LibGuides: Education : GALILEO Journals and Databases

Resources for Georgia Teacher Certification

Georgia Professional Standards Commission The Georgia Professional Standards Commission participates in student-focused collaboration with other Georgia education agencies and the Governor’s office. Together, we facilitate student success by aligning policymakers, education agencies, and strategic partners to promote a shared commitment and improve educational outcomes. Learn where to start for your desired certification!
Bright from the Start | Georgia Pre-K
About the GACE® Assessments The purpose of the GACE assessments is to help the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC) ensure that candidates have the knowledge and skills needed to perform the job of an educator in Georgia’s public schools.
Paraprofessional Certification | GACE

Full-Text Article Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Included is a special collection of diagnostic interviews related to mental disorders that is geared for nursing students.
Education Database (ProQuest)
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images from journals such as:
• Childhood Education
• College Teaching
• Harvard Educational Review
• Journal of Athletic Training
• Educational Theory
Subject coverage:
Adult education
Elementary education
Higher education
Home schooling
Secondary education
Special needs education
Teacher education
Educator Resources from the National Archives
Primary document sets and resources for the classroom from the National Archives.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. The ERIC website is available to the public for searching more than one million citations going back to 1966.
Georgia Department of Education
The Georgia Department of Education website provides access to information about K-12 public education in the State of Georgia. Links to listings of schools, state curriculum and standards, contact information, as well as information about the department can all be found on the site.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection is a specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators that includes abstract and index coverage for 800 professional development titles and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education. This database also provides full text for more than 160 education pamphlets.
ProQuest Education Journals
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text. ProQuest Education Journals covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

Education Journals

American Educator Publishes articles on a wide range of topics, including new trends in education, politics, well-researched news features on current problems in education, education law, professional ethics, and thoughtful or thought-provoking essays that explore current social issues relevant to American society.
British Journal of Educational Psychology The British Journal of Educational Psychology publishes psychological research that makes a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of education as well as advances the field in terms of theory related to educational psychology. Our aim is to publish research which has a broad international appeal to researchers and practitioners in education. We welcome empirical and methodological papers, experimental studies, observations of classroom behaviours, interviews, and surveys. Important criteria in the selection process are quality of argument and execution, clarity in presentation, and educational significance. Although we tend to publish more quantitative than qualitative studies, we welcome rigorous, empirical qualitative studies.
Cogent Education Cogent Education is a leading multidisciplinary open access journal, publishing high-quality, peer-reviewed articles across the breadth of educational research. The journal is led by Editor-in-Chief Professor John C.K. Lee (The Education University of Hong Kong), supported by an expert international Editorial Board. Our academic editors take an objective and constructive approach to peer review, ensuring each manuscript is evaluated on its own scholarly merits and research integrity. Article-level metrics let the research speak for itself.
College Teaching Interdisciplinary articles on issues related to teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels; teaching philosophy and practices, teachers' roles, professional development and evaluation, incentives and commentary on articles in the journal.
Critical Questions in Education An open access online journal devoted to the critical examination of educational policy and practice from a foundations perspective.
Current Issues in Comparative Education Current Issues in Comparative Education (CICE) is an international online, open access journal inviting diverse opinions of academics, practitioners and students. CICE shares its home with the oldest program in comparative education in the US, the Teachers College Comparative and International Education Program, founded in 1898. Established in March 1997 by a group of doctoral students from Teachers College, Columbia University, CICE is dedicated to serve as a platform for debate and discussion of contemporary educational matters worldwide. We welcome submissions from professors, researchers, students, advocates, policy-makers, and practitioners.
Democracy & Education Democracy & Education aims to provoke rigorous, open, and inclusive engagement with the challenges of educating youth in the pre-K-12 age span for active participation in a democratic society. This open access journal seeks to support and sustain conversations that take as their focus the conceptual foundations, social policies, institutional structures, and teaching/learning practices associated with democratic education.
Digital Culture & Education Digital Culture & Education is an international, inter-disciplinary, open-access peer reviewed academic journal for those interested in exploring the overlaps between technology, culture, and education
Discourse: Studies in the Cultural Politics of Education Contains information on the field of socio-cultural studies of education
Education Original investigations and theoretical papers dealing with worthwhile innovations in learning, teaching and education at all levels and in every area of education and learning.