Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films on Demand Intro
Films on Demand consists of 7,000 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also included is the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1,250 segments).
Allied Health Videos, a collection within Films on Demand, will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby.
This page provides links to a number of Films on Demand videos within the Surgical Technology field. Each video includes a description, a transcript, and citation information. You can also watch individual segments of each video.
For more information on how to use this database, check out our Films on Demand video, part of our Database Video Spotlight series.
To access these videos off campus, you will need to sign on using OpenAthens.
OpenAthens provides secure access to CPTC GALILEO resources through single sign-on when users are off campus.
CPTC students, faculty, and staff will use their full CPTC email address and password to log into GALILEO versus using a password.
GALILEO is still accessible on campus without having to log in.
Hernias do not happen only to heavy lifters; a simple sneeze can put as much pressure on the abdominal walls as bench pressing 350 pounds. This program uses operating room footage, commentary by medical experts, and case histories of hernia patients to illustrate the benefits and basic techniques of laparoscopic hernia surgery.
Use the saphenous vein and radial arteries to bypass coronary artery lesions. Divert blood to the bypass machine, cool core temperature, and stop the heart until the bypass is complete. Place chest tubes and pacemaker wires and close the sternum.