Library Databases
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.
- Lexis[Student subscriptions required] A comprehensive source of legal information that includes federal and state case law, statutes, administrative codes, law reviews, reference works, and more.
- OxResearchThis database provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally, it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints in Context provides information on important current news events. The GALILEO database can help with writing a critical essay, researching a paper, or preparing for a debate. This database covers a variety of reference materials, commentaries, and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia.
Selected Journals
- ABA Journal of Labor & Employment Law The ABA Journal of Labor & Employment Law is distributed three times each year to all members of the Section. The Journal (formerly The Labor Lawyer) has been published since 1985. The Journal is committed to providing balanced discussions of current developments in labor and employment law to meet the practical needs of attorneys, judges, administrators, and the public. Articles published in the Journal reflect the diversity of practice areas and perspectives in the Section.
- ABA Journal Flagship publication of the American Bar Association, published 6 times a year. Read by more than half of the nation's 1.1 million lawyers. The ABA Journal covers the trends, people and finances of the legal profession from Wall Street to Main Street to Pennsylvania Avenue.
- Administrative Law Review The Administrative Law Review (ISSN 0001-8368) is published quarterly by the student staff members of the Administrative Law Review at American University Washington College of Law and the Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice of the American Bar Association.
- American Criminal Law Review A quarterly journal covering developments and issues in United States constitutional and criminal law. Publishes articles contributed by scholars and practitioners, and notes written by the student staff. Also publishes the Annual Survey of White Collar Crime, a guide to developments in the field of white collar crime.
- American Journal of International Law A scholarly journal publishing articles and commentary on international law and international relations. Focuses on all aspects of private and public international law and provides discussion of international judicial decisions, international organizations, foreign-relations law, and international conventions and protocols. Includes book reviews and a current events section.
Free Case Law
- Google ScholarMake sure to select "Legal Documents." There is also an advanced search option available by clicking the arrow at the end of the search box.
- JustiaJustia provides free case law, codes, regulations and legal information for lawyers, business, students and consumers world wide.
- FindlawFind trusted, free legal information, news, DIY forms and access to local lawyers.
Finding Cases in LexisNexis
LexisNexis Academic: Finding Landmark US Cases video available to view above.
Related LibGuide:
Online Resources
- Georgia CodeThe Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) provided by LexisNexis. The full text of the Code is searchable and browsable.
- Justice 101 - Steps In The Federal Criminal ProcessFrom the Offices of the United State Attorneys, the nation's principal litigators under the direction of the Attorney General.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceThe National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- National Institute of JusticeThe research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues.
- USA.govPortal to government information at the federal, state, and local levels.