GALILEO Search
Journals
- Academic Medicine The official monthly, peer-reviewed journal of the Association of American Medical Colleges serves as an international forum for the exchange of ideas, information, and strategies to address the major challenges facing the academic medicine community as it strives to carry out its missions in the public interest. The journal’s areas of focus include: education and training issues; health and science policy; institutional policy, management, and values; research practice; and clinical practice in academic settings.
- ACP Journal Club ACP Journal Club helps you stay current with the latest evidence-based clinical information relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties. Reviewing over 120 leading medical journals, this monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine contains an editorial, easy to read abstracts, and a page of other notable articles. All ACP members have free access to the online version of Journal Club. Non-member subscribers who receive Annals of Internal Medicine also have free access to the online version of Journal Club.
- Advance in Medicine Advances in Medicine publishes original research articles and review articles on recent advances in medicine and related disciplines. The journal focuses on diagnostic and imaging techniques, as well as drug design and development.
- American Journal of Nursing The American Journal of Nursing is the oldest and most honored broad-based nursing journal in the world. Peer-reviewed and evidence-based, it is considered the profession’s premier journal. AJN adheres to journalistic standards that require transparency of real and potential conflicts of interests that authors, editors, and reviewers may have. It follows publishing standards set by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE; www.icmje.org), the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME; www.wame.org), and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE; http://publicationethics.org/). AJN welcomes submissions of evidence-based clinical application papers and descriptions of best clinical practices, original research and QI reports, case studies, narratives, commentaries, and other manuscripts on a variety of clinical and professional topics. The journal also welcomes submissions for its various departments and columns, including artwork and poetry that is relevant to nursing or health care. Guidelines on writing for specific departments—Art of Nursing, Viewpoint, Policy, and Politics, and Reflections—are available at http://AJN.edmgr.com.
- International Journal of Nursing Practice The International Journal of Nursing Practice is a fully refereed journal publishing original research and scholarship that advances the international understanding and development of nursing both as a profession and academic discipline. We focus on research and professional discussion papers with a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base. The primary criteria for acceptance are excellence, international relevance and clarity - we aim to be an accessible forum for a wide and diverse nursing readership.
- The Journal of Nursing Administration JONA™ is the authoritative source of information on developments and advances in patient care leadership. Content is geared to nurse executives, directors of nursing, and nurse managers in hospital, community health, and ambulatory care environments. Practical, innovative, and solution-oriented articles provide the tools and data needed to excel in executive practice in changing healthcare systems: leadership development; human, material, and financial resource management and relationships; systems, business, and financial strategies. All articles are peer-reviewed, selected and developed with the guidance of a distinguished group of editorial advisors.
- Journal of Nursing Care Quality Journal of Nursing Care Quality (JNCQ) is a peer-reviewed journal that provides practicing nurses as well as nurses who have leadership roles in nursing care quality programs with useful information regarding the application of quality principles and concepts in the practice setting. The journal offers a forum for the scholarly discussion of “real world” implementation of quality activities.
- Journal of Nursing Management Journal of Nursing Management is an international forum which informs and advances the discipline of nursing management and leadership.
Medical Assisting Databases
- Alt HealthWatchAlt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
- CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website offers a variety of options for researching current health issues including, up-to-date information on current diseases and illnesses, vaccine information, general health information, safety, and wellness. Information is available not only for consumers, but for health care professionals as well. Access to statistical data and CDC publications is available.
- Consumer Health Database (ProQuest)ProQuest Consumer Health Database covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context; from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
- Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)ProQuest Health and Medical Complete offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals, including many indexed in MEDLINE. Clinical researchers can access high-impact titles including Lancet, New England Journal of Medicine, Nature titles and more. Conducting searches on the ProQuest platform helps derive relevant clinical data quicker; the deep indexing of records means that core research findings usually hidden in images and figures within articles come to the fore as part of researcher's search results.
- Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)ProQuest Health Management is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics.
- MEDLINE (at EBSCOhost)MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Merck Manual (Consumer Version)Merck Manuals Consumer Version offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy, written in everyday language.
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. The site allows researchers to search across several databases (see a full list of the databases).
- Nursing & Allied Health PremiumDesigned to support the teaching, learning, and research needs of nursing and allied health students and educators. Nursing & Allied Health Premium combines the Nursing & Allied Health Database and Alexander Street's Nursing Education in Video into an ever-growing collection within an immersive, discipline-specific experience.
- OvidSPOvidSP provides full-text journals and ebooks on nursing, medicine, and other health topics.