ALHS 1040: Introduction to Healthcare: Journals & Databases

CINAHL Complete has over 1300 full-text journals and also provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews, and continuing education modules.

Consumer Health Complete has consumer-oriented health content, including full-text articles from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.

Health Reference Center includes more than 585 educational videos on a wide range of health topics; more than 1,000 searchable and browseable color illustrations; and a Health in the News section with regularly updated health news articles.

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

Merck Manual databases provide detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides information on important current news events. The GALILEO database can help with writing a critical essay, researching a paper, or preparing for a debate. This database covers a variety of reference materials, commentaries, and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. The site allows researchers to search across several databases (see a full list of the databases).

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.

Whatever your goal, PrepSTEP's resources will help you succeed. The GALILEO database has practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and the information needed to achieve the results you want at school, at work, or in life.