Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
Chemistry by
Have you ever wondered what makes up everything in the world around you? Or what exactly is the difference between solids, liquids, and gases? Have you wanted to know what causes two substances to react or change? Chemistry: Investigate the Matter that Makes Up Your World introduces readers 12 through 15 to the fascinating world of protons, neutrons, and electrons. Learn how these molecules combine to form ordinary objects such as the chair you're sitting on, the water in your glass, even you! Through hands-on, investigative projects, readers delve into the world of chemical reactions and changing matter, learning how these principles are used in many areas of science, from biochemistry to nuclear science. Combining hands-on science inquiry with chemistry, mathematics, and biology, projects include building models of molecules and bonds, identifying acids and bases, investigating the effect of temperature on reaction rate, and observing how a chemical reaction from vinegar, water, and bleach can accelerate the rusting of steel.Chemistry offers entertaining illustrations and fascinating sidebars to illuminate the topic and engage readers further, plus integrates a digital learning component by providing links to primary sources, videos, and other relevant websites.
Call Number: QD35 .M58 2016 (Golden Isles & Online)ISBN: 9781619303614Publication Date: 2016-05-10
A Dictionary of Chemistry by
Fully revised and updated, the seventh edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 5000 entries--over 175 new to this edition--it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. The seventh edition boasts broader coverage in areas such as nuclear magnetic resonance, polymer chemistry, nanotechnology and graphene, and absolute configuration, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these fields. New diagrams have been added and existing diagrams updated to illustrate topics that would benefit from a visual aid. There are also biographical entries on key figures, featured entries on major topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
Call Number: QD5 .D53 2016 (Waycross)ISBN: 0198722826Publication Date: 2016-03-21
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition by
The iconic chemistry handbook--extensively updated and thoroughly up to date The standard reference for chemists for more than 70 years, this resource contains vast amounts of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated compendium are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 17th Edition, is divided into six sections--general information and conversion tables, spectroscopy, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, petroleum and petroleum products, biomass and biofuels, and environmental science. Existing tables have been thoroughly overhauled and new tables have been added that cover the properties of coal, minerals, natural gas, oil shale, and petroleum. * Features equations that allow you to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure * Contains newly expanded sections on timely topics, including the properties of petroleum products, the environmental properties of chemicals, and proper clean-up methods * Includes updated viscosity, thermal conductivity, critical constants, explosion limits, and vapor density data
Call Number: QD65 .L36 2017 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781259586095Publication Date: 2016-10-05
Select eBooks
An Introduction to Chemistry by
This publication is an entry-level textbook designed to meet the needs of college students who learned some chemistry in their high school years, but not enough to prepare them for advanced courses in chemistry, or to satisfy the chemistry prerequisite for courses they might want to take in other scientific disciplines. The history of chemistry is emphasized to an unusual degree here primarily to give the narrative a storyline, but its historical emphasis has an important secondary benefit. Much of the vocabulary chemists use to describe chemical phenomena today emerged early in the development of the discipline, when their understanding of them was still in a primitive state. As such, the persistence of these words and the concepts behind them makes sense only in the light of history.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1527545512Publication Date: 2020-03-05Basic Organic Chemistry by Basic Organic Chemistry discusses the basic concept of chemistry as well as organic chemistry. It includes detailed description of organic molecules, functional groups and the nomenclature of the organic molecules. This book also discusses the notion of acids and bases and stereochemistry of the organic molecules along with the description of amino acids, proteins, carbohydrates, alcohol and ethers. It provides the reader with the insights of basic organic chemistry so as to understand the basic organic reactions and the application of spectroscopy to study organic molecules.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781774074244Publication Date: 2019-12-01General Chemistry by This book explains the major concepts associated with general chemistry. It gives an introduction of chemistry covering its importance and applications in daily lives. The book also describes periodic table and atomic properties. It then covers solutions and properties of solutions. The book then describes acids, bases and salts including its properties and its reactions. The book then covers the states of matter. It then describes in detail the concept of chemical bonding. The book then talks about the various concepts associated with electrochemistry. Finally, it describes the units of measurements used in chemistry.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781774074046Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Expert Recommendations
Chemistry: Concepts and Problems by
CHEMISTRY SECOND EDITION The fast, easy way to master the fundamentals of chemistry Have you ever wondered about the differences between liquids,gases, and solids? Or what actually happens when something burns?What exactly is a solution? An acid? A base? This is chemistry--thecomposition and structure of substances composing all matter, andhow they can be transformed. Whether you are studying chemistry forthe first time on your own, want to refresh your memory for a test,or need a little help for a course, this concise, interactive guidegives you a fresh approach to this fascinating subject. This fullyup-to-date edition of Chemistry: Concepts and Problems: * Has been tested, rewritten, and retested to ensure that you canteach yourself all about chemistry * Requires no prerequisites * Lets you work at your own pace with a helpful question-and-answerformat * Lists objectives for each chapter--you can skip ahead or findextra help if you need it * Reinforces what you learn with chapter self-tests
Call Number: QD 31.2 .H66 1996 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9780471121206Publication Date: 1996-03-09
