Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
Architecture: Residential Drafting and Design by
Architecture: Residential Drafting and Design provides comprehensive instruction for preparing architectural working drawings using traditional and computer-based methods. The text also serves as a reference for design and construction principles and methods. Its exciting format organizes content around the design-building process, making the text easy to understand and appealing to students. Content is up-to-date, with coverage of state-of-the-art technology.
Call Number: NA 7115 .K46 2006 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781590706992Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Basic Blueprint Reading and Sketching by
Updated to the latest ANSI, ISO, AWS, and ASME standards, this 50th Anniversary Edition helps individuals develop skills in reading and interpreting industrial drawings and in preparing simple technical sketches. It is written to be a consumable, interactive text/workbook that provides basic principles, concepts, ANSI and SI Metric drafting symbols and standards, terminology, manufacturing process notes, and other related technical information contained on a mechanical or CAD drawing. Each unit features a basic principle and at least one blueprint and assignment that encourages users to practice newly learned skills.
Call Number: T 379 .O4 2005 (Jesup)ISBN: 9781401848781Publication Date: 2004-08-25
A Career in Civil Engineering by
Men and women interested in designing and building bridges, ships, highways, dams, airports, or other large-scale projects people use every day can find nearly endless opportunities in civil engineering. A civil engineering career can take you to the top of a skyscraper, to the middle of the ocean, to an underground tunnel, and to one day, perhaps, a colony on Mars. What the job entails, what it pays, and future prospects are discussed along with insights from industry insiders.
Call Number: TA157 .R64128 2019 (Camden & Online)ISBN: 9781682823453Publication Date: 2018-08-15
Drafting Symbol Sourcebook by
A comprehensive guide to drafting symbols, this clearly illustrated guide is the perfect tool for students and professionals. Long needed, the Drafting Symbol Sourcebook provides a single convenient source for over 1,600 architectural, engineering, and trade symbols--every symbol you need when writing or reading blueprints and other schematics. Essential at the drafting table and handy in the field, this one-stop source makes unnecessary the dozens of books and publications, and piles of expensive software, once needed to find this wealth of information. With this book, you simply flip directly to any needed symbol. An unparalleled resource, this book is sure to become one of your favorite tools.
Call Number: T 353 .W837 1999 (Waycross)ISBN: 0070713324Publication Date: 1998-11-30
Mastering AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 by
Give life to your designs and keep your CAD skills fresh with Mastering AutoCAD 2021 and Mastering AutoCAD LT 2021 AutoCAD continues to be the tool of choice for architects, project managers, engineers, city planners, and other design professionals, and when the industry experts need to learn the latest CAD techniques and trends, they turn to Mastering AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT. Packed with real-world examples, straightforward instructions, and downloadable project files, this edition of this bestselling AutoCAD reference has been fully updated for the latest features from the 2021 version of AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT. From getting familiar with the interface to preparing for Autodesk AutoCAD certification, Mastering AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 gives CAD professionals command of the software's core functions and complex capabilities. Develop AutoCAD drawings from concept to creation Use hatches, fields, and tables Work with dynamic blocks, attributes, drawing curves, and solid fills Apply 3D modeling and imaging techniques Customize your interface and configure template settings and styles Get ready for the Autodesk AutoCAD Certification exam Whether you're seeking on-the-job certification or just looking to dream big and draw, Mastering AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 is the ultimate guide to all things AutoCAD.
Call Number: T386 .A97 B46 2021 (Camden)ISBN: 9781119715351Publication Date: 2021-01-07
Selected eBooks
Architectural Design with SketchUp by
Go beyond the basics: making SketchUp work for you Architectural Design with SketchUp, Second Edition, is the leading guide to this incredibly useful tool for architects, interior designers, construction professionals, and makers. With easy to follow tutorials that first brush up on the basics of the program and then cover many advanced processes, this resource offers both informative text and full-color illustrations to clearly convey the techniques and features you need to excel. The updated second edition has a new chapter that explains how to make things with SketchUp, and covers 3D printing, design to fabrication, CNC milling, and laser cutting. Other chapters also now cover Building Information Modeling (BIM) and 3D web content generation. Additionally, the revised text offers insight into the latest products and plugin extensions, navigation methods, import/export options, and 3D model creation features to ensure you have an up to date understanding of how to make SketchUp help you meet your project goals. A leading 3D modeling application, SketchUp features documentation capabilities through photorealistic renderings and construction drawings. Because of its ease of use and ability to be enhanced with many plugin extensions for project-specific applications, SketchUp is considered the tool of choice for professionals in the architecture, interior design, construction, and fabrication fields. Access thoroughly updated information in an easy to understand writing style Increase your efficiency and accuracy when using SketchUp and refresh and supplement your understanding of SketchUp's basics Explore component-based modeling for assembly, scheduling, collaborative design, and modeling with a BIM approach Find the right plugin extensions and understand how to best work with them See how easy it is to generate presentation-ready renderings from your 3D models Learn how you can use 3D printing, CNC milling, and laser cutting to make things with SketchUp Use cookbook-style Ruby coding to create amazing 3D objects Supplement your knowledge with video tutorials, sample files, and Ruby scripts via a robust companion website Architectural Design with SketchUp, Second Edition, is an integral resource for both students and professionals working in the architecture, interior design, construction, and fabrication industries.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1118978838Publication Date: 2015-10-01
AutoCAD 2017 3D Modeling by
This book provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models, working with cameras and lights, assigning materials to objects, rendering, and printing. Unlike many AutoCAD competitors, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application. Use the companion CD to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures including color. AutoCAD 2017 3D Modelingincludes 50 "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2017. Features: * Covers 3D solid modeling, 3D surface modeling, working with cameras/lighting, rendering and imaging, dimensioning and drafting, and model interchange *Includes 50 "mini-workshops,"that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) *Provides new and seasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D models in both metric and imperial units * Companion disc can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color * Written by an AutoDesk® Approved Instructor and Certified AutoDesk AutoCAD Master eBook Customers:Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at info@merclearning.com.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781944534622Publication Date: 2016-10-31
AutoCAD 2023 Beginning and Intermediate by
This book is the most comprehensive book you will find on AutoCAD 2023 - 2D Drafting. Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion disc to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figures in color. AutoCAD 2023 Beginning and Intermediate includes over 100 exercises or "mini-workshops," that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops will simulate the creation of three projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2023. Features: Covers only the basics and uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad tools for this popular application Companion files can be used to set up in-text drawing exercises and projects and to see the book's figures in color Helps you to prepare for the AutoCAD Certified Professional exam.
Call Number: eBook/EBSCOISBN: 9781683928478Publication Date: 2022-06-13
Computer Aided Design and Manufacturing by
Broad coverage of digital product creation, from design to manufacture and process optimization This book addresses the need to provide up-to-date coverage of current CAD/CAM usage and implementation. It covers, in one source, the entire design-to-manufacture process, reflecting the industry trend to further integrate CAD and CAM into a single, unified process. It also updates the computer aided design theory and methods in modern manufacturing systems and examines the most advanced computer-aided tools used in digital manufacturing. Computer Aided Design and Manufacturing consists of three parts. The first part on Computer Aided Design (CAD) offers the chapters on Geometric Modelling; Knowledge Based Engineering; Platforming Technology; Reverse Engineering; and Motion Simulation. The second part on Computer Aided Manufacturing (CAM) covers Group Technology and Cellular Manufacturing; Computer Aided Fixture Design; Computer Aided Manufacturing; Simulation of Manufacturing Processes; and Computer Aided Design of Tools, Dies and Molds (TDM). The final part includes the chapters on Digital Manufacturing; Additive Manufacturing; and Design for Sustainability. The book is also featured for being uniquely structured to classify and align engineering disciplines and computer aided technologies from the perspective of the design needs in whole product life cycles, utilizing a comprehensive Solidworks package (add-ins, toolbox, and library) to showcase the most critical functionalities of modern computer aided tools, and presenting real-world design projects and case studies so that readers can gain CAD and CAM problem-solving skills upon the CAD/CAM theory. Computer Aided Design and Manufacturing is an ideal textbook for undergraduate and graduate students in mechanical engineering, manufacturing engineering, and industrial engineering. It can also be used as a technical reference for researchers and engineers in mechanical and manufacturing engineering or computer-aided technologies.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119534211Publication Date: 2020-04-06
John Vassos by
What should a television look like? How should a dial on a radio feel to the touch? These were questions John Vassos asked when the Radio Corporation of America (RCA) asked him to design the first mass-produced television receiver, the TRK-12, which had its spectacular premier at the 1939 New York World's Fair. Vassos emigrated from Greece and arrived in the United States in 1918. His career spans the evolution of central forms of mass media in the twentieth century and offers a template for understanding their success. This is Vassos's legacy--shaping the way we interact with our media technologies. Other industrial designers may be more celebrated, but none were more focused on making radio and television attractive and accessible to millions of Americans. In John Vassos: Industrial Design for Modern Life, Danielle Shapiro is the first to examine the life and work of RCA's key consultant designer through the rise of radio and television and into the computer era. Vassos conceived a vision for the look of new technologies still with us today. A founder of the Industrial Designers Society of America, he was instrumental in the development of a self-conscious industrial design profession during the late 1920s and 1930s and into the postwar period. Drawing on unpublished records and correspondence, Shapiro creates a portrait of a designer whose early artistic work in books like Phobia and Contempo critiqued the commercialization of modern life but whose later design work sought to accommodate it. Replete with rich behind-the-product stories of America's design culture in the 1930s through the 1950s, this volume also chronicles the emergence of what was to become the nation's largest media company and provides a fascinating glimpse into its early corporate culture. In our current era of watching TV on an iPod or a smartphone, Shapiro stimulates broad discussions of the meaning of technological design for mass media in daily life.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1452951748Publication Date: 2016-03-30
Managing Measurement Risk in Building and Civil Engineering by
Measurement in civil engineering and building is a core skill and the means by which an architectural or engineering design may be modelled financially, providing the framework to control and realise designs within defined cost parameters, to the satisfaction of the client. Measurement has a particular skill base, but it is elevated to an 'art' because the quantity surveyor is frequently called upon to interpret incomplete designs in order to determine the intentions of the designer so that contractors may be fully informed when compiling their tenders. Managing Measurement Risk in Building and Civil Engineering will help all those who use measurement in their work or deal with the output from the measurement process, to understand not only the 'ins and outs' of measuring construction work but also the relationship that measurement has with contracts, procurement, claims and post-contract control in construction. The book is for quantity surveyors, engineers and building surveyors but also for site engineers required to record and measure events on site with a view to establishing entitlement to variations, extras and contractual claims. The book focuses on the various practical uses of measurement in a day-to-day construction context and provides guidance on how to apply quantity surveying conventions in the many different circumstances encountered in practice. A strong emphasis is placed on measurement in a risk management context as opposed to simply 'taking-off' quantities. It also explains how to use the various standard methods of measurement in a practical working environment and links methods of measurement with conditions of contract, encompassing the contractual issues connected with a variety of procurement methodologies. At the same time, the many uses and applications of measurement are recognised in both a main contractor and subcontractor context. Measurement has moved into a new and exciting era of on-screen quantification and BIM models but this has changed nothing in terms of the basic principles underlying measurement: thoroughness, attention to detail, good organisation, making work auditable and, above all, understanding the way building and engineering projects are designed and built. This book will help to give you the confidence to both 'measure' and understand measurement risk issues by: presenting the subject of measurement in a modern context with a risk management emphasis recognising the interrelationship of measurement with contractual issues including identification of pre- and post-contract measurement risk issues emphasising the role of measurement in the entirety of the contracting process particularly considering measurement risk implications of both formal and informal tender documentation and common methods of procurement conveying the basic principles of measurement and putting them in an IT context incorporating detailed coverage of NRM1 and NRM2, CESMM4, Manual of Contract Documents for Highway Works and POM(I), including a comparison of NRM2 with SMM7 and a detailed analysis of changes from CESMM3 to CESMM4 discussing the measurement implications of major main and sub-contract conditions (JCT, NEC3, Infrastructure Conditions and FIDIC) providing detailed worked examples and explanations of computer-based measurement using a variety of industry-standard software packages
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118561508Publication Date: 2015-12-10
Practical Autodesk AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 by
Publisher's note: This edition from 2020 is based on AutoCAD 2021 and AutoCAD LT 2021 and does not make use of the most recent AutoCAD features. A new second edition, updated for AutoCAD 2023 and AutoCAD LT 2023 including new topics, such as Floating drawing windows and the COUNT feature, has now been published. Key Features Explore the AutoCAD GUI, file format, and drawing tools to get started with CAD projects Learn to use drawing management tools for working efficiently on large projects Discover techniques for creating, modifying, and managing 3D models and converting 2D plans into 3D models Book Description AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT are one of the most versatile software applications for architectural and engineering designs and the most popular computer-aided design (CAD) platform for 2D drafting and 3D modeling. This hands-on guide will take you through everything you need to know to make the most out of this powerful tool, starting from a simple tour of the user interface through to using advanced tools. Starting with basic drawing shapes and functions, you'll get to grips with the fundamentals of CAD designs. You'll then learn about effective drawing management using layers, dynamic blocks, and groups and discover how to add annotations and plot like professionals. The book delves into 3D modeling and helps you convert your 2D drawings into 3D models and shapes. As you progress, you'll cover advanced tools and features such as isometric drawings, drawing utilities for managing and recovering complex files, quantity surveying, and multidisciplinary drawing files using xRefs, and you'll learn how to implement them with the help of practical exercises at the end of each chapter. Finally, you'll get to grips with rendering and visualizing your designs in AutoCAD. By the end of the book, you'll have developed a solid understanding of CAD principles and be able to work with AutoCAD software confidently to build impressive 2D and 3D drawings. What you will learn Understand CAD fundamentals using AutoCAD's basic functions, navigation, and components Create complex 3d solid objects starting from the primitive shapes using the solid editing tools Working with reusable objects like Blocks and collaborating using xRef Explore some advanced features like external references and dynamic block Get to grips with surface and mesh modeling tools such as Fillet, Trim, and Extend Use the paper space layout in AutoCAD for creating professional plots for 2D and 3D models Convert your 2D drawings into 3D models Who this book is for The book is for design engineers, mechanical engineers, architects, and anyone working in construction, manufacturing, or similar fields. Whether you're an absolute beginner, student, or professional looking to upgrade your engineering design skills, you'll find this AutoCAD book useful. No prior knowledge of CAD or AutoCAD is necessary.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781789809152Publication Date: 2020-05-15
Expert Recommendations
Manual of Engineering Drawing by
The Manual of Engineering Drawing has long been the recognised as a guide for practicing and student engineers to producing engineering drawings and annotated 3D models that comply with the latest British and ISO Standards of Technical Product Specifications and Documentation.This new edition has been updated to include the requirements of BS8888 2008 and the relevant ISO Standards, and is ideal for International readership; it includes a guide to the fundamental differences between the ISO and ASME Standards relating to Technical Product Specification and Documentation. Equally applicable to CAD and manual drawing it includes the latest development in 3D annotation and the specification of surface texture. The Duality Principle is introduced as this important concept is still very relevant in the new world of 3D Technical Product Specification.Written by members of BSI and ISO committees and a former college lecturer, the Manual of Engineering Drawing combines up to the minute technical information with clear, readable explanations and numerous diagrams and traditional geometrical construction techniques rarely taught in schools and colleges. This approach makes this manual an ideal companion for students studying vocational courses in Technical Product Specification, undergraduates studying engineering or product design and any budding engineer beginning a career in design.The comprehensive scope of this new edition encompasses topics such as orthographic and pictorial projections, dimensional, geometrical and surface tolerancing, 3D annotation and the duality principle, along with numerous examples of electrical and hydraulic diagrams with symbols and applications of cams, bearings, welding and adhesives.
Call Number: Online (& Waycross)ISBN: 9780750689854Publication Date: 2009-04-09
Working Drawings Handbook by
Covering every aspect of drawing preparation, both manual and computer-aided, this comprehensive manual is an essential tool for students, architects and architectural technologists. Showing what information is required on each type of document, how drawings relate to specifications, and how to organize and document your work, this handbook presents a fully illustrated guide to all the key methods and techniques. Thoroughly revised and redesigned, this fourth edition has brand new computer-generated drawings throughout and is updated to cover all aspects of computer use in the modern building design process.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780750663724Publication Date: 2004-10-29
