Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books on Automotive Repair and Technology
Advanced Automotive Welding by
With Advanced Automotive Welding, beginner to intermediate skill-level welders will be able to improve and complete more advanced projects. Using the techniques revealed in this book, you will be able to fabricate body panels, frames, and any number of structural and functional automotive components, and perform structural repair. Take your welding skills to the next level with this new Pro Series title.
Call Number: TL 152 .U58 2012 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781934709962Publication Date: 2012-04-18
Automotive Engines by
Thoroughly updated to meet the latest ASE and NATEF task requirements, Automotive Engines: Theory and Servicing, Seventh Edition, features a new full-color design and more effective organization that makes teaching and learning easier! Colorful illustrations and photos along with easier navigation and organization of topics help students effectively study all aspects of automotive engine repair, including cooling and lubrication systems. The text retains its trademark emphasis on diagnosis and troubleshooting, including Tech Tip and Real World Fix boxes that offer true diagnostic stories from the field.
Call Number: TL 210 .H29 2011 (Waycross)ISBN: 0135103835Publication Date: 2010-08-19
Collision Blast Basic Auto Body and Paint Training by
This book includes access to our web enhanced training website. Quizzes and certificates of completion available on the website to assess your progress. By reading this book you will learn from years of experience, but more importantly, you will eliminate many of the common mistakes that I see made as an instructor and mistakes that I have made along the way. I have also produced and included many of my free training videos and I have searched the internet for additional relevant videos and other resources that I believe will help you learn how to repair and paint your car or reach whatever your training goal is. You will also gain access to my web enhanced course that will help you excel through your training process. *Module 1 - Safety*Module 2 - Vehicle History*Module 3 - Metal Straightening*Module 4 - Body Fillers: Fiberglass Fillers*Module 5 - Welding*Module 6 - Plastic Repair*Module 7 - Preparation: Sanding, Masking, Primer*Module 8 - Paint: Spray Guns, *Module 9 - Paint: Sealer, Base Coat, Clear Coat*Module 10 - Detailing*Module 11 - Paint Defects and Other ConsiderationsResources*Resources For Modules (Additional Information)*Industry Resources (For Technicians, Managers and Business Owners)*Instructor Resources (For Instructors)*Career (Career Information and Industry Associations)*Estimating*Products (Supplies, Tools, Other)*DIY Mechanical (For The Do It Yourself Enthusiast)*Student Resources*Changing The Perception Of AutoBody 101 and More!
Call Number: TL 255 .S66 2011 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781460914922Publication Date: 2011-02-08
Selected eBooks on Automotive Repair and Technology
Automotive Rust Repair and Prevention by
Automotive Rust Repair and Prevention details how to repair common auto-rust issues and covers all the tools and techniques for addressing this ever-present problem. Detailed instructions and step-by-step projects cover the latest information on repair strategies, whether you're dealing with a late-model car, an aging daily driver, or restoring a classic. From identifying the issue to creating a repair plan and from stopping rust in its tracks to preventing its return, Automotive Rust Repair and Prevention is your one-stop guide for dealing with the brown menace.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780760358993Publication Date: 2018-06-19
How to Rebuild Any Automotive Engine by
A part of CarTech's Workbench Series, How to Rebuild Any Automotive Engine covers the basics of any engine rebuild in more than 400 photos of step-by-step instruction. Subjects covered include preparation and tool requirements, engine removal, engine disassembly, machine work and clean-up, short-block assembly, final engine assembly, installation, start-up, and break in. Also visited are the options of purchasing crate engines, remanufactured engines, and performance upgrades. This book applies to all cars on the road that feature an internal combustion engine.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781613250259Publication Date: 2020
Brake Repair by
In Brake Repair: How to Diagnose, Fix, or Replace Your Car's Brakes Step-By-Step, ASE technician and professional instructor Steven Cartwright takes you through the entire process of servicing your car's brakes to like-new condition. Ten informative chapters cover everything you will need to know, including chapters on brake history, an overview of function, types of brakes, power assist, troubleshooting, electronic controls such as ABS, and finally, a complete chapter showing you how to do an entire brake job in step-by-step color photos. With traditional dealership labor rates hovering around $125 per hour these days, it is easy for a standard four-wheel disc brake job to cost close to $1,000 when all is said and done. With the help of this book, you will be able to competently and confidently complete the task in similar fashion for less than half the cost, paying for this book many times over the very first time you use it.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781613255117Publication Date: 2020-02-17
Expert Recommendations
Auto Body Repair Technology by
The industry-leading textbook for collision repair and refinishing is now updated to the NATEF 2006 Collision Repair and Refinish Program Standards. Written with clearer explanations and more detail than any other collision repair learning tool on the market, Auto Body Repair Technology, Fifth Edition delves into all aspects of collision repair, from initial collision evaluation, to estimating, to final paint detailing. And because the book is written by a leading author in the auto body field, readers will feel confident that they are learning skills and procedures that incorporate the latest advances in materials and methods.
Call Number: TL 255 .D86 2009 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781418073534Publication Date: 2008-01-28
Auto Repair for Dummies by
Auto Repair For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781119543619) was previously published as Auto Repair For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9780764599026). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. The top-selling auto repair guide--400,000 copies sold--now extensively reorganized and updated Forty-eight percent of U.S. households perform at least some automobile maintenance on their own, with women now accounting for one third of this $34 billion automotive do-it-yourself market. For new or would-be do-it-yourself mechanics, this illustrated how-to guide has long been a must and now it's even better. A complete reorganization now puts relevant repair and maintenance information directly after each automotive system overview, making it much easier to find hands-on fix-it instructions. Author Deanna Sclar has updated systems and repair information throughout, eliminating discussions of carburetors and adding coverage of hybrid and alternative fuel vehicles. She's also revised schedules for tune-ups and oil changes, included driving tips that can save on maintenance and repair costs, and added new advice on troubleshooting problems and determining when to call in a professional mechanic. For anyone who wants to save money on car repairs and maintenance, this book is the place to start. Deanna Sclar (Long Beach, CA), an acclaimed auto repair expert and consumer advocate, has contributed to the Los Angeles Times and has been interviewed on the Today show, NBC Nightly News, and other television programs.
Call Number: TL152 .S422 2019 (Camden)ISBN: 9781119543619Publication Date: 2019-01-07
Diagnosis and Troubleshooting of Automotive Electrical, Electronic, and Computer Systems by
Comprehensive, yet easy-to-read, this book includes both automotive electrical as well as engine performance topics all in one book. It presents principles and practices of diagnosis and troubleshooting of automotive electrical, electronic, and computer systems in a clear, concise format and at a level of detail that far exceeds most similar books. This book no longer comes with a CD-ROM. An interactive, multi-media program at www.pearsoned.com/autostudent, brings to life the sights and sounds of the "whys" and "hows" of all phases of diagnosis and troubleshooting. Focused on automotive electrical as well as engine performance topics, this book presents principles and practices of diagnosis and troubleshooting of automotive electrical, electronic, and computer systems, as well as service information and environmental concerns. Includes updated coverage on OBD 11, evaporative emissions and fuel injection plus scope testing of components, Gel and AGM batteries, as well as the latest coil-on-plug, waste spark, compression sensing and ion sensing ignition systems.
Call Number: TL 272 .H223 2006 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780131133273Publication Date: 2005-10-01
How Cars Work by
How Cars Work is a completely illustrated primer describing the 250 most important car parts and how they work. This mini test book includes wonderfully simple line drawings and clear language to describe all the automotive systems as well as a glossary, index, and a test after each chapter. How Cars Work provides the basic vocabulary and mechanical knowledge to help a reader talk intelligently with mechanics understand shop manuals, and diagnosis car problems. Tom Newton guides the reader with a one topic per page format that delivers information in bite size chunks, just right for teenage boys. How Cars Work was the most stolen book at Kennedy High School in Richmond California Teachers like our title and so do librarians. The History channel, Modern Marvels-2000, Actuality Productions, Inc is using How Cars Work to train staff for a documentary on automobiles.
Call Number: TL 146 .N48 1999 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780966862300Publication Date: 1999-04-01
