Books
Find these books and more by searching CPTC's online library catalog.
Construction Graphics by
This pioneering textbook details how construction drawings are used to implement the construction process. It offers an overview of construction drawing basics as well as thorough coverage of standard construction sequence, including site work,foundations, structural systems, and interior work and finishes.
Call Number: General Collection ; TH 431 .B574 2004 WaycrossISBN: 9780471219835Publication Date: 2004-01-26
Craftsman's Construction Installation Encyclopedia by
"Step-by-step installation instructions for most repair and remodeling and residential construction tasks. Dozens of jobs, arranged alphabetically. Fully illustrated with tips and tricks-of-the-trade. Includes man hours for each entry for estimating and bidding."
Call Number: Reference ; REF TH9 .D54 2004 CamdenISBN: 9781572181519Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Masonry and Concrete Construction by
This is the revised edition of the popular manual, with updated information on everything from on-site preplanning and layout through the construction of footings, foundations, walls, fireplaces and chimneys.
There s an added appendix on safety regulations, with all the applicable OSHA sections pulled together into one handy condensed reference. There s new information on concrete, masonry and seismic reinforcement. Plus improved estimating techniques to help you win more construction bids.
The emphasis is on integrating new techniques and improved materials with the tried-and-true methods. Includes information on cement and mortar types, mixes, coloring agents and additives, and suggestions on when, where and how to use them; calculating footing and foundation loads, with tables and formulas to use as references; forming materials and forming systems; pouring and reinforcing concrete slabs and flatwork; block and brick wall construction, including seismic requirements; crack control, masonry veneer construction, brick floors and pavements, including design considerations and materials; and cleaning, painting and repairing all types of masonry.
Call Number: General Collection ; TH5311 .N64 1998 JesupISBN: 9781572180444Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Metal Building Systems, Third Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most complete, up-to-date metal building systems guide Fully revised for the latest building codes and industry trends, Metal Building Systems, Third Edition, explains how to select, specify, and design preengineered buildings with confidence. In this book, a practicing structural engineer goes beyond manufacturer-supplied specifications to provide impartial and objective information that can save you money and time. A new chapter on anchor bolts and embedments, many new illustrations, plus new and updated design examples, are included in this practical reference. End-of-chapter review questions reinforce the material presented. Thisis an essential resource for architects, engineers, construction specifiers, design professionals, facility managers, building officials, and contractors working with metal building systems. COMPREHENSIVE COVERAGE INCLUDES: Structural loads and design methods Structural system selection criteria Primary framing Secondary framing: girts and purlins Metal roofing Wall materials Insulation The process of buying a metal building Common problems and failures Lateral drift and vertical deflections Foundation design Anchor bolts and embedments Current design trends Reroofing and renovations Specifying crane buildings Avoiding construction problems
Call Number: General Collection ; TA684 .N435 2015 Golden IslesISBN: 9780071828963Publication Date: 2014-08-26
Construction E-Books
Composite Structures of Steel and Concrete by
This book provides an introduction to the theory and design of composite structures of steel and concrete. Material applicable to both buildings and bridges is included, with more detailed information relating to structures for buildings.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119401438Publication Date: 2019-11-12
Construction: Materials Processing and Technologies by
This issue of the journal focuses on the advances in engineering science with special attention to the building materials and materials for environmental applications. The main topics include Constructional and Engineering Materials, Structure of materials characterization and testing, the Influence of An Infill, Environmental and Green Materials. The content in this issue provides a modern view of the aims in the development of environmentally friendly building materials and solving the problems associated with environmental safety and enhancement and the achievement of sustainable development also the current issue deals with a new research in green engineering.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783035716771Publication Date: 2020-11-30
Electric Fuses by
Fuses are designed to operate when over-currents, large and small, occur within electrical equipment; they thus interrupt the flow of current, preventing damage. They are needed for various power electric systems, for stationary and automotive applications, as well as power grid components like PV systems and distribution lines. Different types of equipment and voltages require special fuses, and their behaviour must be understood to guarantee correct choice and safe operation. For the 3rd edition in 2004, Wright and Newbery's classic had been revised to include pre-arcing and arcing behaviour, retrofitting of fuses, chip and automotive fuses, and insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) protection. Edition 4 includes updates on standards and new applications. Data, standards descriptions and many illustrations have been revised and updated. Chapters cover pre-arcing and arcing behaviour of cartridge fuselinks, constructions and types of low-and high-voltage fuses as well as miniature, plug and other small fuses, various applications, standards, manufacture, quality assurance and inspection. This reference is indispensable for researchers involved with power electric equipment, grids and motors, and experts engaged in fuse development, design and production.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781839534089Publication Date: 2022-10-25
Greatness in Construction History by
This book takes the reader to a journey through times and spaces to live the stories and glories of some eight great projects shaping the world's skyline. It uncovers the secrets of construction greatness through living the project stories first-hand, meeting with the great builders and world leaders behind the projects. The reader will witness the merger of souls into bodies of the newborn buildings, live their lives, and sometimes even their death. The journey begins with the pyramids of ancient history, on to the magic of the middle ages, to the passion of the renaissance era, down to the industrial revolution and modern ages. The book contains PMBOK Guide, Agile, and Design-Build project management reviews, hence good for both project managers and construction history fans, alike. Enjoy!
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781947098046Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Transformers and Inductors for Power Electronics by
Based on the fundamentals of electromagnetics, this clear and concise text explains basic and applied principles of transformer and inductor design for power electronic applications. It details both the theory and practice of inductors and transformers employed to filter currents, store electromagnetic energy, provide physical isolation between circuits, and perform stepping up and down of DC and AC voltages. The authors present a broad range of applications from modern power conversion systems. They provide rigorous design guidelines based on a robust methodology for inductor and transformer design. They offer real design examples, informed by proven and working field examples. Key features include: emphasis on high frequency design, including optimisation of the winding layout and treatment of non-sinusoidal waveforms a chapter on planar magnetic with analytical models and descriptions of the processing technologies analysis of the role of variable inductors, and their applications for power factor correction and solar power unique coverage on the measurements of inductance and transformer capacitance, as well as tests for core losses at high frequency worked examples in MATLAB, end-of-chapter problems, and an accompanying website containing solutions, a full set of instructors' presentations, and copies of all the figures. Covering the basics of the magnetic components of power electronic converters, this book is a comprehensive reference for students and professional engineers dealing with specialised inductor and transformer design. It is especially useful for senior undergraduate and graduate students in electrical engineering and electrical energy systems, and engineers working with power supplies and energy conversion systems who want to update their knowledge on a field that has progressed considerably in recent years.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119950578Publication Date: 2013-04-29
Expert Recommendations
Construction Business Management by
Less than half of construction firms are still in business after four years. Make sure your company thrives with essential - and very readable - guidance from a pro with 25 years' success. Find out what it takes to build all aspects of a business that's profitable, enjoyable, and enduring. Here are just a few of the things you'll learn from this book: The duties of the owner of a successful construction business Essential terms and conditions to include and exclude in contracts Commandments to follow to ensure you're paid what you're owed, including step-by-step change-order procedures to avoid disputes and non-payment Strict dos and don'ts of mechanics' liens - including when an owner goes bankrupt What must be done administratively before breaking ground on every project How to select, hire, and keep "golden" employees Effective marketing even the smallest contractor can afford How to identify the accountants, lawyers, and insurance agents that are right for you The what, when, where, and why of licensing and registration The advantages of specializing, including the opportunities in chain store construction Whether you're a contractor, a key employee, a subcontractor, a student, or a facility executive, you'll find many ideas you can immediately add to your management and leadership toolbox. Adopting even a single one of them will pay dividends now and throughout your career.
Call Number: HD9715 .A2 G36 2006 (Alma)ISBN: 9780876298251Publication Date: 2006-10-06
