Criminal Justice

ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

The Georgia Code, hosted by LexisNexis, is the compilation of the currently enforcable laws of the state of Georgia. The database is searchable by keyword and by code number. The code can also be browsed by title, chapter, and section.

Developed in 1996 as GALILEO's first digital conversion initiative and redesigned in 2009, the Georgia Government Publications (GGP) database serves as a digital repository of over 44,000 documents and publications released by agencies of Georgia's executive branch. The majority of the documents are scanned images; however, with the passing of an amendment to the law (O.C.G.A. 20-5-2) in 2000 requiring state agencies to submit publications in electronic format a greater percentage of searchable pdf files are included in the database and are noted as electronic text. Coverage encompasses audit reports, budget documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation. In addition to archiving Georgia state publications from 1994 to the present, the Georgia Government Publications database is currently adding pre-1994 serials on an ongoing basis.

Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.

The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond their publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Their advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and they support local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.

Points of View Reference Center contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue. This database provides content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma, and Violence & Abuse. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1995.