Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
Dosage Calculations for Nursing Students by
Do You Want to Learn a Few Simple Methods of Solving Dosage Calculations WITHOUT a Bunch of Formulas? Would you like to raise your hand in your dosage calculation class, after the instructor explains a complicated formula, and ask to approach the white board to show the class a much simpler method? Do you want to go on your clinicals knowing that you have a solid foundation in dosage calculations? Do you want to walk into your Nursing Calculations class on the first day knowing that you can ace all the tests before the course begins? If you answered yes to any of these questions, this book is for you... Unit 1 Covers Essential Skills: The Metric System Apothecary/Avoirdupois/Household Systems Ratios Conversion Factors Unit 2 Covers Auxiliary Subjects: Rounding Numbers Roman Numerals Scientific Notation Military Time Unit 3 Will Teach You One Simple Method to Set Up & Solve All the Following Types of Calculations Using Dimensional Analysis: The Ratio Proportion Method is Also Covered: Unit Conversions Dosage Calculations IV Flow Rate Calculations Percent/Percent Strength/Ratio Strength Calculations Milliequivalent Calculations The book includes plenty of exercises to hone your skills along with a self-assessment exercise! Scroll Up & Get Your Copy Now!
Call Number: RS57 .H37 2018 (Camden, Golden Isles, Jesup)ISBN: 9781725638839Publication Date: 2018-08-16
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy by
Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 5th edition . This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text. Your Incredible Easy editors know from experience that learning the basics isn't always easy so you'll find full coverage of topics including: o math basics such as fractions, decimals, and percentages o measurement systems and conversions o calculating oral, topical, liquid, and rectal drug dosages o calculating parenteral injections and IV infusions o calculating pediatric, obstetric, and critical care dosages o recording drug administration An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content demonstrated with numerous photos, illustrations, and diagrams will give you step-by-step direction on: o calculating dosages of all kinds o starting an infusion, including IV guidelines o choosing administration equipment o dealing with poor handwriting o understanding medication labels and drug Abbreviations o avoiding common drug errors Plus, you'll get all of the learning aids, tips, and tricks that nurses have come to expect from the books in the Incredibly Easy series: * Full-color inserts include: improving patient safety by using infusion devices; the anatomy of a medication label * Appendices include: multiple choice Q&A; drug therapy conversions chart; dosage calculation formulas table; glossary with key terms and definitions * Before you give that drug! - Crucial advice on avoiding medication errors * Advice from the experts - Tips on ensuring accurate dosages * For math phobics only - Hints, tips, and drawings to help you dissolve math obstacles * Dosage drill - Real-life clinical dosage situations to practice your calculation skills on * Memory jogger - Fortifies content with easy-to-remember tips and formulas * Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter to help you remember vital points
Call Number: RS57 .D67 2016 (Golden Isles, Jesup, Waycross, Online)ISBN: 9781496308375Publication Date: 2015-11-14
Mulholland's the Nurse, the Math, the Meds by
Use the simplicity of the dimensional analysis method to make accurate drug calculations! Mulholland's The Nurse, The Math, The Meds, 4th Edition helps you overcome any math anxiety you may have by clearly explaining how to use dimensional analysis to minimize drug calculation errors. It shows how to analyze and set up problems, estimate a reasonable answer, and then evaluate the answer for accuracy. But first, a review of basic math ensures that you remember essential math skills. Updated by nursing educator Susan Turner, this edition includes plenty of practice exercises to help you understand and master each aspect of dimensional analysis. UNIQUE! Useful FAQs and answers in each chapter are based on years of classroom questions compiled by the author. UNIQUE! Communication boxes show sample nurse-patient and nurse-prescriber dialogues, relating the math to the medications and to clinical application. UNIQUE! Ask Yourself questions help you synthesize information and reinforce your comprehension. Rapid Practice quizzes provide practice problems following each new topic, making it easy to master both math concepts and drug calculation at the same time. Mnemonics offer shortcuts to make memorization easier, and save time in learning. Red arrow alerts call attention to potential math errors and patient safety issues. High-risk drug icons are used to highlight potentially dangerous drugs. Multiple choice-format questions at the end of each chapter help you review the material and prepare for the NCLEX® exam. Chapter finals boost your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered in each chapter; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. Comprehensive final practice boosts your understanding by providing additional practice with the major concepts covered through the entire text; the answer key shows how to work out the problems. NEW and Updated! Safety-related procedures and protocols include the newest ISMP, JCAHO, and QSEN safety standards and new content on drug calculations. NEW and Updated! Photos and medication labels ensure that you are up to date on today's medications. NEW! SBAR information describes Situation, Background, Assessment, Recommendation in Metric Units and Conversions chapter. NEW information on health care provider orders is added to Oral Medications chapter. NEW table of insulins and their uses is included in Antidiabetic Medications chapter. NEW content on thrombolytics, clotting inhibitors, anti-platelet aggregants, and herbal supplements is included in Anticoagulant Medications chapter.
Call Number: RS57 .T87 2019 (Jesup, Waycross, Camden)ISBN: 9780323479509Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Practice Calculations for the Nursing Student by
This book is designed to introduce nursing students to dosage calculations at the fundamentals, IV math, and pediatric levels. It includes 150 practice problems in each of the three areas. In each case, not only is the answer to the problem given, but also the setup of the problem needed to reach that answer. In that way, if you get a problem wrong, you can see where in the setup you went wrong. Correct dosage calculation is vital in nursing practice, for the safety of our patients. This book was written to help increase competency and confidence, and to prepare students for the dosage calculation exams required during nursing school. It provides the tools to perform accurate dosage calculations both while in nursing school, and out into nursing practice after graduation.
Call Number: RS57 .R346 2019 (Jesup)ISBN: 9781733838481Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Selected eBooks
Demystifying Opioid Conversion Calculations by
Introduction to opioid conversion calculations -- Converting among routes and formulations of the same opioid -- Converting among routes and formulations of different opioids -- Titrating opioid regimens : around the clock and to the rescue! -- Transdermal and parenteral fentanyl dosage calculations and conversions -- Methadone : a complex and challenging analgesic, but it's worth it! -- Patient-controlled analgesia and neuraxial opioid therapy -- Calculating doses from oral solutions and suspensions -- Lagniappe : a little something extra in conversion calculations.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781585284313Publication Date: 2018-09-30
Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms by
The study of pharmaceutical dosage forms has many connections to biological and medical sciences including physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, therapeutics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacognosy. Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms is a collection of terms and definitions prepared to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care. It can also provide reference material for hospital and medical staff, consultants, nursing instructors, and pharmaceutical science students. This first edition classifies and organizes the forms in an easily readable format, so readers will find it a quick and simple reference. Features Collects terms and definitions to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care Focuses on product dosage forms and includes supplementary information, providing readers, particularly pharmacy and medical students and professionals, insights into choices of dosage forms made during drug product development Offers information on the indications, contraindications, side effects, and more, for a given drug Classifies and organizes the forms in a readable format, providing a quick and simple reference
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781138065796Publication Date: 2020-11-12
Dosage Forms by
Dosage forms are pharmaceutical formulation products in the form in which they are presented in the market. They are a crucial component of contemporary pharmaceutical research. The field of dosage forms is large and diverse and includes everything from conventional solid and liquid dosage forms to more recent innovations like nanoparticles and gene therapy. This book provides a comprehensive overview of dosage forms, including their formulation and development. Chapters address such topics as novel dosage forms in ophthalmic applications, orally disintegrating tablets, layered tablets, pharmacokinetics and pharmacogenomics, and much more.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781803552101Publication Date: 2023
