eBooks
Construction Robotics by
Construction Robotics examines various aspects of Construction Robotics including an extensive historical overview of Construction Robotics and related issues. It includes The Basics of Construction Industry, History of Robotics in Construction, Economic Consideration of Robotic Implementation. Provides the reader with insights into the development of its development, so as to understand the rise of construction robotics in the industry and the crucial role they play in speed, accuracy and safety, when it comes to design complicated structures.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781773614021Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Crafting Meaningful Funeral Rituals by
Funerals are among the most important life events in Western society, and fashioning a personalized ceremony for yourself or for a loved one is often the most meaningful way to celebrate the life of the deceased. For those wanting non-religious or secular funeral ceremonies, this step-by-step guide begins by identifying what you want from the funeral and showing how you can make it happen. With sections on society's views of mortality, our need for rituals and crafting the actual ceremony, this guide provides the tools and philosophy to understand, plan and tailor a funeral for individuals. Includes all the tools necessary for the creation of a ceremony, such as a Ritual Profiles, checklists, and many other handy resources.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781785923890Publication Date: 2019-11-21
The Decarbonization Imperative by
Time is of the essence. Climate change looms as a malignant force that will reshape our economy and society for generations to come. If we are going to avoid the worst effects of climate change, we are going to need to effectively "decarbonize" the global economy by 2050. This doesn't mean a modest, or even a drastic, improvement in fuel efficiency standards for automobiles. It means 100 percent of the cars on the road being battery-powered or powered by some other non-carbon-emitting powertrain. It means 100 percent of our global electricity needs being met by renewables and other non-carbon-emitting sources such as nuclear power. It means electrifying the global industrials sector and replacing carbon-intensive chemical processes with green alternatives, eliminating scope-one emissions--emissions in production--across all industries, particularly steel, cement, petrochemicals, which are the backbone of the global economy. It means sustainable farming while still feeding a growing global population. Responding to the existential threat of climate change, Michael Lenox and Rebecca Duff propose a radical reconfiguration of the industries contributing the most, and most harmfully, to this planetary crisis. Disruptive innovation and a particular calibration of industry dynamics will be key to this change. The authors analyze precisely what this might look like for specific sectors of the world economy--ranging from agriculture to industrials and building, energy, and transportation--and examine the possible challenges and obstacles to introducing a paradigm shift in each one. With regards to existent business practices and products, how much and what kind of transformation can be achieved? The authors assert that markets are critical to achieving the needed change, and that they operate within a larger scale of institutional rules and norms. Lenox and Duff conclude with an analysis of policy interventions and strategies that could move us toward clean tech and decarbonization by 2050.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781503614789Publication Date: 2021-10-19
Introduction to Real Estate Development and Finance by
This book provides readers with a basic understanding of the principles that underlie real estate development. A brief historical overview and an introduction to basic principles are followed by examples from practice. Case studies focus on how cities change and respond to the economic, technological, social, and political forces that shape urban development in North America. It is important to have a framework for understanding the risks and rewards in real estate investing. In measuring return, consideration must be given to both investment appreciation and the cash flow generated over the life of a project. In addition, metrics are presented that can be useful in assessing the financial feasibility of a real estate development proposal. This book also provides an overview of the forces of supply and demand that gauge the potential market for a new project. In determining the size of "residual demand", estimates for population growth, family formation, and new development are important. All development projects fall under the auspices of one or several jurisdictions. Though every jurisdiction has different rules and procedures, basic knowledge of the planning process is critical to the success of all development projects regardless of location. Furthermore, all projects have a legal component. Basic issues of land ownership, property rights, property transfer, and land registration are reviewed, all of which need to be considered when a property is sold or purchased. This book also provides a primary on the design and construction process. In constructing a building, a team of experts is first required to design the architectural, structural, and heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems for a building. An overview is provided of each building system: wood, concrete, and steel. Critical to a successful real estate development, project management principles for the processes of design, bidding, and construction are explored, with close attention given to budgeting, scheduling, and resource management. Essential reading for anyone involved in the development of our built environment, this is a must-read introduction for students and professionals in architecture, urban planning, engineering or real estate seeking an approachable and broad view of real estate development and finance.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781138602458Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Videos for Online Courses
- Playing the GuitarIn this program, John James, one of Britain’s top fingerstyle guitarists, shows viewers the basics of playing the six-string acoustic guitar. Subjects include types of guitars; the parts of the guitar; replacing strings; how to hold acoustic and electric guitars; tuning; strumming and fretting; left- and right-hand fingering; notes and intervals; bending notes and vibrato; chord diagrams, tablature, and keeping time; scales; the C, G7, D7, G Major, and C7 chords; triad arpeggios; how to improvise simple songs; and playing the blues. The program concludes with a performance by James.
- Writing NarrativesThis informative program exposes areas of narrative writing that most frequently pose challenges for beginners, providing tips and techniques for authoring a good read. Viewers learn how to create well-rounded characters, complete with motivations and character flaws; techniques for establishing tone and mood; and how to capture attention starting on page one. The video also covers writing realistic dialogue, developing a good plot line, building tension, and arriving at a successful ending. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online.