Stingray Library Catalog Search
Books on Engineering Technology
2020 Journeyman Electrician Exam Questions and Study Guide by
The 2020 Journeyman study guide will help you prepare for the exam by providing 12 practice open book exams and 2 Final Closed Book Exams. This book also covers most topics that are included on all Journeyman Electricians exams such as conductor sizing and protection, motors, transformers, voltage drop, over-current protection and residential and commercial load calculations. The text contains the most widely used electrical calculations and formulas the reader needs to pass the Journeyman electrical competency exam.About the AuthorRay Holder has worked in the electrical industry for more than 40 years as an apprentice, journeyman, master, field engineer, estimator, business manager, contractor, inspector, and instructor. He is a graduate of Texas State University and holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Occupational Education. A certified instructor of electrical trades, he has been awarded a lifetime teaching certificate from the Texas Education Agency in the field of Vocational Education. Mr. Holder has taught thousands of students at Austin Community College; Austin Texas Odessa College at Odessa, Texas; Technical-Vocational Institute of Albuquerque, New Mexico; Howard College at San Angelo, Texas, and in the public school systems in Fort Worth and San Antonio, Texas. He is currently Director of Education for Electrical Seminars, Inc. of San Marcos, Texas. Mr. Holder is an active member of the National Fire Protection Association, International Association of Electrical Inspectors, and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.
Call Number: TK169 .H45 2019 (Camden)ISBN: 9798617786356Publication Date: 2020-02-24
Electrician's Licensing Exam Power Practice by
Most states require electrical licensure for to become an electrician. Part of the licensing process includes passing an exam which tests the knowledge of the National Electric Code and electrical theory. This code is updated every 3 years. This guide reflects the newly updated NFPA 70 National Electric Codes. Inside you will find information about the certification process, along with 5 full-length practice exams and access to an instantly scored online exam. All questions have detailed answer explanations, making this book the most powerful and comprehensive practice available
Call Number: TK169 .A75 2017 (Golden Isles & Waycross)ISBN: 9781611030938Publication Date: 2017-06-01
HVAC Equations, Data, and Rules of Thumb, Third Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. "Tricks of the Trade" For State-of-the-Art HVAC Design on Construction Jobs of Any Size! This fully revised, industry-standard handbook presents a wealth of HVAC design information encompassing all types of facilities--from offices and hospitals to commercial spaces and computer rooms. Written in an outline format for ease of use, this practical reference offers hundreds of field-tested equations and rules of thumb and features all-new coverage of the latest building components and materials. HVAC Equations, Data, and Rules of Thumb, Third Edition, reflects all the latest changes to the codes and standards used in the industry―including ASHRAE, ICC, NEC, and NFPA―and clearly shows how to interpret and put them to use. This thoroughly updated third edition covers: * Definitions * Equations * Rules of Thumb for Cooling, Heating, Infiltration, Ventilation, Humidification, People/Occupancy, Lighting, and Appliance/Equipment * Cooling and Heating Load Factors * Design Conditions and Energy Conservation * HVAC System Selection Criteria * Air Distribution Systems * Piping Systems, Including Plastic Piping * Central Plant Equipment (Air-Handling Units, Chillers, Boilers, Cooling Towers, Heat Exchangers) * Sustainability Guidelines * New Technologies for HVAC * Noise and Vibration Control * Architectural, Structural, and Electrical Considerations * Properties of Air and Water * Auxiliary Equipment (Fans, Pumps, Motors, Controllers, Variable-Frequency Drives, Filters, Insulation, Fire-Stopping) * Automatic Temperature Controls/Building Automation Systems * Building Construction Business Fundamentals * Architectural, Structural, and Electrical Information * Conversion Factors * Designer's Checklist * Professional Societies and Trade Organizations * References and Design Manuals * Cleanroom Criteria and Standards
Call Number: TH225 .B45 2016 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780071829595Publication Date: 2015-12-21
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition by
Up-to-date coverage of every facet of electric power in a single volume This fully revised, industry-standard resource offers practical details on every aspect of electric power engineering. The book contains in-depth discussions from more than 100 internationally recognized experts. Generation, transmission, distribution, operation, system protection, and switchgear are thoroughly explained. Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Seventeenth Edition, features brand-new sections on measurement and instrumentation, interconnected power grids, smart grids and microgrids, wind power, solar and photovoltaic power generation, electric machines and transformers, power system analysis, operations, stability and protection, and the electricity market. Coverage includes: * Units, symbols, constants, definitions, and conversion factors * Measurement and instrumentation * Properties of materials * Interconnected power grids * AC and DC power transmission * Power distribution * Smart grids and microgrids * Wind power generation * Solar power generation and energy storage * Substations and switch gear * Power transformers, generators, motors, and drives * Power electronics * Power system analysis, operations, stability, and protection * Electricity markets * Power quality and reliability * Lightning and overvoltage protection * Computer applications in the electric power industry * Standards in electrotechnology, telecommunications, and IT
Call Number: TK151 .S826 2018 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781259642586Publication Date: 2018-01-08
Selected eBooks
Basic Electrical and Instrumentation Engineering by
Electrical and instrumentation engineering is changing rapidly, and it is important for the veteran engineer in the field not only to have a valuable and reliable reference work which he or she can consult for basic concepts, but also to be up to date on any changes to basic equipment or processes that might have occurred in the field. Covering all of the basic concepts, from three-phase power supply and its various types of connection and conversion, to power equation and discussions of the protection of power system, to transformers, voltage regulation, and many other concepts, this volume is the one-stop, "go to" for all of the engineer's questions on basic electrical and instrumentation engineering. There are chapters covering the construction and working principle of the DC machine, all varieties of motors, fundamental concepts and operating principles of measuring, and instrumentation, both from a "high end" point of view and the point of view of developing countries, emphasizing low-cost methods. A valuable reference for engineers, scientists, chemists, and students, this volume is applicable to many different fields, across many different industries, at all levels. It is a must-have for any library.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119764465Publication Date: 2021-01-13
Crosscutting Concepts by
Maybe you have a good grasp of disciplinary core ideas and science and engineering practices-- critical parts of the Next Generation Science Standards-- but you are looking for more resources about integrating crosscutting concepts (CCCs). Or maybe you understand CCCs but want to know more about how to make them part of your students' toolkit for exploring science phenomena or engineering problems, both now and in the future. Regardless of your needs, Crosscutting Concepts is your guide. It shows how to design and implement three-dimensional instruction for all students by understanding the potential of CCCs to strengthen science and engineering teaching and learning. Crosscutting Concepts helps you do the following: * Grasp the foundational issues that undergird crosscutting concepts. You' ll find out how CCCs can change your instruction, engage your students, and broaden access and inclusion of all students into your science classroom. * Gain in-depth insights into individual crosscutting concepts. You' ll learn how to use each CCC across disciplines, understand the challenges students face in learning CCCs, and adopt exemplary teaching strategies. * Discover how CCCs can strengthen the way you teach key topics in science. These topics include the nature of matter, plant growth, and weather and climate, as well as engineering design. * Understand related implications for science teaching. These topics include student assessment and teacher professional collaboration. Throughout Crosscutting Concepts, vignettes drawn from the authors' own classroom experiences will help you put theory into practice. Instructional Applications show how CCCs can strengthen your planning. Classroom Snapshots feature practical ways to use CCCs in discussions and lessons. Useful for teachers at all grade levels, this book will enrich your own understanding while showing you how to use CCCs for both classroom teaching and real-world problem solving.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781681407289Publication Date: 2021-04-30
Electrical Engineering by
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering is an excellent introduction into the areas of electricity, electronic devices and electrochemistry. The book covers aspects of electrical science including Ohm and Kirkoff's laws, P-N junctions, semiconductors, circuit diagrams, magnetic fields, electrochemistry, and devices such as DC motors. This text is useful for students of electrical, chemical, materials, and mechanical engineering.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783110521023Publication Date: 2020-03-23
Practical Guide to International Standardization for Electrical Engineers by
Practical Guide to International Standardization for Electrical Engineering provides a comprehensive guide to the purpose of standards organizations, their relationship to product development and how to use the standardization process for cost-effective new product launch. It covers major standardization organizations in the field of Electrical Engineering offering a general overview of the varying structures of national standardization organizations, their goals and targets. Key questions for standardization are answered giving the reader guidance on how to use national and international standards in the electrical business. When shall the company start to enter standardization? How to evaluate the standardization in relationship to the market success? What are the interactions of innovations and market access? What is the cost of standardization? What are the gains for our experts in standardization? Key features: Provides guidance on how to use national and international standards in the electrical business. Global active standardization bodies featured include IEEE, IEC and CIGRE as well as regional organizations like CENELEC for Europe, SAC for China, DKE for Germany, and ANSI for USA. Case studies demonstrate how standardization affects the business and how it may block or open markets. Explains the multiple connections and influences between the different standardization organizations on international, regional or national levels and regulatory impact to the standardization processes. Two detailed focused case studies, one on Smart Grid and one on Electro-Mobility, show the influence and the work of international standardization. The case studies explain how innovative technical developments are promoted by standards and what are the roles of standardization organizations are. A valuable reference for electrical engineers, designers, developers, test engineers, sales engineers, marketing engineers and users of electrical equipment as well as authorities and business planners to use and work with standards.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119067443Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Expert Recommendations
Structures by
In a book that Business Insider noted as one of the "14 Books that inspired Elon Musk," J.E. Gordon strips engineering of its confusing technical terms, communicating its founding principles in accessible, witty prose. For anyone who has ever wondered why suspension bridges don't collapse under eight lanes of traffic, how dams hold back--or give way under--thousands of gallons of water, or what principles guide the design of a skyscraper, a bias-cut dress, or a kangaroo, this book will ease your anxiety and answer your questions. Structures: Or Why Things Don't Fall Down is an informal explanation of the basic forces that hold together the ordinary and essential things of this world--from buildings and bodies to flying aircraft and eggshells. In a style that combines wit, a masterful command of his subject, and an encyclopedic range of reference, Gordon includes such chapters as "How to Design a Worm" and "The Advantage of Being a Beam," offering humorous insights in human and natural creation. Architects and engineers will appreciate the clear and cogent explanations of the concepts of stress, shear, torsion, fracture, and compression. If you're building a house, a sailboat, or a catapult, here is a handy tool for understanding the mechanics of joinery, floors, ceilings, hulls, masts--or flying buttresses. Without jargon or oversimplification, Structures opens up the marvels of technology to anyone interested in the foundations of our everyday lives.
Call Number: TA645 .G65 2003 (Camden)ISBN: 9780306812835Publication Date: 2003-07-10
The Gecko's Foot by
A cutting-edge science book in the style of 'Fermat's Last Theorem' and 'Chaos' from an exciting and accessible new voice in popular science writing. Bio-inspiration is a form of engineering but not in the conventional sense. Extending beyond our established and preconceived notions, scientists, architects and engineers are looking at imitating nature by manufacturing 'wet' materials such as spider silk or the surface of the gecko's foot. The amazing power of the gecko's foot has long been known - it can climb a vertical glass wall and even walk upside down on the ceiling - but no ideas could be harnessed from it because its mechanism could not be seen with the power of optical microscopes. Recently however the secret was solved by a team of scientists in Oregon who established that the mechanism really is dry, and that it does not involve suction, capillary action or anything else the lay person might imagine. Each foot has half a million bristles and each bristle ramifies into hundreds of finer spatula-shaped projections. The fine scale of the gecko's foot is beyond the capacity of conventional microengineering, but a team of nanotechnologists have already made a good initial approximation. The gecko's foot is just one of many examples of this new 'smart' science. We also discover, amongst other things, how George de Mestral's brush with the spiny fruits of the cocklebur inspired him to invent Velcro; how the shape of leaves opening from a bud has inspired the design of solar-powered satellites; and the parallels between cantilever bridges and the spines of large mammals such as the bison. The new 'smart' science of Bio-inspiration is going to produce a plethora of products over the next decades that will transform our lives, and force us to look at the world in a completely new way. It is science we will be reading about in our papers very soon; it is the science of tomorrow's world.
Call Number: QH513 .F67 2006 (Camden)ISBN: 9780007179893Publication Date: 2006-08-07
Success Through Failure by
From the acclaimed author and engineer, an engaging and lively account of the surprising secret of great design Design pervades our lives. Everything from drafting a PowerPoint presentation to planning a state-of-the-art bridge embodies this universal human activity. But what makes a great design? In this compelling and wide-ranging look at the essence of invention, distinguished engineer and author Henry Petroski argues that, time and again, we have built success on the back of failure--not through easy imitation of success. Success through Failure shows us that making something better--by carefully anticipating and thus averting failure--is what invention and design are all about. Petroski explores the nature of invention and the character of the inventor through an unprecedented range of both everyday and extraordinary examples--illustrated lectures, child-resistant packaging for drugs, national constitutions, medical devices, the world's tallest skyscrapers, long-span bridges, and more. Stressing throughout that there is no surer road to eventual failure than modeling designs solely on past successes, he sheds new light on spectacular failures, from the destruction of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge in 1940 and the space shuttle disasters of recent decades, to the collapse of the World Trade Center in 2001. Petroski also looks at the prehistoric and ancient roots of many modern designs. The historical record, especially as embodied in failures, reveals patterns of human social behavior that have implications for large structures like bridges and vast organizations like NASA. Success through Failure--which will fascinate anyone intrigued by design, including engineers, architects, and designers themselves--concludes by speculating on when we can expect the next major bridge failure to occur, and the kind of bridge most likely to be involved.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780691180991Publication Date: 2018-05-29
How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big by
Blasting clichéd career advice, the contrarian pundit and creator of Dilbert recounts the humorous ups and downs of his career, revealing the outsized role of luck in our lives and how best to play the system. Scott Adams has likely failed at more things than anyone you've ever met or anyone you've even heard of. So how did he go from hapless office worker and serial failure to the creator of Dilbert, one of the world's most famous syndicated comic strips, in just a few years? In How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big, Adams shares the game plan he's followed since he was a teen: invite failure in, embrace it, then pick its pocket. No career guide can offer advice that works for everyone. As Adams explains, your best bet is to study the ways of others who made it big and try to glean some tricks and strategies that make sense for you. Adams pulls back the covers on his own unusual life and shares how he turned one failure after another--including his corporate career, his inventions, his investments, and his two restaurants--into something good and lasting. There's a lot to learn from his personal story, and a lot of entertainment along the way. Adams discovered some unlikely truths that helped to propel him forward. For instance: * Goals are for losers. Systems are for winners. * "Passion" is bull. What you need is personal energy. * A combination of mediocre skills can make you surprisingly valuable. * You can manage your odds in a way that makes you look lucky to others. Adams hopes you can laugh at his failures while discovering some unique and helpful ideas on your own path to personal victory. As he writes: "This is a story of one person's unlikely success within the context of scores of embarrassing failures. Was my eventual success primarily a result of talent, luck, hard work, or an accidental just-right balance of each? All I know for sure is that I pursued a conscious strategy of managing my opportunities in a way that would make it easier for luck to find me."
Call Number: PN6727 .A3 Z46 2014 (Camden)ISBN: 9781591847748Publication Date: 2014-12-30
