GALILEO Search
Databases That Will Help You All Semester
- Academic Video Online (AVON)Discover 212 Channels with thousands of videos that touch on every aspect of literature
- Encyclopædia Britannica OnlineThe Encyclopædia Britannica database includes thousands of articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including thousands more that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
- Literature at Films on DemandFilms on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.
- Literary Reference Center PlusLiterary Reference Center Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
- ProQuest One LiteratureProQuest One Literature is the destination for all aspects of literature research, teaching and learning—providing the best tools and content available in the market to support today’s study of literature.
- Salem LiteratureSalem Literature is a robust online database providing access to the Critical Insights series. Critical Insights is a comprehensive series that distills the best of both classic and current literary criticism of the world's most-studied literature. Each volume in the series focuses on an individual author's entire body of work or on a single work of literature. Edited and written by some of academe's most distinguished literary scholars, Critical Insights provides authoritative, indepth scholarship suitable for students and teachers alike.
Stingray Library Catalog Search
Some Helpful E-Books
Poems by
Emily Dickinson (1830 - 1886) was an eccentric, reclusive poet, though born to a family of good standing within their Massachusetts community. She had fewer than a dozen poems published in her lifetime, though posthumously her sister found a cache of nearly eighteen hundred, all of which have now been published. Emily's style was broke with the common forms of poetry at the time, and foreshadowed what was to come. Her work was harshly criticized when first published, but she is now considered one of the American greats.
Call Number: ONLINE ACCESSISBN: 1775415902Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Poems by Walt Whitman by
Walt Whitman is widely regarded as one of the masters of American poetry. Here are collected his finest poems, a perfect companion for any fan of Whitman's work.
Call Number: ONLINE ACCESSISBN: 1473362229Publication Date: 2016
Understanding Maxine Hong Kingston by
Maxine Hong Kingston is known for using a distinctive blend of autobiography, fantasy, and folklore to explore the history, experience, and identity of Chinese Americans. This is exemplified in her first book, The Woman Warrior, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award for nonfiction, a bestseller, and a staple on college and university syllabi. Although The Woman Warrior is by far her most celebrated book, Kingston has penned a wide range of essays, fiction, and poetry, including China Men, Tripmaster Monkey, Hawai'i One Summer, To Be a Poet, The Fifth Book of Peace, I Love a Broad Margin to My Life, and the edited volume Veterans of War, Veterans of Peace.Understanding Maxine Hong Kingston is the first book-length work to examine the entirety of Kingston's literary career, from The Woman Warrior to her most recent volume of poetry. Julia H. Lee weaves together scholarly assessments, interviews, biographical information, and her own critical analysis to provide a complete and complex picture of Kingston's works and its impact on memoir, feminist fiction, Asian American literature, and postmodern literature.Lee examines the influence that previous generations of Asian American authors, feminism, and antiwar activism have had on Kingston's work. Offering important contextual information about Kingston's life, Lee shows how it has so often served as a starting point for Kingston's writing. Also studied are her complex attitudes toward genre, and her ever-evolving identity as a novelist, essayist, memoirist, and poet. A comprehensive bibliography of critical secondary sources will be an invaluable resource for readers and critics of Kingston's works.
Call Number: ONLINE ACCESSISBN: 1611178541Publication Date: 2018-02-28
