Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
A Common-Sense Guide to Data Structures and Algorithms, Second Edition by
Algorithms and data structures are much more than abstract concepts. Mastering them enables you to write code that runs faster and more efficiently, which is particularly important for today�s web and mobile apps. Take a practical approach to data structures and algorithms, with techniques and real-world scenarios that you can use in your daily production code, with examples in JavaScript, Python, and Ruby. This new and revised second edition features new chapters on recursion, dynamic programming, and using Big O in your daily work. Use Big O notation to measure and articulate the efficiency of your code, and modify your algorithm to make it faster. Find out how your choice of arrays, linked lists, and hash tables can dramatically affect the code you write. Use recursion to solve tricky problems and create algorithms that run exponentially faster than the alternatives. Dig into advanced data structures such as binary trees and graphs to help scale specialized applications such as social networks and mapping software. You�ll even encounter a single keyword that can give your code a turbo boost. Practice your new skills with exercises in every chapter, along with detailed solutions. Use these techniques today to make your code faster and more scalable.
Call Number: QA76.9 .D35 W46 2020 (Camden)ISBN: 9781680507225Publication Date: 2020-09-15
Computer Science Distilled by
A foolproof walkthrough of must-know computer science concepts. A fast guide for those who don't need the academic formality, it goes straight to what differentiates pros from amateurs. First introducing discrete mathematics, then exposing the most common algorithm and data structure design elements, and finally the working principles of computers and programming languages, the book is indicated to all programmers.
Call Number: QA76.9 .A43 F47 2017 CamdenISBN: 9780997316025Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Effective Cybersecurity by
William Stallings' Effective Cybersecurity offers a comprehensive and unified explanation of the best practices and standards that represent proven, consensus techniques for implementing cybersecurity. Stallings draws on the immense work that has been collected in multiple key security documents, making this knowledge far more accessible than it has ever been before. Effective Cybersecurity is organized to align with the comprehensive Information Security Forum document The Standard of Good Practice for Information Security, but deepens, extends, and complements ISF's work with extensive insights from the ISO 27002 Code of Practice for Information Security Controls, the NIST Framework for Improving Critical Infrastructure Cybersecurity, COBIT 5 for Information Security, and a wide spectrum of standards and guidelines documents from ISO, ITU-T, NIST, Internet RFCs, other official sources, and the professional, academic, and industry literature. In a single expert source, current and aspiring cybersecurity practitioners will find comprehensive and usable practices for successfully implementing cybersecurity within any organization. Stallings covers: Security Planning: Developing approaches for managing and controlling the cybersecurity function; defining the requirements specific to a given IT environment; and developing policies and procedures for managing the security function Security Management: Implementing the controls to satisfy the defined security requirements Security Evaluation: Assuring that the security management function enables business continuity; monitoring, assessing, and improving the suite of cybersecurity controls. Beyond requiring a basic understanding of cryptographic terminology and applications, this book is self-contained: all technology areas are explained without requiring other reference material. Each chapter contains a clear technical overview, as well as a detailed discussion of action items and appropriate policies. Stallings, author of 13 TAA Computer Science Textbooks of the Year, offers many pedagogical features designed to help readers master the material. These include: clear learning objectives, keyword lists, and glossaries to QR codes linking to relevant standards documents and web resources.
Call Number: QA76.9 .A25 S73 2019 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780134772806Publication Date: 2018-08-31
Essential Computer Hardware by
Bits, bytes, RAM, CPUs, hard drives and DVD drives. Master the geeky acronyms and simplify computer hardware & terminology with ease. Computer hardware with all its technical jargon can be baffling, even for the moderately experienced user. This book cuts through the jargon to show that computer hardware isn't so complicated after all and can be easily understood by anyone. This book is great for beginners, a basic computing class, or someone looking to buy a computer. Step-by-step, visual approach to help you quickly decode the jargon Plenty of full color, illustrated screenshots and photographs to help you Presented in an easy and simple to read format. This book looks at Understanding computer specifications often displayed in computer stores and online General hardware concepts and what's inside the case Hardware components: CPUs, RAM, Hard Drives, Portable Drives, video cards and memory cards Data Storage: bits, bytes, kilo bytes, mega bytes, giga bytes and tera bytes Computer ports: VGA, HDMI, DVI, USB 2&3, FireWire, RJ45 ethernet, eSATA and more Different types of computer: desktops, laptops, netbooks, tablets, hybrids and supercomputers Computer peripherals: laser and inkjet printers Types of computer networks, The internet, email, the cloud and the world-wide web and more... Techniques are illustrated step-by-step using photography and screen prints throughout, together with concise, easy to follow text from an established expert in the field, provide a comprehensive guide to computer systems. If you want to decode the jargon quickly and easily, this is the guide you need.
Call Number: QA76 .W55 2019 CamdenISBN: 9781911174592Publication Date: 2018-04-11
Information Technology Essentials by
This book is a survey of Information Technology topics. It is designed for students that are starting studies about IT.
Call Number: T58.6 .I54 2020 (Waycross & Camden)ISBN: 9781733009423Publication Date: 2019-08-09
The Pentester BluePrint by
JUMPSTART YOUR NEW AND EXCITING CAREER AS A PENETRATION TESTER The Pentester BluePrint: Your Guide to Being a Pentester offers readers a chance to delve deeply into the world of the ethical, or "white-hat" hacker. Accomplished pentester and author Phillip L. Wylie and cybersecurity researcher Kim Crawley walk you through the basic and advanced topics necessary to understand how to make a career out of finding vulnerabilities in systems, networks, and applications. You'll learn about the role of a penetration tester, what a pentest involves, and the prerequisite knowledge you'll need to start the educational journey of becoming a pentester. Discover how to develop a plan by assessing your current skillset and finding a starting place to begin growing your knowledge and skills. Finally, find out how to become employed as a pentester by using social media, networking strategies, and community involvement. Perfect for IT workers and entry-level information security professionals, The Pentester BluePrint also belongs on the bookshelves of anyone seeking to transition to the exciting and in-demand field of penetration testing. Written in a highly approachable and accessible style, The Pentester BluePrint avoids unnecessarily technical lingo in favor of concrete advice and practical strategies to help you get your start in pentesting. This book will teach you: The foundations of pentesting, including basic IT skills like operating systems, networking, and security systems The development of hacking skills and a hacker mindset Where to find educational options, including college and university classes, security training providers, volunteer work, and self-study Which certifications and degrees are most useful for gaining employment as a pentester How to get experience in the pentesting field, including labs, CTFs, and bug bounties
Call Number: TK5105.59 .W95 2021 CamdenISBN: 9781119684305Publication Date: 2020-11-24
Mike Meyers' CompTIA a+ Certification Passport, Seventh Edition (Exams 220-1001 & 220-1002) by
Fully revised and updated to provide accelerated review of all the topics covered on the new Core 1 and Core 2 CompTIA A+ exams This quick review, cram-style test preparation guide offers 100% coverage of all objectives for the current editions of both CompTIA A+ exams. Written in the proven Passport format developed by training guru Mike Meyers, the book enables you to focus on specific topics, determine areas of need, and tailor an effective course for quickly preparing for the exams. Each chapter of the Mike Meyers' CompTIA Network+ Certification Passport, Seventh Edition (Exams 220-1001 & 220-1002) contains an outline of chapter contents, "Exam Tips" that highlight test topics, "Warnings" to provide cautionary information, and "Further Study" icons that point out additional resources. The book features end-of-chapter summaries, accurate practice questions, and in-depth answer explanations. *CompTIA Approved Quality Content (CAQC) reviewed and approved *Electronic content includes Total Seminar's Total Tester exam simulator with 200+ practice exam questions, a new collection of Mike's favorite shareware and freeware networking utilities *Includes a 10% discount voucher coupon for any CompTIA exam, a $42 value
Call Number: QA76.3 .M49 2020 CamdenISBN: 9781260455021Publication Date: 2020-03-04
Implementing and Administering Cisco Solutions: 200-301 CCNA Exam Guide by
Prepare to take the Cisco Certified Network Associate (200-301 CCNA) exam and get to grips with the essentials of networking, security, and automationKey Features* Secure your future in network engineering with this intensive boot camp-style certification guide* Gain knowledge of the latest trends in Cisco networking and security and boost your career prospects* Design and implement a wide range of networking technologies and services using Cisco solutionsBook DescriptionIn the dynamic technology landscape, staying on top of the latest technology trends is a must, especially if you want to build a career in network administration. Achieving CCNA 200-301 certification will validate your knowledge of networking concepts, and this book will help you to do just that.This exam guide focuses on the fundamentals to help you gain a high-level understanding of networking, security, IP connectivity, IP services, programmability, and automation. Starting with the functions of various networking components, you'll discover how they are used to build and improve an enterprise network. You'll then delve into configuring networking devices using a command-line interface (CLI) to provide network access, services, security, connectivity, and management. The book covers important aspects of network engineering using a variety of hands-on labs and real-world scenarios that will help you gain essential practical skills. As you make progress, this CCNA certification study guide will help you get to grips with the solutions and technologies that you need to implement and administer a broad range of modern networks and IT infrastructures.By the end of this book, you'll have gained the confidence to pass the Cisco CCNA 200-301 exam on the first attempt and be well-versed in a variety of network administration and security engineering solutions.What you will learn* Understand the benefits of creating an optimal network* Create and implement IP schemes in an enterprise network* Design and implement virtual local area networks (VLANs)* Administer dynamic routing protocols, network security, and automation* Get to grips with various IP services that are essential to every network* Discover how to troubleshoot networking devicesWho this book is forThis guide is for IT professionals looking to boost their network engineering and security administration career prospects. If you want to gain a Cisco CCNA certification and start a career as a network security professional, you'll find this book useful. Although no knowledge about Cisco technologies is expected, a basic understanding of industry-level network fundamentals will help you grasp the topics covered easily.
Call Number: QA76.3 .S56 2020 CamdenISBN: 9781800208094Publication Date: 2020-11-13
CompTIA Security+ Practice Tests SY0-501 by
Learn from Ian Neil, one of the world's top CompTIA Security+ trainers in the world, and enhance your analytical skills to pass the CompTIA Security+ SY0-501 exam Key Features Become a pro at answering questions from all six of the domains of the SY0-501 exam Learn about cryptography algorithms, security policies, and their real-world implementations Solve practice tests that complement the official CompTIA Security+ certification exam Book Description CompTIA Security+ is a core security certification that will validate your baseline skills for a career in cybersecurity. Passing this exam will not only help you identify security incidents but will also equip you to resolve them efficiently. This book builds on the popular CompTIA Security+ Certification Guide, which mirrors the SY0-501 exam pattern. This practice test-based guide covers all six domains of the Security+ SY0-501 exam: threats, attacks, and vulnerabilities; technologies and tools; architecture and design; identity and access management; cryptography and PKI; and risk management. You'll take six mock tests designed as per the official Security+ certification exam pattern, each covering significant aspects from an examination point of view. For each domain, the book provides a dedicated cheat sheet that includes important concepts covered in the test. You can even time your tests to simulate the actual exam. These tests will help you identify gaps in your knowledge and discover answers to tricky exam questions. By the end of this book, you'll have developed and enhanced the skills necessary to pass the official CompTIA Security+ exam. What you will learn Understand how prepared you are for the CompTIA Security+ certification Identify different types of security threats, attacks, and vulnerabilities Explore identity and access management in an enterprise environment Protect your business tools and platforms from cyberattacks Create and maintain a secure network Understand how you can protect your data Discover encryption techniques required to protect against various cyber threat scenarios Who this book is for If you are a security administrator, a system or network administrator, or anyone who wants to pass the CompTIA Security+ exam, this book is for you. This book is an ideal resource for students who want a career or degree in cybersecurity or are studying for the CISSP certification exam.
Call Number: QA76.3 .A25 N45 2020 CamdenISBN: 9781838828882Publication Date: 2020-01-10
Selected eBooks
CompTIA Linux+ Certification Guide by
Master the concepts and techniques that will help you gain the LX0-103 and LX0-104 certifications on your first attempt Key Features Get a clear understanding of how to achieve the Linux+ certification Explore system architecture, shell scripts, data management, and Linux security Work through practice and mock tests to pass both LX0-103 and LX0-104 exams Book Description Linux+ certification demonstrates technical competency and provides a broad awareness of Linux operating systems. Professionals who have achieved the Linux+ certification exhibit all-important knowledge of installation, operation, administration, and troubleshooting services. The CompTIA Linux+ Certification Guide is an overview of the certification that gives you insights into the system architecture. You'll understand how to install and uninstall Linux distributions, followed by working with various package managers. Once you've grasped all this, you'll move on to manipulating files and processes at command-line interface (CLI) and creating, monitoring, killing, restarting, and modifying processes. As you progress, you'll be equipped to work with display managers and learn how to create, modify, and remove user accounts and groups, as well as understand how to automate tasks. The last set of chapters helps you configure dates and set up local and remote system logging. In addition to this, you'll explore different internet protocols, along with discovering network configuration, security administration, Shell scripting, and SQL management. By the end of this book, you'll not only have got to grips with all the modules using practice questions and mock exams, but you'll also be well prepared to pass the LX0-103 and LX0-104 certification exams. What you will learn Understand the Linux system architecture Install, upgrade, and manage Linux system packages Configure devices and maintain the Linux filesystem Manage the Shell environment, write scripts, and manage data Set user interfaces and desktops in the Linux operating system Automate system admin tasks and manage essential system services Manage SQL server on Linux and log locally and remotely with rsyslogd Administer network and local security Who this book is for The CompTIA Linux+ Certification Guide is for you if you want to gain the CompTIA Linux+ certificate. This guide is also for system administrators and rookie Linux professionals interested in enhancing their Linux and Shell scripting skills. No prior knowledge of Linux is needed, although some understanding of Shell scripting would be helpful.
Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781789344493Publication Date: 2018-09-26
CompTIA Project+ Practice Tests by
Over 1,000 practice exam questions with full explanations CompTIA Project+ Practice Tests for exam PK0-004 compliments the Sybex CompTIA Project+ Study Guide by providing last minute review and identifying areas where further review may be needed. 1,000 unique questions are organized into 4 practice tests that cover 100% of all exam objective domains. Practice tests not only provide the answer, but also give you detailed explanations so this is an excellent resource for last minute review to identify areas where more attention is needed. Two additional 90-question practice exams prepare you for exam day. The Sybex interactive online learning environment provides an online review option where all 1,000 unique questions are available. Access to all practice tests online with the Sybex interactive learning environment 4 unique practice tests include expert explanations Covers 100% of all CompTIA Project+ exam PK0-004 objective domains Whether you have studied with the Sybex study guide for the Project+ exam or have used another brand, this is your chance to test your skills. Studying the exam objectives is important but testing the reach of your knowledge and identifying areas where further review may be needed could be the difference on exam day.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119363385Publication Date: 2017-03-10
Introduction to Computer Programming and Numerical Methods by
In the current times, computing is a very important skill to have. It is even better if you know the basics on which the computing and programming develops itself and the numerical approach that they involve. This is a field that is a subject of attention and study for several programming enthusiasts. This book, Introduction to Computer Programming and Numerical Methods, takes the readers through various such techniques that are used for programming and the numerical methods involved in them, to educate them about the fundamentals and starting point of computer programming.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781774078358Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Expert Recommendations
Superintelligence by
A New York Times bestseller Superintelligence asks the questions: What happens when machines surpass humans in general intelligence? Will artificial agents save or destroy us? Nick Bostrom lays the foundation for understanding the future of humanity and intelligent life. The human brain has some capabilities that the brains of other animals lack. It is to these distinctive capabilities that our species owes its dominant position. If machine brains surpassed human brains in general intelligence, then this new superintelligence could become extremely powerful - possibly beyond our control. As the fate of the gorillas now depends more on humans than on the species itself, so would the fate of humankind depend on the actions of the machine superintelligence. But we have one advantage: we get to make the first move. Will it be possible to construct a seed Artificial Intelligence, to engineer initial conditions so as to make an intelligence explosion survivable? How could one achieve a controlled detonation? This profoundly ambitious and original book breaks down a vast track of difficult intellectual terrain. After an utterly engrossing journey that takes us to the frontiers of thinking about the human condition and the future of intelligent life, we find in Nick Bostrom's work nothing less than a reconceptualization of the essential task of our time.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780199678112Publication Date: 2014-09-03
The Innovators by
Following his blockbuster biography of Steve Jobs, Walter Isaacson's New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed The Innovators is a "riveting, propulsive, and at times deeply moving" (The Atlantic) story of the people who created the computer and the internet. What were the talents that allowed certain inventors and entrepreneurs to turn their visionary ideas into disruptive realities? What led to their creative leaps? Why did some succeed and others fail? The Innovators is a masterly saga of collaborative genius destined to be the standard history of the digital revolution--and an indispensable guide to how innovation really happens. Isaacson begins the adventure with Ada Lovelace, Lord Byron's daughter, who pioneered computer programming in the 1840s. He explores the fascinating personalities that created our current digital revolution, such as Vannevar Bush, Alan Turing, John von Neumann, J.C.R. Licklider, Doug Engelbart, Robert Noyce, Bill Gates, Steve Wozniak, Steve Jobs, Tim Berners-Lee, and Larry Page. This is the story of how their minds worked and what made them so inventive. It's also a narrative of how their ability to collaborate and master the art of teamwork made them even more creative. For an era that seeks to foster innovation, creativity, and teamwork, The Innovators is "a sweeping and surprisingly tenderhearted history of the digital age" (The New York Times).
Call Number: QA76.2 .A2 I87 2014 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781476708706Publication Date: 2015-10-06
