Stingray Library Catalog Search
Periodicals
Popular Mechanics - Online and In Print at Waycross Library
Selected Books
Automotive Engines by
Thoroughly updated to meet the latest ASE and NATEF task requirements, Automotive Engines: Theory and Servicing, Seventh Edition, features a new full-color design and more effective organization that makes teaching and learning easier! Colorful illustrations and photos along with easier navigation and organization of topics help students effectively study all aspects of automotive engine repair, including cooling and lubrication systems. The text retains its trademark emphasis on diagnosis and troubleshooting, including Tech Tip and Real World Fix boxes that offer true diagnostic stories from the field.
Call Number: TL210 .H29 2011 (Waycross)ISBN: 9780135103838Publication Date: 2010-08-19
Automotive Technology by
AUTOMOTIVE TECHNOLOGY: A SYSTEMS APPROACH, 5th Edition remains the leading authority on automotive theory, service and repair procedures. The new edition has been updated to include coverage of hybrid vehicles throughout the text, new content on electronic automatic transmissions, preventive maintenance, and many other topics that reflect the most recent changes in the industry. Chapters cover the theory, diagnosis and service of all system areas for automobiles and light trucks, and the content closely adheres to the 2008 NATEF Automobile Program Standards.
Call Number: TL152 .E67 2010 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781428311497Publication Date: 2009-01-13
Troubleshooting and Repairing Diesel Engines, 5th Edition by
Solve Diesel Engine Problems Quickly and Easily Using the Latest Methods This hands-on guide shows, step by step, how to save time and money by learning to identify and fix virtually any diesel engine problem yourself. Thoroughly updated to cover the latest advances in diesel technology, Troubleshooting and Repairing Diesel Engines, Fifth Edition contains hundreds of drawings, schematics, and photographs to ensure success and avoid frustration. This fully revised classic resource equips you with all of the techniques you need to keep diesel engines running in top condition. Inside, you'll find: *Up-to-date coverage of biodiesel and green fuels ; *Step by step troubleshooting procedures *New engine repair procedures and tools *The latest turbocharging methods *Details on new diesel/hydrogen and diesel/methane engines Coverage includes: * Rudolf Diesel * Diesel Basics * Diesel Operation * Stationary and Marine Engine Installation * Mechanical and Electronic Fuel Systems * Basic Troubleshooting * Electronic Engine Management Systems * Cylinder Heads and Valves * Engine Mechanics * Engine Rebuilding * Turbochargers * Air Systems * Electrical Fundamentals * Starting and Generating Systems * Air and Liquid Cooling Systems * Greener Diesels
Call Number: TJ799 .D44 2008 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781260116434Publication Date: 2018-04-20
Selected eBooks
Adlard Coles Book of Diesel Engines by
The Adlard Coles Book of Diesel Engines is aimed at boatowners rather than experienced mechanics. In clear, jargon-free English, it explains how a diesel engine works, and how to care for it. Melanie Bartlett explains how the engine uses simple processes to covert fuel to power, and then looks at the various sub-systems that allow those processes to take place. She also advises on tools, winterizing and provides hints, tips and helpful fault-finding tables. Systems covered include: fuel, air, cooling, oil, electrical, propeller and transmission and control. This fifth edition has been thoroughly updated and illustrated with new full-color photos and diagrams. In particular, the Common Rail Injection System is covered, which governs how the fuel system is constructed, combined with the use of electronics (as opposed to mechanics) to control it thereby meeting the need for cleaner, greener engines to meet emissions regulations.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781472955401Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Diesel Engines and Biodiesel Engines Technologies by
Diesel Engines and Biodiesel Engines Technologies explores the conceptual and methodological approaches for the understanding of both diesel engines and biodiesel technologies. The book incorporates reviews of the most significant research findings in both diesel and biodiesel engine production and utilization. It presents technological interventions in biodiesel production and offers a foresight analysis of the perspectives of biodiesel as a future global commodity. It also examines the main challenges that biodiesel will have to overcome in order to play a key role in future energy systems. Furthermore, the book discusses alternative diesel fuels from oils and fats and proposes solutions to issues associated with biodiesel feedstocks, production issues, quality control, viscosity, stability, applications, emissions, and other environmental impacts.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781803557861Publication Date: 17 August 2022
GM 6.2 & 6.5 Liter Diesel Engines by
Finally, a rebuild and performance guide for GM 6.2 and 6.5L diesel engines! In the late 1970s and early 1980s, there was considerable pressure on the Detroit automakers to increase the fuel efficiency for their automotive and light-truck lines. While efficient electronic engine controls and computer-controlled gas engine technology was still in the developmental stages, the efficiency of diesel engines was already well documented during this time period. As a result, General Motors added diesel engine options to its car and truck lines in an attempt to combat high gas prices and increase fuel efficiency. The first mass-produced V-8 diesel engines of the era, the 5.7L variants, appeared in several General Motors passenger-car models beginning in 1978 and are often referred to as the Oldsmobile Diesels because of the number of Oldsmobile cars equipped with this option. This edition faded from popularity in the early 1980s as a result of falling gas prices and quality issues with diesel fuel suppliers, giving the cars a bad reputation for dependability and reliability. The 6.2L appeared in 1982 and the 6.5L in 1992, as the focus for diesel applications shifted from cars to light trucks. These engines served faithfully and remained in production until 2001, when the new Duramax design replaced it in all but a few military applications. While very durable and reliable, most of these engines have a lot of miles on them, and many are in need of a rebuild. This book will take you through the entire rebuild process step by step from diagnosis to tear down, inspection to parts sourcing, machining, and finally reassembly. Also included is valuable troubleshooting information, detailed explanations of how systems work, and even a complete Stanadyne DB2 rebuild section to get the most out of your engine in the modern era. If you have a 6.2, or 6.5L GM diesel engine, this book is a must-have item for your shop or library.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781613255605Publication Date: 2020-08-25
High-Performance Diesel Builder's Guide by
High-Performance Diesel Builder's Guide is the first book to explain how modern diesel engines work and how to safely enhance power and performance. The book covers all aspects of the modern turbocharged diesel engine: intake system, camshaft, cylinder heads, fuel system, combustion chambers, transmissions, and gearing. In addition, this book provides advice on many aspects of tuning your diesel engine from Gale Banks. Author Joe Pettitt, Banks, and other industry experts guide novice and expert diesel enthusiasts alike. The book covers airflow components, including the turbocharger and intercooler, using electronic tuners, and choosing between nitrous oxide and propane injection. An in-depth chapter focuses on engine thermodynamics, using simple terms, diagrams, and charts to explain and illustrate the concepts and principles. Popular turbo diesel engines are covered including Ford Power Stroke, GM Duramax, and Dodge Cummins B and ISB.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781613250624Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Expert Recommendations
Medium/Heavy Duty Truck Engines, Fuel and Computerized Management Systems by
Written by an experienced truck technician in easy-to-understand language, this book provides a comprehensive introduction to highway diesel engines and their management systems. Coverage of the full range of truck diesels from light duty to heavy duty is provided, as well as the most current diesel engine management electronics used today. New topics include rotary distributor pumps, alternate fuel technologies, multiplexing, Bosch electronic common rail systems, and Cummins CAPS and HPI-TP. Recent innovations in engine technology and greatly expanded coverage of SAE J1667 emissions testing round out the enhancements, making this edition a superior learner's guide and an invaluable reference to the practicing technician
Call Number: TL 210 .B4143 2004 (Waycross)ISBN: 9781401814991Publication Date: 2003-12-19
