemination and sharing of food and nutrition information issues on the continent.
- The American Journal of Surgery Focuses for the general surgeon who performs abdominal, cancer, vascular, head and neck, breast, colorectal, and other forms of surgery.
- Health Care Management Review Health Care Management Review (HCMR) disseminates state-of-the-art knowledge about management, leadership, and administration of health care systems, organizations, and agencies. Multidisciplinary and international in scope, articles present completed research relevant to health care management, leadership, and administration, as well report on rigorous evaluations of health care management innovations, or provide a synthesis of prior research that results in evidence-based health care management practice recommendations. Articles are theory-driven and translate findings into implications and recommendations for health care administrators, researchers, and faculty.
- Journal of Allied Health The Journal of Allied Health is the official publication of the Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions (ASAHP). The Journal is the only interdisciplinary allied health periodical, publishing scholarly works related to research and development, feature articles, research abstracts and book reviews. Readers of The Journal comprise allied health leaders, educators, faculty and students.
- Journal of Patient Experience Giving voice to our patients and our providers, the Journal of Patient Experience (JPX) is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal. While many relevant definitions of patient experience endure, we reference the definition (slightly modified) from The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Patient experience encompasses the range of interactions that individuals and families have with the healthcare system, including their care from health plans, and from doctors, nurses, and staff in hospitals, physician practices, and other healthcare facilities / providers. As an integral component of health care quality and equity, patient experience includes several aspects of health care delivery that consumers value highly when they seek and receive care, such as getting timely appointments, easy access to information, and good communication with health care providers1. We strive to provide readers with open-access, timely, peer reviewed, articles and commentary about the intersection of healthcare delivered (i.e. the clinician) and those receiving the service (i.e. the consumer / patient / family). By publishing research findings, case reports, and perspective, we aim to support systemic, equitable, and inclusive change to improve the healthcare experience for all. We believe in the vital importance of incorporating the diverse perspectives. Healthcare consumer voices should influence the healthcare industry to optimize elements of care such as patient advisory councils, rounding, access, safety, and transparency (to name a few) to enhance compassionate care of the future.