What Is Children's Book Week?
“Since it is so likely that (children) will meet cruel enemies, let them at least have heard of brave knights and heroic courage. Otherwise, you are making their destiny not brighter but darker.” ― C.S. Lewis
Books are a gateway to imagination, education, and new and exciting worlds. Books teach us empathy and provide us with opportunities to expand our vocabulary. Children's Book Week is a week to not only celebrate the colorful and varied stories of picture books and young adult novels but also to encourage reading those books to children and to ourselves. Learn more about children's book week here!
CPTC's Early Childhood Education Program
Did You Know?
Books For Babies And Toddlers Age 0-2
Peas on Earth
Peas on Earth uses a simple play on words to portray the basic concepts of peace, harmony, getting along with all kinds of people, and being green in a manner that young kids will grasp. And it will resonate more as they grow older. Adult caregivers will chuckle over the peas/peace references while young children will relate to the important messages about our earth and those of us who live on it. The artwork is colorful, charming, and perfect for the board book crowd. And, as an added value, there is a simple pop-up at the end of the book.
Location: Golden Isles
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; PZ7 .D7247 Pe 2012
Sweet Dreams, Peter
This beautiful and rhythmic bedtime board book is a perfect gift for little bunnies! In this charming and whimsical board book, Peter Rabbit and his friends are lulled softly off to sleep. Artistic and lyrical, this is a perfect introduction to the world of Beatrix Potter for very young children.
Location: Waycross
Call Number: General Collection ; PZ8.3 .S9953 2017
Guess How Much I Love You
Celebrate twenty-five years of love right up to the moon and back! A new board-book edition is perfect for little hands. How much does Little Nutbrown Hare love his daddy? And how much does Big Nutbrown Hare love him back? The cherished tale of boundless affection is ready for boundless sharing in a durable board-book edition for the younger set.
Location: Camden and Jesup
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; PZ7 .M4782 1995
Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You?
Kids will love hooing like an owl and buzzing like a bee along with Mr. Brown in this classic, noise-filled easy reader from the one and only Dr. Seuss! "Oh, the wonderful things Mr. Brown can do! He can go like a cow. He can go moo moo. Mr. Brown can do it. How about you?" Mr. Brown is a sound-making wonder! He can hoo hoo like an owl and buzz buzz like a bee. It is so much fun to make noises that you hear every day, like moo and ticktock. But stranger sounds are fun to make, too...like the pip of a goldfish kiss and the grum grum of a hippo chewing gum. Encouraging imaginative play while learning to read, Mr. Brown Can Moo! Can You? will keep kids laughing (when they're not ticktocking). Bright and Early Books are perfect for beginning beginner readers! Launched by Dr. Seuss in 1968 with The Foot Book, Bright and Early Books use fewer and easier words than Beginner Books. Readers just starting to recognize words and sound out letters will love these short books with colorful illustrations.
Location: Jesup
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; PZ8.3 .G276 MI 1996
I'll Be a Chicken Too
Key Selling Points With core messages of inclusivity, uniqueness and family belonging, this story can support children's development and exploration of their own identities. Illustrations incorporate intergenerational relationships and diverse family backgrounds so that many families will see themselves reflected in the story. The book uses fun techniques to engage children in reading, such as rhyming clues and clever illustrations to help children guess what comes next. The story reinforces tender and playful moments between caregivers and children that may inspire fun and silliness at home. Features a huge variety of animals including mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, mollusks and insects.
Location: Online Access
Call Number: Online
Books For Preschoolers Age 2-5
I Like Myself!
Exuberant rhymes and wild illustrations celebrate self-acceptance and self-love, from the New York Times bestselling creators of I Ain't Gonna Paint No More! High on energy and imagination, this ode to self-esteem encourages kids to appreciate everything about themselves--inside and out. Messy hair? Beaver breath? So what! Here's a little girl who knows what really matters. At once silly and serious, Karen Beaumont's joyous rhyming text and David Catrow's vibrant illustrations unite in a book that is sassy, soulful . . . and straight from the heart. I Like Myself belongs on the shelf alongside such favorites as The World Needs More Purple People and I Am Enough.
Location: Camden
Call Number:Juvenile ; PZ8.3 .B3845 Ili 2004
Bear Snores On
One by one, a whole host of different animals and birds find their way out of the cold and into Bear's cave to warm up. But even after the tea has been brewed and the corn has been popped, Bear just snores on! See what happens when he finally wakes up and finds his cave full of uninvited guests -- all of them having a party without him!
Location: Jesup
Call Number:Juvenile Collection ; PZ8.3 .W6976 Be 2002
Llama Llama Mess Mess Mess
Mama Llama teaches Llama Llama a humorous lesson in cleaning up in Anna Dewdney's bestselling Llama Llama series. Time to pick up all your toys! Why is Mama making noise? Mama says it's cleaning day. Llama only wants to play. Anna Dewdney's Llama Llama is growing up, but he still loves to play with all his toys! When Mama Llama says it's time to clean up, Llama responds like any child more interested in playing than cleaning . . . by ignoring her! But Mama has an imaginative response of her own. What if she never cleaned? What would happen then? Well, Llama Llama is going to find out! Here is a truly funny take on a childhood chore that all children will relate to and laugh at! And it is sure to be helpful to get kids cleaning up!
Location: Waycross
Call Number:General Collection ; PZ8.3 .D498 Lla 2019
Smash! Mash! Crash! There Goes the Trash!
THE GARBAGE TRUCKS ARE HERE TODAY! Smashing, mashing, lights a-flashing, gobblin' garbage, GULPITY-GULP. From castaway furniture to last night's leftovers, no job is too big or too small for this rugged team. With an upbeat, rhythmic text, Smash! Mash! Crash! There Goes the Trash! follows two garbage trucks on their route. What results is a stinky, roaring, rumbling mess -- and LOADS OF FUN!
Location: Golden Isles
Call Number:Juvenile Collection ; PZ8.3 .O275 Sm 2006
Good Night, Library
Even the library has to sleep! This calming bedtime story says good night to the library and all the fun it holds--from books and story time to computers and comics. A charming ode to everyone's favorite community space and a perfect good night for budding book lovers.
Location: Online
Call Number:Online Access
Books For Big Kids Age 5-10
Lon Po Po
This Caldecott Medal-winning, classic retelling of Little Red Riding Hood is one of the most celebrated picture books of our time. With characteristic flair and energy, award-winning artist Ed Young illustrates the ancient Chinese version of the favorite fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood. Young's vibrant, yet delicate, pastels and watercolors add drama to the deftly translated story. ★ ''A gripping variation of Red Riding Hood. This is an outstanding achievement that will be pored over again and again." --School Library Journal, starred review
Location: Golden Isles
Call Number:Juvenile Collection ; PZ8.1 .Y84 Lo 1989
The Patchwork Quilt
Twenty years ago Valerie Flournoy and Jerry Pinkney created a warmhearted intergenerational story that became an award-winning perennial. Since then children from all sorts of family situations and configurations continue to be drawn to its portrait of those bonds that create the fabric of family life.
Location: Jesup
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; PZ7 .F667 Pat 1985
The Princess and the Packet of Frozen Peas
In this modern take on the Princess and the Pea, Prince Henrik decides that sometimes real princesses can be too sensitive! Prince Henrik wants to marry an outdoorsy kind of girl, so instead of a single pea tucked into a pile of bedding, Henrik tests prospective brides with an entire packet of frozen peas shoved under a flimsy camping mattress. Henrik despairs as princess after princess complains, until one day the just-right girl shows up unexpectedly in the form of his old friend, Pippa. Pippa is all too happy to join Henrik in pitching a tent or playing a hard game of hockey, after which she finds the perfect use for that packet of frozen peas! In this remix of the fairy tale, Tony Wilson and Sue deGennaro deliver a freshly humorous take on one prince's search for the girl of his dreams.
Location: Waycross
Call Number: General Collection ; PZ7 .W69874 Pr 2012
The Mermaid
A New York Times bestselling striking under-the-sea version of Goldilocks with bonus storytelling in the borders, as only Jan Brett could create. When Kiniro, a young mermaid, comes upon a gorgeous house made of seashells and coral, she is so curious that she goes inside. She's thrilled to find a just-right breakfast, pretty little chair, and, best of all, a comfy bed that rocks in the current. But when the Octopus family returns home, they are not happy to find that someone has been eating their food and breaking their things. Baby has the biggest shock when she finds the mermaid asleep in her bed! Luckily, shock turns to happiness when Kiniro gives her a thoughtful gift before escaping from the twenty-four arms coming her way. Vibrant, intricate scenes of an underwater paradise transport this classic fairy tale to a magical setting inspired by the seas off the coast of Okinawa, Japan. Along with fun details that enrich the storytelling in Jan Brett's trademark borders, this visual treat will enchant readers of all ages.
Location: Camden
Call Number: Juvenile ; PZ7 .B7559 Mer 2017
Sharks Bite, Octopuses Entangle
In a deadly fight between a shark and an octopus, who would win? Readers will discover the unique abilities of both species in this dynamic book about the relationship between predator and prey. Vibrant photographs bring facts to life while engaging text stirs the imagination. Clear explanations of biological phenomena will advance the knowledge of developing readers. The attention-grabbing subject matter delivers the lessons of elementary science curriculum in an imaginative and exciting way.
Location: Online
Call Number: Online Access
Books For Pre-Teens Age 9-12
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Cabin Fever
In Cabin Fever, Book 6 of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series from #1 international bestselling author Jeff Kinney, Greg Heffley is in big trouble.
School property has been damaged, and Greg is the prime suspect. But the crazy thing is, he’s innocent. Or at least sort of.
The authorities are closing in, but when a surprise blizzard hits, the Heffley family is trapped indoors. Greg knows that when the snow melts he’s going to have to face the music, but could any punishment be worse than being stuck inside with your family for the holidays?
Location: Online Access
Call Number: Online Access
Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book One: Lightning Thief, the-Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book One
The #1 New York Times Bestseller | Now a series on Disney+ 12-year-old Percy Jackson discovers he is the son of Poseidon in the opener to the hilarious, fast-paced adventure fantasy series for young readers ages 10 and up The hardcover edition of the first book in Rick Riordan's thrilling series, filled with magic, mythology, and plenty of monsters Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school again--he can't seem to stay out of trouble. Is he supposed to stand by while a bully picks on his scrawny best friend? Or not defend himself when his teacher turns into a monster and tries to kill him? Mythical creatures seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. What's worse, he's angered a few of them: Zeus's master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect. Percy and his friends Grover the satyr, and Annabeth, the demigod daughter of Athena, must find and return Zeus's stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. They travel cross country to the gates of the Underworld in Los Angeles, facing a host of enemies determined to stop them. With millions of copies and over 10 years spent on the New York Times bestseller list, Percy has also become a movie, a Broadway musical, and now a Disney+ series. He continues to find fans in classrooms and libraries across the world.
Location: Camden
Call Number: General Collection ; PZ 7 .R4829 Li 2006
Wishtree
From #1 New York Times-bestelling author of Odder and The One and Only Ivan, Wishtree is the beautiful, nuanced story of an oak tree and a crow who help their neighbors embrace their differences. Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . . Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"--people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with a crow named Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this wishtree watches over the neighborhood. You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experience as a wishtree is more important than ever. Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, this is Katherine Applegate at her very best--writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view. This book has Common Core connections.
Location: Waycross
Call Number: General Collection ; PZ7 .A6483 Wis 2017
Bridge to Terabithia
The fortieth anniversary edition of the classic Newbery Award-winning title by beloved author Katherine Paterson, with brand-new bonus materials including an author's note by Katherine herself, and a foreword by New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo. Jess Aarons has been practicing all summer so he can be the fastest runner in the fifth grade. And he almost is, until the new girl in school, Leslie Burke, outpaces him. The two become fast friends and spend most days in the woods behind Leslie's house, where they invent an enchanted land called Terabithia. One morning, Leslie goes to Terabithia without Jess and a tragedy occurs. It will take the love of his family and the strength that Leslie has given him for Jess to be able to deal with his grief. In addition to being a Newbery Award winner, Bridge to Terabithia was also named an ALA Notable Children's Book and has become a touchstone of children's literature, as have many of Katherine Paterson's other novels, including The Great Gilly Hopkins and Jacob Have I Loved.
Location: Jesup
Call Number: Juvenile Collection ; PZ7 .P273 Br 1977
The Adventures of Superhero Girl (Expanded Edition)
What if you can leap tall buildings and defeat alien monsters with your bare hands, but you buy your capes at secondhand stores and have a weakness for kittens? Cartoonist Faith Erin Hicks brings charming humor to the trials and tribulations of a young female superhero, battling monsters both supernatural and mundane in an all-too-ordinary world.
Location: Golden Isles
Call Number: McNaughton Collection ; PZ7.7 .H53 Ad 2017
Books For Teens Age 13-Adult
Challenger Deep
National Book Award * Golden Kite Award Winner * Six Starred Reviews A captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman. Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of the Marianas Trench. Caden Bosch is a brilliant high school student whose friends are starting to notice his odd behavior. Caden Bosch is designated the ship's artist in residence to document the journey with images. Caden Bosch pretends to join the school track team but spends his days walking for miles, absorbed by the thoughts in his head. Caden Bosch is split between his allegiance to the captain and the allure of mutiny. Caden Bosch is torn. Challenger Deep is a deeply powerful and personal novel from one of today's most admired writers for teens. Laurie Halse Anderson, award-winning author of Speak, calls Challenger Deep "a brilliant journey across the dark sea of the mind; frightening, sensitive, and powerful. Simply extraordinary."
Location: Camden
Call Number: General Collection ; PZ7 .S55987 Ch 2015
Color Me In
Debut YA author Natasha Díaz pulls from her personal experience to inform this powerful coming-of-age novel about the meaning of friendship, the joyful beginnings of romance, and the racism and religious intolerance that can both strain a family to the breaking point and strengthen its bonds. Who is Nevaeh Levitz? Growing up in an affluent suburb of New York City, sixteen-year-old Nevaeh Levitz never thought much about her biracial roots. When her Black mom and Jewish dad split up, she relocates to her mom's family home in Harlem and is forced to confront her identity for the first time. Nevaeh wants to get to know her extended family, but one of her cousins can't stand that Nevaeh, who inadvertently passes as white, is too privileged, pampered, and selfish to relate to the injustices they face on a daily basis as African Americans. In the midst of attempting to blend their families, Nevaeh's dad decides that she should have a belated bat mitzvah instead of a sweet sixteen, which guarantees social humiliation at her posh private school. Even with the push and pull of her two cultures, Nevaeh does what she's always done when life gets complicated: she stays silent. It's only when Nevaeh stumbles upon a secret from her mom's past, finds herself falling in love, and sees firsthand the prejudice her family faces that she begins to realize she has a voice. And she has choices. Will she continue to let circumstances dictate her path? Or will she find power in herself and decide once and for all who and where she is meant to be?
Location: Waycross
Call Number: McNaughton Collection ; PZ7.1.D499
This Is Not the End
If you could choose one person to bring back to life, who would it be? Seventeen-year-old Lake Deveraux is the survivor of a car crash that killed her best friend and boyfriend. Now she faces an impossible choice. Resurrection technology changed the world, but strict laws allow just one resurrection per citizen, to be used on your eighteenth birthday or lost forever. You only have days to decide. For each grieving family, Lake is the best chance to bring back their child. For Lake, it's the only way to reclaim a piece of happiness after her own family fell apart. And Lake must also grapple with a secret--and illegal--vow she made years ago to resurrect someone else. Someone who's not even dead yet. Who do you need most? As Lake's eighteenth birthday nears, secrets and betrayals new and old threaten to eclipse her cherished memories. Lake has one chance to save a life...but can she live with her choice?
Location: Golden Isles
Call Number: McNaughton Collection ; PZ7.1 .B35 Th 2017
Where the World Ends
A Michael L. Printz Honor Book and Carnegie Medal Winner! New from Geraldine McCaughrean comes an extraordinary story of eight boys stranded on a rock in the middle of the sea, left to fight for their survival. Every time a lad went fowling on the stacs, he came home less of a boy and more of a man. If he went home at all, that is. Every summer Quill and his friends are put ashore on a remote sea stac to hunt birds. But this summer, no one arrives to take them home. Surely nothing but the end of the world can explain why they've been abandoned--cold, starving and clinging to life, in the grip of a murderous ocean. How will they survive such a forsaken place of stone and sea? This is an extraordinary story of fortitude, endurance, tragedy and survival, set against an unforgettable backdrop of savage beauty.
Location: Jesup
Call Number: McNaughton Collection ; PZ7 .M4784133 Wh 2019
How You Ruined My Life
A new hilarious novel from the author of The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever and Stranger Things Have Happened. Rod's life doesn't suck. If you ask him, it's pretty awesome. He may not be popular, but he and his best friends play in a band that has a standing gig. Yeah, it's Monday night and they don't get paid, but they can turn the volume up as loud as they want. And Rod's girlfriend is hot, smart, and believes in their band--believes in Rod. Aside from a winning lottery ticket, what more could he ask for? Answer: A different cousin. When Rod's scheming, two-faced cousin Blake moves in for the semester, Rod tries to keep calm. Blake seems to have everyone else fooled with good manners and suave smile, except Rod knows better. Blake is taking over his room, taking over his band, taking over his life! But Rod's not about to give up without a fight. Game on. May the best prankster win...
Location: Online
Call Number: Online Access