Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBook Collection

Finding eBooks using GALILEO

  1. Navigate to GALILEO from the Library Services homepage by clicking on the GALILEO - Georgia's Virtual Library tab.

    Screenshot of CPTC Library Services homepage with red arrow pointing to GALILEO - Georgia's Virtual Library tab
     
  2. Once on the GALILEO tab, click on "Go to GALILEO home page" or click on the GALILEO logo.

    Screenshot of GALILEO tab on CPTC Library Services webpage with a red arrow pointing toward the GALILEO link
     
  3. Once on the GALILEO homepage, click on Books, E-Books, and Book Reviews found under Databases by Type.

    Screenshot of GALILEO homepage with red arrow pointing to Books, eBooks, and Book Reviews
  4. On the Books, E-Books, and Book Reviews page you will see a list of eBook sources in GALILEO. Click on any of these sources to access the eBook collection.

    Screen shot of browse by type subpage, Books, E-Books, and Book Reviews with a red arrow pointing to the list of databases
     
  5. I chose Ebook Central (ProQuest). Once on the Ebook Central homepage, enter your search criteria into the box. Press enter or click the Search button.

    Screenshot of the ProQuest eBook Central database homepage with a red arrow pointed at the search bar.
  6. On your results page, you can use the Refine Your Search tools to limit your search. Once you find a book you like, click on the hyperlinked title.
    Ebook Central search results page with a red arrow pointed towards the refine your search tools and another arrow pointed to a book result.
  7. Once at the eBook record, you have the option to read the book online, download the book for 21 days, or download individual chapters of the book. There are also tools to cite the book, share a link to the book, and add the book to a virtual bookshelf. 

    Ebook Central book record with a red box around reading options, citation options, add to bookshelf option, and share link option.

Finding eBooks Using the Stingray Library Catalog

  1. Navigate to the Stingray Library Catalog from the Library Services homepage by click on the Stingray Library Catalog tab.

    Screenshot of CPTC Library Services webpage with a red arrow pointing towards the Stingray Library Catalog tab
     
  2. Once on the Stingray Library Catalog tab, click on "Go to the Stingray Library Catalog Home Page" or click on the Stingray Library Catalog logo.
    Screenshot of the Stingray Library Catalog page of the CPTC Library Services website with a red arrow pointing towards the "Go to the Stingray Library Catalog page" link
  3. Type your search terms into the search bar. Press enter or press the magnifying glass at the end of the search bar.
    image of library catalog homepage with "emergency nursing" typed into the search bar and a red arrow pointing to the search bar.
     
  4. Refine your results by using the limiters menu on the left hand side of the screen. Under Availability, click Full Text Online. Under Format, click Books. Then click Apply Filters.

    Screenshot of the limiters menu in the online library catalog with a red arrows pointed at the full text online option, book option, and the refine my results button.
     
  5. Full text online items will have a hyperlink that says, "Online Access". The title of the item will also be hyperlinked in blue. Click on the blue hyperlinked title. 

    Screenshot of online catalog search results with an arrow pointed towards the hyperlinked title of the result and a red square around the online access hyperlink.
     
  6. Under View Now, you will find links to the full text of the item. Click on one of the links.

    Screenshot of book record with a red arrow pointing to online access links.
     
  7. Once at the eBook record, you have the option to read the book online, download the book for 21 days, or download individual chapters of the book. There are also tools to cite the book, share a link to the book, and add the book to a virtual bookshelf. 

    eBook Central eBook record with red boxes around the reading options, save tools, and citation tools.