Advanced Solutions in Power Systems by Mircea Eremia (Editor); Chen Ching Liu (Editor); Abdel-Aty Edris (Editor)Provides insight on both classical means and new trends in the application of power electronic and artificial intelligence techniques in power system operation and control This book presents advanced solutions for power system controllability improvement, transmission capability enhancement and operation planning. The book is organized into three parts. The first part describes the CSC-HVDC and VSC-HVDC technologies, the second part presents the FACTS devices, and the third part refers to the artificial intelligence techniques. All technologies and tools approached in this book are essential for power system development to comply with the smart grid requirements. Discusses detailed operating principles and diagrams, theory of modeling, control strategies and physical installations around the world of HVDC and FACTS systems Covers a wide range of Artificial Intelligence techniques that are successfully applied for many power system problems, from planning and monitoring to operation and control Each chapter is carefully edited, with drawings and illustrations that helps the reader to easily understand the principles of operation or application Advanced Solutions in Power Systems: HVDC, FACTS, and Artificial Intelligence is written for graduate students, researchers in transmission and distribution networks, and power system operation. This book also serves as a reference for professional software developers and practicing engineers.
Call Number: TK1005 .A34 2016 (Golden Isles)
Publication Date: 2016-10-03
Art of Electronics by Paul Horowitz; Winfield HillThe Art of Electronics: The x-Chapters expands on topics introduced in the best-selling third edition of The Art of Electronics, completing the broad discussions begun in the latter. In addition to covering more advanced materials relevant to its companion, The x-Chapters also includes extensive treatment of many topics in electronics that are particularly novel, important, or just exotic and intriguing. Think of The x-Chapters as the missing pieces of The Art of Electronics, to be used either as its complement, or as a direct route to exploring some of the most exciting and oft-overlooked topics in advanced electronic engineering. This enticing spread of electronics wisdom and expertise will be an invaluable addition to the library of any student, researcher, or practitioner with even a passing interest in the design and analysis of electronic circuits and instruments. You'll find here techniques and circuits that are available nowhere else.
Call Number: TK7815 .H675 2020 (Camden)
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
A Geek Girl's Guide to Electronics and the Internet of Things by Audrey O'SheaA straightforward demystification of electronics and the Internet of Things A Geek Girl's Guide to Electronics and the Internet of Things breaks down and simplifies electronics and the Internet of Things for the layperson. Written by a leading technical school instructor with a talent for bringing complex topics to everyday people, this book provides concrete examples and practical advice for anyone interested in building, repairing, or studying electronics and functional Internet of Things (IoT) devices. A Geek Girl's Guide to Electronics and the Internet of Things explores a wide range of topics including, among others: Ohm's and Watt's Law Series and Parallel Circuits Diodes, transistors, capacitors and relays Motors and Pulse with Modulation Using light to control electricity Photovoltaic Cells and Transducers Enhancing circuits with Arduino Connecting circuits to networks The distinguished author's website includes videos to help you build and enhance projects, along with deeper information to enrich your learning. Additionally, the book goes beyond theory and teaches readers how circuit components become IoT devices and provide the data that drive our modern world. The combination of hands-on activities and solid pedagogy ensures long-lasting retention of the material for everyone.
Call Number: TK7819 .O84 2021 (Camden)
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Handbook of Electric Power Calculations, Fourth Edition by H. Wayne Beaty; Surya SantosoPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ready-to-use electric power calculations Fully revised to include calculations needed for the latest technologies, the new edition of this essential guide provides the step-by-step procedures required to solve a wide array of electric power problems. This time-saving tool makes it easy to find and use the right calculation. New sections address power electronics, alternate energy, power quality, and smart grids. Featuring coverage of the entire electrical engineering spectrum, this practical resource contains graphs, illustrations, and SI and USCS equivalents. Handbook of Electric Power Calculations, Fourth Edition, covers: Basic network analysis Instrumentation DC motors and generators Transformers Three-phase induction motors Single-phase motors Synchronous machines Generation of electric power Overhead transmission lines and underground cables Electric power networks Power flow analysis in power systems Power system control Short-circuit computations System grounding and earthing Power system protection Power system stability Cogeneration Stationary batteries Electric energy economic models Lighting design Power electronics Alternate energy sources Power quality Smart grids
Call Number: REF TK1005 .H29 2015 (Golden Isles)
Publication Date: 2015-07-29
McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code 2017 Handbook, 29th Edition by Frederic P. Hartwell; Joseph F. McPartland; Brian J. McPartlandPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The Definitive Guide to the 2017 NEC®--Thoroughly Updated to Reflect the Latest Provisions Revised to fully align with the 2017 NEC®, this on-the-job reference contains the trusted advice and analysis you need to interpret and effectively work with the current set of regulations. In-depth coverage of the background and rationale for specific rules enhances your understanding of both meaning and application. Key points are illuminated through thousands of detailed diagrams and photos; in-depth discussions with owners and inspectors provide valuable, real-world insight. Designed to be used as a companion guide to the 2017 NEC® itself, McGraw-Hill's National Electrical Code® 2017 Handbook, 29th Edition, is arranged logically--the explanation for any topic lines up exactly with the applicable section in the Code. You will get straightforward clarification of obtuse rules and vague language, enabling you to work efficiently and safely--and to successfully achieve full compliance. This book doesn't duplicate the text of the NEC®. Instead, it is entirely comprised of explanatory text, specifically addressing every single code article, providing the most analytical content available. Because the book is published completely independently from NFPA, it is free to--and frequently does--offer detailed analysis of technically questionable and editorially convoluted provisions in the NEC®, along with strategies for discussing those issues with owners and inspectors before financial commitments are made. Covers all significant changes to the 2017 NEC, including: * Industrial process heating for fixed resistance and electrode equipment (new Article 425) * Extensive new coverage of solar photovoltaic (PV) systems generally (Article 690), and the new Article 691 on large-scale utility-connected solar farms On-site electrical storage, including new technologies such as flow batteries (new Article 706) * DC Microgrids that utilize solar, wind, or fuel cells to supply functional power (new Article 712) * A new repository for stand-alone provisions that formerly repeated themselves (new Article 710)
Call Number: TK260 .N2 2017 (Waycross)
Publication Date: 2017-04-13
Art + DIY Electronics by Garnet HertzA systematic theory of DIY electronic culture, drawn from a century of artists who have independently built creative technologies. Since the rise of Arduino and 3D printing in the mid-2000s, do-it-yourself approaches to the creative exploration of technology have surged in popularity. But the maker movement is not new- it is a historically significant practice in contemporary art and design. This book documents, tracks, and identifies a hundred years of innovative DIY technology practices, illustrating how the maker movement is a continuation of a long-standing creative electronic subculture. Through this comprehensive exploration, Garnet Hertz develops a theory and language of creative DIY electronics, drawing from diverse examples of contemporary art, including work from renowned electronic artists such as Nam June Paik and such art collectives as Survival Research Laboratories and the Barbie Liberation Front. Hertz uncovers the defining elements of electronic DIY culture, which often works with limited resources to bring new life to obsolete objects while engaging in a critical dialogue with consumer capitalism. Whether hacking blackboxed technologies or deploying culture jamming techniques to critique commercial labor practices or gender norms, the artists have found creative ways to make personal and political statements through creative technologies. The wide range of innovative works and practices profiled in Art + DIY Electronics form a general framework for DIY culture and help inspire readers to get creative with their own adaptations, fabrications, and reimaginations of everyday technologies.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2023-05-30
Basic Electronics by Sean Westcott; Jean Riescher WestcottDesigned for both the student and hobbyist, this updated revision is an introduction to the theory and practice of electronics including advances in microcontrollers, sensors, and wireless communication. Each chapter contains a brief lab to demonstrate the topic under discussion, then moves on to use all of the knowledge mastered to build a programmable robot (Arduino and Netduino). New material on using Raspberry Pi and Python has been included. The companion files include short videos of the labs, soldering skills, and code samples for programming of the robot. Covering both the theory and also its practical applications, this text leads the reader through the basic scientific concepts underlying electronics, building basic circuits, learning the roles of the components, the application of digital theory, and the possibilities for innovation by combining sensors, motors, and microcontrollers. It includes appendices on mathematics for electronics, a timeline of electronics innovation, careers in electronics, and a glossary. FEATURES: Includes companion files with over twenty video tutorials on currents, soldering, power supply, resistors, decoder circuits, Raspberry Pi, animations of featured circuits and more Features a chapter on using Raspberry Pi and Python in electronic projects and a new chapter on Cybersecurity and the Internet of Things (IoT) Leads the reader through an introductory understanding of electronics with simple labs and then progressing to the construction of a microcontroller-driven robot using open source software and hardware (Netduino and Arduino versions) Presents theoretical concepts in a conversational tone, followed by hands-on labs to engage readers by presenting practical applications. The companion files are also available online by emailing the publisher with proof of purchase at email@example.com.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Electronic Skin by Ali Ibrahim (Editor); Maurizio Valle (Editor)Considerable amount of effort has been devoted, over the recent years, towards the development of electronic skin (e-skin) for many application domains such as prosthetics, robotics, and industrial automation. Electronic Skin: Sensors and Systems focuses on the main components constituting the e-skin system. The e-skin system is based on: i) sensing materials composing the tactile sensor array, ii) the front end electronics for data acquisition and signal conditioning, iii) the embedded processing unit performing tactile data decoding, and iv) the communication interface in charge of transmitting the sensors data for further computing. Technical topics discussed in the book include: * Tactile sensing material; * Electronic Skin systems;* Embedded computing and tactile data decoding; * Communication systems for tactile data transmission; * Relevant applications of e-skin system; The book takes into account not only sensing materials but it also provides a thorough assessment of the current state of the art at system level. The book addresses embedded electronics and tactile data processing and decoding, techniques for low power embedded computing, and the communication interface. Electronic Skin: Sensors and Systems is ideal for researchers, Ph.D. students, academic staff and Masters/research students in sensors/sensing systems, embedded systems, data processing and decoding, and communication systems.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020-09-30
Organic Electronics 1 by Thien-Phap NguyenDue to their special properties, organic semiconductors enable the development of large-area, low-cost devices, paving the way for flexible and nomadic applications that advantageously replace those made with traditional semiconductors. This book describes the properties and deposition methods of organic semiconductors, transparent conductive materials or metals which are used in the fabrication of organic devices. The physical processes (optical, electrical and interface) that control the mechanisms in the formation and transport of the charge carriers of the materials are studied and explained in detail. Organic Electronics 1 introduces the fundamental and applied aspects of the field of organic electronics. It is intended for researchers and students in university programs or engineering schools specializing in electronics, energy and materials.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2021-05-18
Telecommunication Electronics by Del Corso, Dante ; Camarchia, Vittorio ; Quaglia, RobertoThis practical, hands-on resource describes functional units and circuits of telecommunication systems. The functions characterizing these systems, including RF amplifiers (both low noise and power amplifiers), signal sources, mixers and phase lock loops, are explored from an operational level viewpoint. And as all functions are migrating to digital implementations, this book describes functional units and circuits of telecommunication systems (with radio, wire, or optical links), from functional level viewpoint to the circuit details and examples. The structure of a radio transceiver is described and a view of all functional units, including migration to SDR (Software Defined Radio) is provided. Chapters include a functional identification of the units described and analysis of possible circuit solutions and analysis of error sources. The sequence reflects the actual design procedure: functional identification, search and analysis of solutions, and critical review to provide an understanding of the various solutions and tradeoffs, with guidelines for design and/or selection of proper functional units.