Library Catalog Search
Live Chat with a Librarian 24/7
chat loading...
Text a Librarian at 912-600-2782
Selected Books
Find these books and more by searching CPTC's online library catalog.
Introduction to the Practice of Fishery Science, Revised Edition by
Location: Golden Isles and online access
Royce's Introduction to the Practice of Fishery Science is a classic text. With a new chapter on aquaculture, this book provides the background for a first course in fishery science. Intentionally focused on the practical and professional requirements of careers in the management and maintenance of fisheries, this text will be useful to students as well as to established professionals.
Call Number: SH331 .R68 1996 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9780080535036Publication Date: 1996
Beating the Odds by
Location: Golden Isles
For more than two decades, hundreds of safety trainers, including the U.S. Coast Guard, have relied on this book as their primary reference and teaching tool. The book is useful worldwide, in warm as well as cold regions. Among other USCG-approved safety information, the book includes directions on conducting safety drills mandated by the Commercial Fishing Industry Vessel Safety Act of 1988 (P.L. 100-424).
Working at sea can be extremely hazardous, even for those with years of experience. The book tells
• How fishermen can prevent and survive accidents on board the fishing boat.
• How to prepare the vessel, maintain safety gear, and train the crew so problems don't escalate into disaster.
• Step-by-step instructions on conducting emergency drills required to meet federal requirements for crew training.
For the green crew member or experienced fisherman, Beating the Odds is an excellent and readable resource on safety and survival worldwide.
Call Number: SH343.9 .J46 2014 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781566121781Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Hooked! by
Location: Golden Isles
The rousing sea stories are all here: The dramas of near-death battles, the sickening tragedy of lovers and friends lost to the waters - but this is not the whole story. This collection represents an extraordinary holistic view of Alaskan fishing: Not just the dying, but the living; not just the obsessive doing of fishing, but the passionate being as well. Readers will understand why so many are hooked, unwilling or unable to leave this uncommon life. Collectively, the 15 fisher-writers in this anthology have fished cod, halibut, salmon, crab, and herring. Some have fished commercially for several seasons; others have spent most of their lives on the water. Included are Moe Bowstern, Michael Crowley, Wendy Erd, Leslie Leyland Fields, Naphtali Fields, Erin Freistrad, Joel Gay, Sig Hansen, Mary Jacobs, Nancy Lord, Marta Sutro, Toby Sullivan, Joe Upton, Spike Walker, and Shannon Zellerhoff.
Call Number: HD8039 .F66 A45 2011 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9781935347132Publication Date: 2011
Stock Identification Methods, 2nd ed. by
Location: Golden Isles
Stock Identification Methods, 2nd ed., continues to provide a comprehensive review of the various disciplines used to study the population structure of fishery resources. It represents the worldwide experience and perspectives of experts on each method, assembled through a working group of the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea. The book is organized to foster interdisciplinary analyses and conclusions about stock structure, a crucial topic for fishery science and management. Technological advances have promoted the development of stock identification methods in many directions, resulting in a confusing variety of approaches. Based on central tenets of population biology and management needs, this valuable resource offers a unified framework for understanding stock structure by promoting an understanding of the relative merits and sensitivities of each approach.
Call Number: SH329 .F563 2014 (Golden Isles)ISBN: 9780123970039Publication Date: 2013
Selected eBooks
The Blue Revolution by
Overfishing. For the world's oceans, it's long been a worrisome problem with few answers. Many of the global fish stocks are at a dangerous tipping point, some spiraling toward extinction. But as older fishing fleets retire and new technologies develop, a better, more sustainable way to farm this popular protein has emerged to profoundly shift the balance. The Blue Revolution tells the story of the recent transformation of commercial fishing: an encouraging change from maximizing volume through unrestrained wild hunting to maximizing value through controlled harvesting and farming. Entrepreneurs applying newer, smarter technologies are modernizing fisheries in unprecedented ways. In many parts of the world, the seafood on our plates is increasingly the product of smart decisions about ecosystems, waste, efficiency, transparency, and quality. Nicholas P. Sullivan presents this new way of thinking about fish, food, and oceans by profiling the people and policies transforming an aging industry into one that is "post-industrial"--fueled by "sea-foodies" and locavores interested in sustainable, traceable, quality seafood. Catch quotas can work when local fishers feel they have a stake in the outcome; shellfish farming requires zero inputs and restores nearshore ecosystems; new markets are developing for kelp products, as well as unloved and "underutilized" fish species. Sullivan shows how the practices of thirty years ago that perpetuated an overfishing crisis are rapidly changing. In the book's final chapters, Sullivan discusses the global challenges to preserving healthy oceans, including conservation mechanisms, the impact of climate change, and unregulated and criminal fishing in international waters. In a fast-growing world where more people are eating more fish than ever before, The Blue Revolution brings encouraging news for conservationists and seafood lovers about the transformation of an industry historically averse to change, and it presents fresh inspiration for entrepreneurs and investors eager for new opportunities in a blue-green economy.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781642832181Publication Date: 2022-04-19
Commercial Fishing on the Outer Banks by
Location: Online access
Fishing on the Outer Banks for subsistence began over 1,000 years ago with the Algonquin Indians, who made their summer camps on the islands. They came for the seafood and learned how to fish for various species during each season. Some of their fishing methods are still used by local watermen. The early settlers to the area were also fishers for sustenance. It was not until the Civil War, however, when they became commercial fishermen. Historic shad runs combined with the building of infrastructure such as an ice plant, roads, and bridges finally made possible the exportation of their catches to northern markets. In the 1950s, tourists started trickling in, and restaurants began dotting the landscape, promoting the consumption of fresh seafood. Today, in an economy ruled by tourism, fishing for profit still plays a strong role. What began in the 1660s with a shipment of 80 barrels of whale oil has continued to the present with internationally coveted catches of bluefin tuna. Although the fishing industry is threatened today as never before, commercial fishermen will continue to develop new markets and fight for their livelihoods.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781467103350Publication Date: 2019
The Economics of Fishing by
A comprehensive and rigorous guide to the economic considerations motivating the industry and highlights the environmental challenges facing the sector as global consumption of fish continues to rise.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781788213462Publication Date: 2021-01-21
Living off the Pacific Ocean Floor by
In this authentic account of a seafaring life, Captain George Moskovita offers a highly personal and often humorous look at the career of a commercial fisherman. George Moskovita was sixteen when he graduated from high school in Bellingham, Washington, and went to sea. Fishing would take him crabbing off Alaska, seining for sardines off California and for tuna off Mexico, and catching soupfin sharks for their livers (a vital source of Vitamin A during World War II). He came to Astoria, Oregon, in 1939, where he was a pioneer of the Oregon ocean perch fishery. In a career that spanned over 60 years, George Moskovita met with many maritime adventures, recounted for the reader in a clear, direct, and unsentimental style. With an introduction and textual notes by Carmel Finley, an historian of science, and Mary Hunsicker, an aquatic and fisheries scientist, this book will be invaluable to fishery students and professionals interested in the biology, ecology, and history of oceans and commercial fishing.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780870718243Publication Date: 2015
Principles of Sustainability by
This new volume provides students and researchers with a solid foundation to the study of sustainability. Whether students want to know how to live or work more sustainably, or want to know more about the ecology of sustainability, or want to learn more about the economics or politics involved with sustainability, this is the resource to turn to. Over 100 easy-to-understand entries provide readers with a solid understanding of the ecology, economics, politics and culture of sustainability. Coverage includes: Sustainable Cities Green Building Sustainable Agriculture Sustainable Architecture Green Technologies Renewable Energy Natural Resource Management Wetland Management City Planning Urban Ecology Community Health Human Ecology Eco-Tourism ... and so much more This volume provides readers with the necessary information to learn about and fully understand the major concepts, environmental concerns, and politics surrounding sustainability. This volume will be a welcome addition to high school and undergraduate libraries and environmental science collections of all sizes.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781682176078Publication Date: 2018-01-30
