Skip to main content

Career Information Resources: Introduction

Information on career options and exploration

Image logo for Learning Express Library

 

 

Prepare for your career with LearningExpress, a resource available through GALILEO. LearningExpress' Job & Career Accelerator has tools to help you write your resume and prepare for job interviews. You will need to create an account. Get started!

Remember, if you access GALILEO or LearningExpress off campus, you will need the GALILEO password. Ask a librarian for help or request it via email using your CPTC account.

Image stock photo of woman reaching for the word job

Source: Pixabay.com

Georgia Career Information System is a project of the Georgia Career Information Center. It contains assessments, explorations, and search strategies to help individuals determine their career interests, as well as comprehensive and accurate state and national occupational and educational information. The password needed to access the site is available from your school counselor, librarian, or an administrator.

 

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years. The site provides a search box, an A-Z index of jobs, and additional links to find information on specific jobs and occupations.

 

O*NET OnLine is a web-based application that provides user-friendly access to occupational information contained in the O*NET database. O*NET OnLine offers users the opportunity to: find occupations to explore; search for occupations that use their skills; look at related occupations; view occupational summaries of the worker and requirements of the work; view details of occupations, such as skills, knowledge, interests, and activities; use crosswalks from other classification systems to find corresponding O*NET occupations; and connect to other online career information resources.

 

Career OneStop is a U.S. Department of Labor-sponsored Web site that offers career resources and workforce information to job seekers, students, businesses, and workforce professionals. The main page includes links to the following categories: Explore Careers; Salaries + Benefits; Education + Training; Job Search; Resume + Interviews; People + Places to Help. The Explore Careers page includes links to self-assessments to help individuals determine their interests.


Myfuture.com helps young adults plan their next steps in life by bringing together the most recently available information about colleges, careers and military service opportunities from the U.S. Departments of Commerce, Defense, Education and Labor.