Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
Comprehensive Medical Assisting by
Medical assistants play a critical role in our changing world of health care, and COMPREHENSIVE MEDICAL ASSISTING, Sixth Edition, prepares them to lead in this growing field. Known for accuracy, completeness of coverage, and exacting technical detail, this proven book addresses the administrative and clinical tasks required of medical assistants while preparing them for certification exams. Divided into three sections, chapters start with general topics, including therapeutic communications, coping skills, and professionalism. Administrative chapters look behind the scenes, exploring electronic medical records, ICD-10 coding, and practice management. COMPREHENSIVE MEDICAL ASSISTING also maps clinical topics to ABHES, CAAHEP, and MAERB competencies, as well as CLIA-waived procedures, and delivers an exhaustive set of skills: taking patient medical histories, recording vital signs, explaining procedures, assisting during exams and surgery, infection control, and more.
Call Number: R728.8 .C666 2018 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781305964792Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Healthcare Information Technology Exam Guide for CHTS and CAHIMS Certifications by
This effective study resource delivers complete coverage of all topics on the newest versions of these challenging HIT exams This comprehensive self-study guide fully prepares candidates for the Certified Associate in Healthcare Information and Management Systems (CAHIMS) exam, all six Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist (CHTS) exams, and CompTIA's HIT exam. The book enables computer professionals to transition into healthcare information technology (HIT) with coverage of topics ranging from regulatory requirements to healthcare privacy and security and also serves as a valuable on-the-job reference. Healthcare Information Technology: CHTS Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist & CAHIMS Certified Associate in Healthcare Information and Management Systems Exam Guide is designed to familiarize IT professionals with the health-related aspects and the IT requirements of the healthcare HIT field. Written in a hands-on, straightforward style, the book includes "Tips," which highlight important information throughout the chapters; "Use Cases," which detail HIT at work in real-world situations; chapter summaries; and chapter review questions that test comprehension. * Electronic content includes practice exams, a list of HIT roles, and a PDF copy of the book * Appendices allow readers to drill down and focus on the content pertaining to a specific exam * Written by a team of experts with extensive professional experience
Call Number: RA971.6 .M29 2017 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781259836978Publication Date: 2017-09-11
Medical Assistant Exam Prep by Call Number: R728.8 .M384 2022ISBN: 9781506278193Publication Date: 2022-04-05Location: Waycross, Golden Isles
Medical Assisting by
Clear and easy to understand, MEDICAL ASSISTING: ADMINISTRATIVE AND CLINICAL COMPETENCIES UPDATE, Eighth Edition delivers all of the knowledge base, skills, and behaviors required for an entry-level medical assistant, including a comprehensive updated section on the structure and function of body systems. The book has been streamlined and updated to include the latest in Nutrition, the Affordable Care Act (ACA), ICD-10, updated electronic health records throughout the entire text, as well as personal effectiveness topics such as, professionalism, teamwork and time management. Updated and innovative, the 8th edition of Medical Assisting: Administrative and Clinical Competencies uses multiple in-text features and exclusive technology products to prepare you for a successful career in medical assisting, and give you an advantage in today's competitive marketplace. The updated printing of the eighth edition includes new ICD-10 coding information, as well as revised and updated coding content.
Call Number: R728.8 .B547 2018 Golden IslesISBN: 1337909815Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice by
A strong foundation in nutrition is essential for effective nursing practice. Reflecting the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, this eighth edition of Susan Dudek's highly respected text maintains its focus on all steps of the nursing care process, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation. Highlights of the eighth edition: * New! Unfolding case studies use real-life scenarios to build critical thinking skills by asking students to apply theory to nutrition issues. * A revised Chapter 1, Nutrition in Health and Healthcare, explains the role of nutrition in chronic disease prevention, the interdisciplinary nature of nutrition care, and how technology is affecting the future of nutrition. * Updated content includes the 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans and its companion MyPlate, use of "eating patterns" in place of "diet" to connote lifestyle rather than a therapeutic approach, and inclusion of the newly revised Nutrition Facts label to be implemented for most packaged foods by 2018. * New topics include antibiotics in the food supply, new guidelines for the provision of enteral and parenteral nutrition support, and proposed changes in how malnutrition is defined. * An increased focus on obesity prevention and treatment includes lifestyle modification, medication, and bariatric surgery. * Built-in learning aids, include chapter-opening Check Your Knowledge questions, key terms defined in the margins, at-a-glance Nursing Process tables, chapter-ending Key Concepts summaries, and How Do You Respond? questions that prepare students to think on their feet in clinical practice.
Call Number: RM126 .D8627 2018 JesupISBN: 1496356101Publication Date: 2017-06-07
Selected eBooks
Clinical Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners by
Clinical Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners is an accessible, easy-to-read guide, outlining the fundamental and core skills integral to clinical practice. Fully updated in its second edition, this book is divided into three sections; the first looks at fundamental skills applicable to all staff, such as accountability, communication and record keeping. Section two explores core clinical skills such as respiratory care, pulse, blood glucose management and catheter care. Section three outlines complex clinical skills that require more in-depth training, such as medication and intravenous cannulation. An invaluable resource for healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, this book will also be of use to newly qualified practitioners, and students in health and social care.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1118441990Publication Date: 2016-04-28
Fundamentals of Care by
Fundamentals of Care is an accessible introductory textbook for all health care assistants; assistant practitioners and social care support workers who are undertaking the newly introduced, mandatory Care Certificate, as well as offering a resource for providing care and support. Practically focused, each chapter begins with the outcomes associated with each standard, which helps contextualise and focus the reader on the content and relevance to the Care Certificate. The book also includes exercises to encourage the reader to stop, look, listen and act, thinking cap activity promotes further thinking and application to care and support provision along with case studies and resource files. Written to help the reader come to terms with the role and function of the heath and care assistants, Fundamentals of Care offers support to those undertaking the Care Certificate and to assist those who already work as health and care assistants, helping them in their quest to enhance safe and effective care.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1119212227Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Venepuncture & Cannulation by
Venepuncture and Cannulation A Practical Guide offers an easy-to-read, comprehensive account of the practical procedures of venepuncture and intravenous cannulation. It provides the underlying theory and underpinning knowledge required, as well as a step-by-step approach that will enable healthcare practitioners to carry out these procedures safely, efficiently and with confidence. This book is intended as a supplementary resource for those involved in practising or teaching these procedures, for healthcare practitioners wishing to update their knowledge, and for novice practitioners learning these skills for the first time. Each chapter contains intended learning outcomes and points for practice. Some chapters also include helpful illustrations and practical activities, and the book ends with two self-assessment checklists. This second edition has been thoroughly updated and includes a very useful Test yourself chapter at the end of the book. Readers can now test their knowledge by answering the relevant questions. They can also identify any gaps in their current level of knowledge or skill, as well as further learning opportunities that may be required to support their practice. Contents include: What are venepuncture and cannulation An overview of the circulatory system and the related anatomy and physiology of the peripheral vascular system Vein selection Preparing yourself, your environment and your patient Venepuncture techniques Venepuncture when things go wrong Cannulation Cannulation techniques Cannulation when things go wrong Reducing risks when carrying out venepuncture and cannulation Test your knowledge Appendix 1: Self-assessment checklist for venepuncture to ensure safe practice Appendix 2: Self-assessment checklist for cannulation to ensure safe practice
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1905539509Publication Date: 2017
