Stingray Library Catalog Search
Books on Education
1,001 Pearls of Teachers' Wisdom by
1,001 Pearls of Teachers' Wisdom is a fun and inspirational book packed with words of wisdom on the art of teaching. With more than three thousand entries, it includes thoughts on the art of teaching from hundreds of teachers, professors, authors, and politicians. Quotes are drawn from a wide variety of sources, from the ancient to the modern. Among the contributors are Aristotle, the Buddha, Mark Twain, Frederick Douglass, Helen Keller, Freud, Albert Einstein, Gandhi, Winston Churchill, and John Lennon. The late Frank McCourt, celebrated author of Angela's Ashes and a veteran educator, provides an inspiring introduction. Now in paperback, this portable treasure trove will make a perfect gift for a teaching school graduate, a favorite teacher, or anyone with a passion for learning and education.
Call Number: PN6084 .E38 A16 2016 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781510706439Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Assessment Clear and Simple by
The first edition of Assessment Clear and Simple quickly became the essential go-to guide for anyone who participates in the assessment process in higher education. With the increased pressure to perform assessment to demonstrate accountability, Assessment Clear and Simple is needed more than ever. This second edition of the classic resource offers a concise, step-by-step guide that helps make assessment simple, cost-efficient, and useful to an institution. It contains effective strategies for meeting the requirements of accreditation agencies, legislatures, review boards, and others, while emphasizing and showing how to move from data to actions that improve student learning. This thoroughly revised and updated edition includes many new or expanded features, including: Illustrative examples drawn from the author's experience consulting with more than 350 institutions A basic, no-frills assessment plan for departments and for general education Tips on how to integrate portfolios and e-portfolios into the assessment process Suggestions for using rubrics and alternatives to rubrics, including doing assessment for multidisciplinary work Clear instructions on how to construct a coherent institution-wide assessment system and explain it to accreditors Ideas for assigning responsibility for general education assessment Strategies for gathering information about departmental assessment while keeping the departmental workload manageable Information on how to manage assessment in times of budgetary cutbacks Praise for the Second Edition of Assessment Clear and Simple "Walvoord's approach to assessment is wonderfully straightforward; it is also effective in facilitating faculty engagement in assessment. We've applied a number of her methods to our campus assessment efforts with success. This book makes assessment both manageable and useful in improving and enhancing student learning."--Martha L. A. Stassen, director of assessment, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and president, New England Educational Assessment Network (NEEAN) "Walvoord's work clearly presents the basics for getting started in assessment of student learning while honestly addressing the complexities of assessment when driven by faculty passion for student learning. This book is a valuable resource for the novice as well as the developing experts who are leading their institutions in academic assessment."--Bobbi Allen, faculty assessment director, Delta College
Call Number: LB2822.75 .W35 2004 (Jesup and Golden Isles)ISBN: 9780470541197Publication Date: 2010-04-12
College Made Whole by
How can universities shape creative, adaptive, integrated learners ready to confront the world? This book's clear-eyed optimism is a challenge to everyone in higher education. American higher education is being torn apart. Institutions, curricula, courses, and faculty roles are being "unbundled"--broken into constituent parts in the name of efficiency and cost savings. As a result, the college learning experience is fragmented and incoherent, leaving graduates less and less equipped to confront the dire social problems that cause those divisions in the first place. In College Made Whole, Chris W. Gallagher lays bare the dangers of the dis-integration of the college experience and shows how we can put higher education back together again. The successful colleges and universities of the future, Gallagher argues, will be integrated: coherently and cohesively designed to help students achieve a lifelong learning experience that is more than the sum of its parts. Pushing back against pernicious dichotomies that frame much discussion of US higher education, Gallagher critiques many of the hottest educational trends, including the overhyping of technological "solutions," rampant adjunctification, the promotion of nondegree credentials as a suitable replacement for college degrees, and the increasingly narrow focus on the vocational aims of a college education. Ivestigating the purposes of higher education historically and today, he suggests audacious proposals to enhance learning, including reorganizing institutions, reordering institutional priorities, redesigning curricula and courses, and rethinking edtech and learning technologies. Lucidly written and packed with practical recommendations and real student stories, College Made Whole will challenge higher education professionals and policy makers, as well as anyone with a stake in the future of US higher education--which is to say, all of us who inhabit this fragile planet.
Call Number: LB2395.7 .G34 2019 (Camden & Online)ISBN: 9781421432625Publication Date: 2019-09-24
The Complete Guide to Special Education: proven advice on evaluations, IEPs, and helping kids succeed by
Provides an insider's view of the special education process for parents and teachers This book explores the special education process-from testing and diagnosis to IEP meetings and advocating for special needs children. Step by step the authors reveal the stages of identification, assessment, and intervention, and help readers to better understand special needs children's legal rights and how to become an active, effective member of a child's educational team. Grounded in more than twenty-five years of working with parents and educators, the authors provide significant insight into what they have learned about the special education. This book fills the gap in the literature for the millions of children receiving special education services and the parents who are clamoring for information on this topic. Includes valuable tools, checklists, sample forms, and advice for working with special education students Demystifies the special education process, from testing and diagnosis to IEP meetings and advocating for children New editions covers Response-to-Intervention (RTI), a new approach to diagnosing learning disabilities in the classroom; expanded coverage of autism spectrum disorders and bipolar disorder; and a revamped Resources section.
Call Number: LC 3981 .W55 2010 (Waycross, Alma)ISBN: 9780470615157Publication Date: 2010-09-14
Course Design Formula by
Want a fast, fun, effective way to build an online course? Want the satisfaction of knowing your online course truly delivers the transformation it promises? If your goal is not just to sell a digital product, but to become a world-changing global teacher, the Course Design Formula that is the heart of this book will help you get there. Read this book and follow its every instruction to the letter and you will build your next online course better, faster, and more effectively than others who are not using a research-based instructional design process. In Course Design Formula, author Rebecca Frost Cuevas synthesizes best practices from cognitive psychology, instructional design, learning theory, and information processing theory with her decades of hands-on expertise into clear guidelines that can be applied quickly to any type of content geared for any target audience.
Call Number: LB1044.87 .C83 2019 (Camden)ISBN: 9781732782310Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Failure to Disrupt by
A Science "Reading List for Uncertain Times" Selection "A must-read for anyone with even a passing interest in the present and future of higher education." --Tressie McMillan Cottom, author of Lower Ed "A must-read for the education-invested as well as the education-interested." --Forbes Proponents of massive online learning have promised that technology will radically accelerate learning and democratize education. Much-publicized experiments, often underwritten by Silicon Valley entrepreneurs, have been launched at elite universities and elementary schools in the poorest neighborhoods. But a decade after the "year of the MOOC," the promise of disruption seems premature. In Failure to Disrupt, Justin Reich takes us on a tour of MOOCs, autograders, "intelligent tutors," and other edtech platforms and delivers a sobering report card. Institutions and investors favor programs that scale up quickly at the expense of true innovation. Learning technologies--even those that are free--do little to combat the growing inequality in education. Technology is a phenomenal tool in the right hands, but no killer app will shortcut the hard road of institutional change. "I'm not sure if Reich is as famous outside of learning science and online education circles as he is inside. He should be...Reading and talking about Failure to Disrupt should be a prerequisite for any big institutional learning technology initiatives coming out of COVID-19." --Inside Higher Ed "The desire to educate students well using online tools and platforms is more pressing than ever. But as Justin Reich illustrates...many recent technologies that were expected to radically change schooling have instead been used in ways that perpetuate existing systems and their attendant inequalities." --Science
Call Number: LB1028.3 .R4375 2020 (Camden & Online)ISBN: 9780674278684Publication Date: 2022-10-04
The Organized Teacher's Guide to Classroom Management, Grades K-8, Second Edition by
Discover strategies and tools to make your classroom run more smoothly Classroom management can be challenging even for experienced teachers. Written by two award-winning educators, this practical guide is filled with tips and proticols to help you manage your classroom more efficiently. There's advice on setting up your classroom, establishing rules, dealing with difficult students, meeting with parents, and much more. The authors also examine teaching theories from leading educators and offer guidance to help you determine the best teaching style for every situation. The book includes dozens of useful documents such as charts, rewards certificates, child-teacher or parent-teacher contracts for homework, attendance or discipline, and more. The documents can also be accessed online and sent directly to a printer, saving you valuable time. The Organized Teacher's Guide to Classroom Management, Second Edition will help you: * Find strategies to keep your classroom running smoothly * Determine which teaching style is most appropriate for you * Establish rules, consequences, and procedures * Manage student behavior in the classroom * Create more inspired lesson plans and curricula * Get organized with reproducible charts, checklists, and more
Call Number: LB3013 .S649 2019 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781260441895Publication Date: 2019-06-24
eBooks on Education
Classrooms in the Real World by
For the past 35 years, Scott Mandel has been teaching students in an urban Los Angeles school district. In addition, he instructs teachers in professional development courses. In those classes, he's known for telling stories--stories gleaned from his time spent in the classroom. Classrooms in the Real Worldis a collection of many of those stories, presented as a set of teachable moments--a practical how-to book for new teachers, one based on interacting with kids on a daily basis. Rather than providing educational theories about what should be, Mandel shares real-life stories of how to relate to your students, administrators and parents, along with his thoughts on how to deal with the multiple curricular and classroom challenges that all teachers face in the real world. Chapters such as "Kids Don't Care How Much You Know As Long As They Know You Care," "Take Curricular Chances," "Administrators Want You To Succeed," "Keeping My Sanity All These Years," and "What Have I Learned" will give you the reader practical ideas, philosophies and encouragement from a long-time classroom teacher, someone still in the classroom sharing the lived experience of teaching in today's school environment. Perfect for courses such as: Introduction to Teaching | Classroom Management | Student Teaching
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781975503352Publication Date: 2020-01-03
Education: the Rock and Roll Years by
Les has often described himself as the 'Forrest Gump of education', as he seems to have been present at all the major educational developments since World War 2. This book is a very personal retrospective on a life in education over the last three-quarters of a century. He avoids personal negativity, though much of the narrative comes from a negative view of school and its impact on the lives of children. It is also a book full of hope that the human potential at the top of Maslow's hierarchy, self-actualisation, can realistically be achieved. An optimistic, humorous, self-mocking account, it emphasises the seriousness of the issues covered - corporal punishment, industrial disputes, the impact of bereavement on children and many more - by sleight of hand. Important educational debates are cunningly illuminated through the reflections of a simple Geordie lad. There are key messages here for all those engaged in the process of life-long learning. Education: the Rock and Roll Years' is visionary, practical, rebellious, idiosyncratic and beautifully idiomatic. Its strength is combining personal experience with key principles. This is an excellent piece of writing. Professor Andy Hargreaves, Boston College and University of Ottawa Les Walton has achieved great things at the most senior levels of education. The thing that marks him out is that no matter how senior his post, he has never forgotten that the purpose of education is to give opportunities, excite minds and change things. His reflections, which show how education and learning have done all these things in his life, make good reading and remind everyone why education is one of the most important things if a society is to thrive. Former Secretary of State for Education, Baroness Morris of Yardley
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781914171321Publication Date: 2021-09-13
Focus by
Bestselling author Mike Schmoker describes a plan for radically improving student learning that is built on three core elements: a focused and coherent curriculum; clear, prioritized lessons; and purposeful reading and writing.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781416611301Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Geeky Pedagogy by
Geeky Pedagogy is a funny, evidence-based, multidisciplinary, pragmatic, highly readable guide to the process of learning and relearning how to be an effective college teacher. It is the first college teaching guide that encourages faculty to embrace their inner nerd, inviting readers to view themselves and their teaching work in light of contemporary discourse that celebrates increasingly diverse geek culture and explores stereotypes about super-smart introverts. Geeky Pedagogy avoids the excessive jargon, humorlessness, and endless proscriptions that plague much published advice about teaching. Neuhaus is aware of how embodied identity and employment status shape one's teaching context, and she eschews formulaic depictions of idealized exemplar teaching, instead inviting readers to join her in an engaging, critically reflective conversation about the vicissitudes of teaching and learning in higher education as a geek, introvert, or nerd. Written for the wonks and eggheads who want to translate their vast scholarly expertise into authentic student learning, Geeky Pedagogy is packed with practical advice and encouragement for increasing readers' pedagogical knowledge.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781949199062Publication Date: 2019-07-23
The Handbook of Adult and Continuing Education by
Co-published with Colleges and universities are increasingly becoming significant sites for adult education scholarship--in large part due to demographic shifts. With fewer U.S. high school graduates on the horizon, higher education institutions will need to attract "non-traditional" (i.e., older) adult learners to remain viable, both financially and politically. There is a need to develop a better corpus of scholarship on topics as diverse as, what learning theories are useful for understanding adult learning? How are higher education institutions changing in response to the surge of adult students? What academic programs are providing better learning and employment outcomes for adults in college? Adult education scholars can offer much to the policy debates taking place in higher education. A main premise of this handbook is that adult and continuing education should not simply respond to rapidly changing social, economic, technological, and political environments across the globe, but should lead the way in preparing adults to become informed, globally-connected, critical citizens who are knowledgeable, skilled, and open and adaptive to change and uncertainty. The Handbook of Adult and ContinuingEducation provides rich information on the contemporary issues and trends that are of concern to adult and continuing education, of the programs and resources available to adult learners, and of opportunities to challenge and critique the structures embedded in the field that perpetuate inequity and social injustice. Adult education is a discipline that foresees a better tomorrow, and The Handbookis designed to engage and inspire readers to assist the field to seek new paths in uncertain and complex times, ask questions, and to help the field flourish. The Handbookis divided into five sections. The first,Foundationssituates the field by describing the developments, core debates, perspectives, and key principles that form the basis of the field. The second, Understanding Adult Learning, includes chapters on adult learning, adult development, motivation, access, participation, and support of adult learners, and mentoring. Teaching Practices and Administrative Leadership, the third section, offers chapters on organization and administration, program planning, assessment and evaluation, teaching perspectives, andragogy and pedagogy, public pedagogy, and digital technologies for teaching and learning. The fourth section is Formal and Informal Learning Contexts. Chapters cover adult basic, GED, and literacy education, English-as-a-Second Language Programs, family literacy, prison education, workforce development, military education, international development education, health professions education, continuing professional education, higher education, human resource development and workplace learning, union and labor education, religious and spiritual education, cultural institutions, environmental education, social and political movements, and peace and conflict education. The concluding Contemporary Issuessection discusses decolonizing adult and continuing education, adult education and welfare, teaching social activism, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, queer and straight allies, gender and its multiple forms, disability, older adults and intergenerational identities, race and ethnicity, working class, whiteness and privilege, and migrants and migrant education. The editors culminate with consideration of next steps for adult and continuing education and priorities for the future.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781620366844Publication Date: 2020-11-06
Learning To Teach by
The book is intended to give enough information and ideas for trainee teachers to approach the practical business of teaching with confidence.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0335263283Publication Date: 2014
The Math Teacher's Toolbox by
Math teachers will find the classroom-tested lessons and strategies in this book to be accessible and easily implemented in the classroom The Teacher's Toolbox series is an innovative, research-based resource providing teachers with instructional strategies for students of all levels and abilities. Each book in the collection focuses on a specific content area. Clear, concise guidance enables teachers to quickly integrate low-prep, high-value lessons and strategies in their middle school and high school classrooms. Every strategy follows a practical, how-to format established by the series editors. The Math Teacher's Toolbox contains hundreds of student-friendly classroom lessons and teaching strategies. Clear and concise chapters, fully aligned to Common Core math standards, cover the underlying research, required technology, practical classroom use, and modification of each high-value lesson and strategy. This book employs a hands-on approach to help educators quickly learn and apply proven methods and techniques in their mathematics courses. Topics range from the planning of units, lessons, tests, and homework to conducting formative assessments, differentiating instruction, motivating students, dealing with "math anxiety," and culturally responsive teaching. Easy-to-read content shows how and why math should be taught as a language and how to make connections across mathematical units. Designed to reduce instructor preparation time and increase student engagement and comprehension, this book: Explains the usefulness, application, and potential drawbacks of each instructional strategy Provides fresh activities for all classrooms Helps math teachers work with ELLs, advanced students, and students with learning differences Offers real-world guidance for working with parents, guardians, and co-teachers The Math Teacher's Toolbox: Hundreds of Practical ideas to Support Your Students is an invaluable source of real-world lessons, strategies, and techniques for general education teachers and math specialists, as well as resource specialists/special education teachers, elementary and secondary educators, and teacher educators.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119573296Publication Date: 2020-04-28
Re-Conceptualizing Safe Spaces by
A 'safe space' is both a precondition, and one of the effects, of efforts of inclusiveness and egalitarian access to education. By creating safe spaces for learning and unlearning, researchers and practitioners have been working to strengthen the purpose of schools and universities, where education and learning are intended for everyone, with the goal of increasing critical thinking and valuing difference. Re-Conceptualizing Safe Spaces broadens the idea of a safe space that is traditionally discussed in feminist studies, to include gendered identities intersecting with class, race/ethnicity, sexual orientation, and ability within multiple aspects of education. This edited collection showcases work supporting access to education of persistently marginalized individuals, as well as efforts that help privileged groups understand their role in perpetuating the marginalization of others in educational spaces, by bringing into the popular discourse examples of the diverse and valuable work taking place. Combining foundational concepts with practical cases of creating safe spaces in venues of education, this book is essential reading for educators across the USA, Europe, and beyond.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781839822513Publication Date: 2021-10-25
Expert Recommendations
How Children Succeed by
From the award-winning journalist Paul Tough, a provocative and profound examination of childhood success and character--an insightful study that reveals the power to transform young people's lives. Why do some children succeed while others fail? The story we usually tell about childhood and success is the one about intelligence: success comes to those who score highest on tests, from preschool admissions to SATs. In How Children Succeed, Paul Tough argues that success has more to do with character--skills like perseverance, curiosity, optimism, and self-control. In this groundbreaking study, Tough introduces us to key researchers and educators, who, for the first time, are using the tools of science to peel back the mysteries of character. Through their stories--and the stories of the children they are trying to help--Tough reveals how character has the power to transform young people's lives. This provocative and profoundly hopeful book will not only inspire and engage readers--it will also change our understanding of childhood itself.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780544104402Publication Date: 2013-07-02
How to Read a Book by
How to Read a Book, originally published in 1940, has become a rare phenomenon, a living classic. It is the best and most successful guide to reading comprehension for the general reader. And now it has been completely rewritten and updated. You are told about the various levels of reading and how to achieve them -- from elementary reading, through systematic skimming and inspectional reading, to speed reading, you learn how to pigeonhole a book, X-ray it, extract the author's message, criticize. You are taught the different reading techniques for reading practical books, imaginative literature, plays, poetry, history, science and mathematics, philosophy and social science. Finally, the authors offer a recommended reading list and supply reading tests whereby you can measure your own progress in reading skills, comprehension and speed.
Call Number: PN83 .A43 1972 (Jesup)ISBN: 9780671212094Publication Date: 1972-08-15
Make It Stick by
To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners. Memory plays a central role in our ability to carry out complex cognitive tasks, such as applying knowledge to problems never before encountered and drawing inferences from facts already known. New insights into how memory is encoded, consolidated, and later retrieved have led to a better understanding of how we learn. Grappling with the impediments that make learning challenging leads both to more complex mastery and better retention of what was learned. Many common study habits and practice routines turn out to be counterproductive. Underlining and highlighting, rereading, cramming, and single-minded repetition of new skills create the illusion of mastery, but gains fade quickly. More complex and durable learning come from self-testing, introducing certain difficulties in practice, waiting to re-study new material until a little forgetting has set in, and interleaving the practice of one skill or topic with another. Speaking most urgently to students, teachers, trainers, and athletes, Make It Stick will appeal to all those interested in the challenge of lifelong learning and self-improvement.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780674729018Publication Date: 2014-04-14
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by
First published in Portuguese in 1968, Pedagogy of the Oppressed was translated and published in English in 1970. The methodology of the late Paulo Freire has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm. With a substantive new introduction on Freire's life and the remarkable impact of this book by writer and Freire confidant and authority Donaldo Macedo, this anniversary edition of Pedagogy of the Oppressed will inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780826412768Publication Date: 2000-09-01
