Stingray Library Catalog Search
Selected Books
The Forest Certification Handbook by
First published in 1995, The Forest Certification Handbook has become the landmark book concerning all aspects of forest and wood product certification from policy to business to in-the-field technical issues. Yet since first publication an enormous amount has happened in the field. This new second edition has been entirely rewritten to incorporate the changes over the past decade, and is a complete and up-to-date source of information on all aspects of developing, selecting and operating a forest certification programme that provides both market security and raises standards of forest management.
Call Number: SD 384 .S69 N87 2005 (Waycross & Online)ISBN: 9781844071234Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Introduction to Forestry Science by
Practical, easy to understand, and up-to-date, INTRODUCTION TO FORESTRY SCIENCE, Third Edition provides readers with a comprehensive overview of the principles and practices of forest management that are commonly practiced in the United States. Appropriate for anyone interested in forestry or natural resources, this book is filled with visual aids and tools as well as career profiles which give readers an overview of what it might be like to work in the forest industry and demonstrate how concepts are applied in the real world. In addition to covering the basics of the biological processes necessary for the creation of forests, topics such as the economic impact of forests on the U.S. economy, government historical events and policies, regional differences in forests and forest management, and laws and regulations that govern the use of forests are presented.
Call Number: SD376 .B87 2013 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781111308391Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Mapping Forestry by
Mapping Forestry describes how geographic information system (GIS) software supports the business of forestry in today's era of economic changes, increased global competition, and diminishing resources. In twenty scenarios from the United States, Germany, Brazil, Romania, Finland, and Cambodia, foresters share how they use GIS to manage commercial operations and sustainable stewardship. Forest managers tell how computer-generated maps and GIS analysis help them determine the best places to build roads, whether logging in a particular area is commercially feasible, which fire-damaged areas should be restored first, and more. Mapping Forestry contains 20 chapters of full-color maps, featuring detailed descriptions of the types of GIS analysis that they represent, making it an excellent tool for forestry professionals.
Call Number: SD 431 .M27 2010 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781589482098Publication Date: 2010-01-28
Tree and Forest Measurement by
Forests must be measured if they are to be managed and conserved properly. This book describes the essential principles of modern forest measurement, whether using simple hand-held equipment or sophisticated satellite imagery. It particularly focuses on measuring forest biomass over large forest areas, a key aspect of climate change studies, as well as the volumes of wood that are commercially available. Written in a straightforward style, it will be accessible to anyone who works with forests, from the professional forester to the layperson. It considers not only how and why forests are measured but also the scientific basis of the measurements taken.
Call Number: SD 555 .W37 2004 (Waycross)ISBN: 9783319147079Publication Date: 2004
Selected eBooks
Boreal Forests in the Face of Climate Change by
This open access book explores a new conceptual framework for the sustainable management of the boreal forest in the face of climate change. The boreal forest is the second-largest terrestrial biome on Earth and covers a 14 million km2 belt, representing about 25% of the Earth's forest area. Two-thirds of this forest biome is managed and supplies 37% of global wood production. These forests also provide a range of natural resources and ecosystem services essential to humanity. However, climate change is altering species distributions, natural disturbance regimes, and forest ecosystem structure and functioning. Although sustainable management is the main goal across the boreal biome, a novel framework is required to adapt forest strategies and practices to climate change. This collaborative effort draws upon 148 authors in summarizing the sustainable management of these forests and detailing the most recent experimental and observational results collected from across the boreal biome. It presents the state of sustainable management in boreal forests and highlights the critical importance of this biome in a context of global change because of these forests' key role in a range of natural processes, including carbon sequestration, nutrient cycling, and the maintaining of biodiversity. This book is an essential read for academics, students, and practitioners involved in boreal forest management. It outlines the challenges facing sustainable boreal forest management within the context of climate change and serves as a basis for establishing new research avenues, identifying future research trends, and developing climate-adapted forest management plans.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783031159879Publication Date: 2023-03-02
Ecology and Management of Forest Soils by
Ecology and management of forest soils examines various aspects of forest soils including an extensive forest soils and relatedconcepts. It includes definitions of dynamics of forest soils andbiology. This provides extensive knowledge of components offorest soils. Provides the reader with insights into the developmentof management practices of forest soils, so as to understand the ecology of forest soils and why some places requirebetter attention in terms of sustainability and conservation.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781773618487Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Forestry Science by
The Students of (Forestry), (Horticulture) need a comprehensive and concise book since a long time. The fundamentals and terminology related to forest & forestry, horticulture and agriculture science. This book will also fulfil the need of students admitted in B.Sc. Forestry, Horticulture & Agriculture. The write-up was prepared keeping in mind the need of entrepreneurs indulge in the plantation programme, to facilitate various operations in tree culture, horticultural crop production and post plantation management. The usefulness of the book as a reference book to teachers also needs a mention. This book is an attempt to fulfil the need of ready reference in the form of terminology, definitions, concepts and fundamental description of Forestry and Horticulture to facilitate students, teachers, and professionals of this field. I hope the publication will serve a reference book to the teachers, students, entrepreneurs, and ancillary industrialists associated with production of plants, forest trees, flowers, fruits trees, medicinal plants and wildlife management. The practical aspects of the forest & forestry, plantation and plant production will be looked after based on recent techniques includes production of forest & forestry plants.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789385516382Publication Date: 2016-01-08
Introductory Agroforestry by
The origin of agroforestry practices, i.e. growing trees and shrubs with food and fruit crops and grasses is traditional and very old; but the science of agroforestry is new. Years of experience and experiments have shown that agroforestry as a land-use system is capable of yielding both food and wood and at the same time helps in conserving and rehabilitating the ecosystems. It has the capability to increase the overall productivity of land, maintain the nutrient balance in the soil and above all protect the nature. In the recent years, agroforestry has been recommended as a core subject in the curriculum of B. Sc. (Forestry) and B. Sc. (Agriculture) courses of the state agricultural universities. The book has been divided into ten chapters covering very comprehensive information on all aspects of agroforestry including history, concepts, systems classification, tree-crop interactions, planning and management, diagnosis and design, policy and projects, and propagation and management practices of multipurpose trees. 2020, 192pages, figures, tables, index, 25cm Dr. Alok Kumar Patra has about 25 years of experience in research and teaching at UG and PG level on agroforestry and agrometeorology. Presently he is working as Professor (Agronomy) in the All India Coordinated Research Project on Integrated Farming Systems, Odisha University of Agriculture & Technology, Bhubaneswar- 751003, Odisha.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789389130164Publication Date: 2019-08-31
Participatory Forestry by
Public participation in forestry is a key issue in ensuring the democratization of decision-making processes, increasing the social acceptance of policies, and reducing conflicts between forest users. Public participation also provides an opportunity for the improvement of the quality of information, public debate, personal reflection, and professionalization, raising awareness. Participation in forestry implies the involvement of stakeholders (the interest group participation approach) and/or the involvement of people (the direct citizen participation approach) in the decision-making process. Since the UN Conference on Environment and Development (1992), new norms and perspectives have emerged encouraging a bottom-up approach in forest governance. Consequently, several participatory techniques, methods, and tools for stakeholder involvement in forest governance have been developed and applied. These different experiences allow us to learn from failures and successes and contribute to knowledge improvement. The future challenges of participatory forestry deal with adaptation to changes in ecological, social, and economic contexts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9783039213313Publication Date: 2019-08-12
Redefining Forestry for Effective Livelihoods by
Forests play a very important part in the rural economy. The rural population largely depends on forests for their livelihoods. Degradation and deforestation of forests have a negative impact on the rural people. They increase suffering and poverty. At the same time, they pose a serious, global environmental threat. It is necessary that the livelihood option of rural population is secured while forest resources augmented. This can be done through participatory management. Redefining Forestry for Effective Livelihoods brings out key issues relevant to forest and livelihood, with a special focus on non-timber forest produce. It gives a detailed analysis about how forests play an important role in maintaining earth's ecosystem and, thus, the vital balance of flora and fauna. The book also discusses the contribution of forests to the national economy. It also focuses on emerging research issues arising out of various policies and their impact on the forest-dependent poor. The book provides the essential findings, arguments, linkage of forestry sector with other development scenario and the possible way out for the future. This comprehensive book is a useful reference for researchers, policymakers, and development practitioners working in the area of forest and livelihood.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9788179935316Publication Date: 2017-10-01
The Urban Forest in the Age of Urbanisation by
The Urban Forest in the Age of Urbanization seeks to reflect on the connotation of urban forestry in line with related emergent holistic theories. Today, much of the planet is urbanised and planners debate "Planetary Urbanization", economists discuss "The Global City", ecologists describe the planet's biodiversity hotspots, and climate scientists warn of a "global" crisis. We might think therefore that focusing on forestation approaches at the Urban and peri-urban "edge", might be reductionist. However, if the city is everywhere, and everything is a city, if the urbanised world now is a chain of metropolitan areas connected by places and corridors of communication, then what is not urban? And above all, which forests are not urban forests?Starting from the dualism between city and forest and its evolution towards holism, the book seeks to create a framework of dialectical approaches. The case studies included analyse a wide range of urbanisation "processes" to review the practical approaches of urban forestry, in line with the global crisis of the era of globalisation, when climate change, population growth, implosions and explosions of urbanisation, lack of arable land and food are unavoidable.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9788770226516Publication Date: 2021-12-31
Expert Recommendations
Silviculture by
This text defines and describes different methods and treatments that comprise modern silviculture, characterizing the kinds of conditions and responses that can be created by silviculturists. It presents examples of available analytic methods and management guidelines that foresters can utilize.
Call Number: SD 373 .N96 1996 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780070569997Publication Date: 1996-03-01
