Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
A Short Course in Medical Terminology by
Retaining its logical organization, body systems approach, and focus on word parts, word building, and word analysis; this Fourth Edition of A Short Course in Medical Terminology reflects current medical usage and is now even more concise, student-friendly, and accessible. This edition features an enhanced art and design program, a more standardized chapter structure, and a vast array of in-text and online learning resources that help students master the language of medicine as they prepare for practice in today's rapidly changing healthcare environment.
Call Number: R123 .C594 2019 (Golden Isles & Waycross)ISBN: 1496351479Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Medical Terminology for Dummies by
Take the intimidation out of medical terminology Every job in the medical field needs some background in medical terminology. From the check-in desk to the doctor to the pharmaceutical sales rep, and everyone around and in between, healthcare professionals and those in adjacent fields use a common and consistent vocabulary to improve quality, safety, and efficiency. Medical Terminology For Dummies is a powerful resource for current and prospective healthcare professionals. It provides different ways to memorize the words and their meanings, including ideas for study materials, flash cards, quizzes, mind maps, and games. Plus, you'll discover how to identify, pronounce, define, and apply words in proper context. Grasp the standardized language of medicine Find the easiest way to remember tongue-twisting terms Benefit from lots of definitions and examples Understand, retain, and put this knowledge to use If you're one of the millions of professionals hoping to succeed in this booming field, this book gets you talking the talk so you can walk the walk!
Call Number: R 123 .H396 2020 (Camden & Waycross)ISBN: 1119625475Publication Date: 2019-12-05
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Call Number: R123 .M394 2018 (Waycross, Jesup, & Online)ISBN: 9781496374073Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Selected eBooks
Encyclopedia of Medical Terminology by
The book is an encyclopedic dictionary of all fields of study and research in medicine. In fact, it is a broad collection of over 127 special dictionaries containing terms of all medical titles and specialties with common alphabetical order that have been carefully selected from professionally relevant websites.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781536167979Publication Date: 2020-02-03
EMS Terminology by
Essential quick reference to the terminology you need as a student or professional in the emergency medical services field. This is the most convenient and durable format available whether in school or on the job. In 6 laminated pages William (Bill) Dino, MS, NRP, former instructor for ACLS, PALS and CPR, professor of paramedicine and current owner of Red to Black editing has used his experience as an educator and author to provide a powerful tool to help those who have made it their mission in life to help others. The success of the QuickStudy EMT - Emergency Medical Technician guide and the rave reviews of how that guide helped so many inspired more guides that we can offer at the best price anywhere for this much information at your fingertips. 6 page laminated guide includes: Essential terms with definitions from A to Z Illustrations and Diagrams
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781423244196Publication Date: 2020-05-01
Introduction to Healthcare for Spanish-Speaking Interpreters and Translators by
This book is based on the very popular international publication (Crezee, 2013) and has been supplemented with Spanish glossaries. Just like the 2013 textbook, this practical resource will allow interpreters and translators to quickly read up on healthcare settings, familiarizing themselves with anatomy, physiology, medical terminology and frequently encountered conditions, diagnostic tests and treatment options. It is an exceptionally useful and easily accessible handbook, in particular for interpreters, translators, educators and other practitioners working between Spanish and English. A special chapter on the US insurance system adds even more value for those in the US. The extensive English-Spanish glossaries will be very useful to Spanish speaking practitioners, and may also be beneficial to those working with other Romance languages, as the Spanish terms may serve as a trigger to help identify cognates. Where terms are most commonly used in a particular part of the Spanish speaking world, an abbreviation has been added to indicate which country it may be found in. This helps ensure that terms reflect usage in different parts of the Americas, and also in Spain.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789027212214Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Selected Videos
- HST-MT: Pronouncing Medical TerminologyAs we discussed in the introduction to this series, understanding medical terminology can seem a bit challenging. We learned though that it doesn't have to be. There are some tricks to simplify the learning process. In this CTE Health Sciences video we will explore some basic guidelines to help with pronunciation of Medical Terminology.
- HST-MT: Medical Terminology of the Lymphatic SystemThis CTE Health Sciences video covers proper use, pronunciation and definitions of medical terminology pertaining to the Lymphatic System. Rather than opening up a book and trying to learn all the medical terminology out there; CTE Skills, in our Anatomy and Physiology series, feel the best method to learn them is to study them in conjunction with the body systems. Learn how to pronounce, define, properly use and understand Medical Terminology pertaining to the Lymphatic System.