Skip to main content

ENGL 1010: Occupations

LearningExpress

Learning Express Library database logo

Prepare for your career with LearningExpress, a resource available through GALILEOThe Job & Career Accelerator in LearningExpress has tools to help you explore occupations, write your resume and cover letter, conduct a job or internship search and prepare for job interviews. You will need to create an account for LearningExpress Library. Remember, if you access GALILEO or LearningExpress off campus, you will need the GALILEO password. Ask a librarian for help or request it via email using your CPTC account. Get Started!

EBSCO Vocational & Career Collection

EBSCO Host library database logo

The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for almost 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

To access the Vocational & Career Collection, you can use the link below or follow the directions in the box to the right that describes your situation.

  Vocational & Career Collection

Occupational Outlook

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics logo

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics provides career information through their Occupational Outlook Handbook. The career profiles provide information on what they do, work environment, educational requirements, pay, and more. 

Licensed Practical and Licensed Vocational Nurses

Cosmetologists

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, Brazers

EMT and Paramedics

ProQuest Career & Technical Education

ProQuest Library Database logo

Career & Technical Education includes several hundred full-text titles in the area of vocational information.

Topics include:

  • Computing science
  • Healthcare
  • Building trades
  • Auto mechanics
  • Sales and retail
  • Accounting
  • Graphic design
  • Photography

Titles include Agricultural Research, Computer Technology Review, Law & Order, Nutrition and Food Science, and Printed Circuit Design.

To access Career & Technical Education, you can use the link below or follow the directions in the box to the right that describes your situation.

GALILEO Library database site logo Career & Technical Education

Internet Resources

Georgia Career Information System database logo

Georgia Career Information System is a project of the Georgia Career Information Center. It contains assessments, explorations, and search strategies to help individuals determine their career interests, as well as comprehensive and accurate state and national occupational and educational information. The password needed to access the site is available from your school counselor, librarian, or other administrator.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Logo

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years. The site provides a search box, an A-Z index of jobs, and additional links to find information on specific jobs and occupations.

 

O*Net Library Database Logo

O*NET OnLine is a web-based application that provides user-friendly access to occupational information contained in the O*NET database. O*NET OnLine offers users the opportunity to: find occupations to explore; search for occupations that use their skills; look at related occupations; view occupational summaries of the worker and requirements of the work; view details of occupations, such as skills, knowledge, interests, and activities; use crosswalks from other classification systems to find corresponding O*NET occupations; and connect to other on-line career information resources.