Skip to main content

New Books @ CPTC: New Books

Logo for McNaughton book subscription service

Library Services subscribes to McNaughton, giving our students, faculty and staff access to a rotating collection of bestselling fiction and nonfiction leisure reading materials. Media Specialist Linda Lane chooses the books, but we welcome recommendations.

Submit a recommendation form.


Subject Guide

Linda Lane's picture
Linda Lane
Media Specialist
Golden Isles Site
3700 Glynco Parkway
Room 1212
Brunswick, Georgia

New Books / 2018

Book cover art

The Hate U Give

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer.

Book cover art

The Monk of Mokha

The Monk of Mokha is the exhilarating true story of a young Yemeni American man, raised in San Francisco, who dreams of resurrecting the ancient art of Yemeni coffee but finds himself trapped in Sana'a by civil war.

Book cover art

The 57 Bus

One teenager in a skirt. One teenager with a lighter. One moment that changes both of their lives forever. If it weren't for the 57 bus, Sasha and Richard never would have met. Both were high school students from Oakland, California, one of the most diverse cities in the country, but they inhabited different worlds.

Book cover art

Long Way Down

There are three rules in the neighborhood: Don't cry ; Don't snitch ; Get revenge. Will takes his dead brother Shawn's gun, and gets in the elevator on the seventh floor. As the elevator stops on each floor, someone connected to Shawn gets on. Someone already dead. Dead by teenage gun violence. And each has something to share with Will.

Book cover art

The Nowhere Girls

Three misfit girls come together to avenge the rape of a girl none of them knew, and in the process start a movement that transforms the lives of everyone around them.

Book cover art

A Kind of Mirraculas Paradise

A schizophrenic’s autobiographical manuscript serves as a creative-nonfiction project for his niece.

Book cover art

Saint Death

Arturo scrapes by living in Anapra, a neighborhood in Juarez, Mexico. His friend Faustino joined one of the drug gangs. He stole money form the gang to send his girlfriend and her baby into the U.S. -- and he wants Arturo's help replacing the money before the gang kills him. Looming over Arturo's story, and the city of Juarez itself, is Santa Muerte -- Saint Death, watching impassively as people in the border town struggle in the face of a vicious drug trade, dangerous trafficking, corruption, and income inequality.

Book cover art

Jefferson's Daughters

The remarkable untold story of Thomas Jefferson's three daughters -- two white and free, one black and enslaved -- and the divergent paths they forged in a newly independent America.

Book cover art

Still Me

Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure and keep her relationship with Ambulance Sam alive across several thousand miles. She has been hired by the super rich Gopniks: Leonard and his unhappy, much younger second wife, Agnes -- and finds herself amid a never-ending array of household staff and hangers-on. But Lou is determined to get the most out of the experience and throws herself into her job and this very privileged New York life. Soon though, Lou realizes that life in the Gopnik household is not as straightforward as it first seemed.

Book cover art

The Wife

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10 -- in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.