Skip to main content

Library Services: NEW BOOKS

A guide to library resources at Coastal Pines Technical College

Logo for McNaughton book subscription service

Library Services subscribes to McNaughton, giving our students, faculty and staff access to a rotating collection of bestselling fiction and nonfiction leisure reading materials. Media Specialist Linda Lane chooses the books, but we welcome recommendations.

Submit a recommendation form.

 

Subject Guide

Linda Lane's picture
Linda Lane
Contact:
Media Specialist
Golden Isles Site
3700 Glynco Parkway
Room 1212
Brunswick, Georgia
912.262.4314

New Books / 2019

New Books

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9780062869890/LC.GIF&client=springshare

Death in Avignon

Set amidst the gorgeous backdrop of Provence, Serena Kent's second book in the deliciously entertaining Penelope Kite series finds the amateur sleuth romantically linked with the mayor of St. Merlot and dashing to solve the murder of an expat artist--perfect for fans of Peter Mayle and Agatha Christie.

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9781984820150/LC.GIF&client=springshare

A Long Petal of the Sea

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the author of The House of the Spirits, this epic novel spanning decades and crossing continents follows two young people as they flee the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War in search of a place to call home. "One of the most richly imagined portrayals of the Spanish Civil War to date, and one of the strongest and most affecting works in [Isabel Allende's] long career."--

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9780593135235/LC.GIF&client=springshare

The Two Lives of Lydia Bird

Two lives. Two loves. One impossible choice. From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Reese's Book Club Pick One Day in December. . .   "I read The Two Lives of Lydia Bird in a single sitting

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9781982105167/LC.GIF&client=springshare

We Are Not Here to Be Bystanders

Linda Sarsour, co-organizer of the Women's March, shares how growing up Palestinian Muslim American, feminist, and empowered moved her to become a globally recognized activist on behalf of marginalized communities across the country.

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9780062915047/LC.GIF&client=springshare

The Big Lie

 As the Electoral College battle for the White House lands in a Florida courtroom, Miami attorney Jack Swyteck has never felt farther from the truth, fighting for a "faithless elector," caught between a corrupt president and his manipulative opponent--with each revelation more explosive than the next.

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9780778309734/LC.GIF&client=springshare

Strung Out

"This is a story she needed to tell; and the rest of the country needs to listen." -- New York Times Book Review "This vital memoir will change how we look at the opioid crisis and how the media talks about it. A deeply moving and emotional read, STRUNG OUT challenges our preconceived ideas of what addiction looks like." --

Eight Perfect Murders

"Swanson rips us from one startling plot twist to the next... A true tour de force." --Lisa Gardner "Fiendish good fun." --Anthony Horowitz From the hugely talented author of Before She Knew Him comes a chilling tale of psychological suspense and an homage to the thriller genre tailor-made for fans: the story of a bookseller who finds himself at the center of an FBI investigation because a very clever killer has started using his list of fiction's most ingenious murders. Y

When You See Me

#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner unites three of her most beloved characters--Detective D. D. Warren, Flora Dane, and Kimberly Quincy--in a twisty new thriller, as they investigate a mysterious murder from the past...which points to a dangerous and chilling present-day crime.

Death in Avignon

Set amidst the gorgeous backdrop of Provence, Serena Kent's second book in the deliciously entertaining Penelope Kite series finds the amateur sleuth romantically linked with the mayor of St. Merlot and dashing to solve the murder of an expat artist--perfect for fans of Peter Mayle and Agatha Christie.

//syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9780593135235/LC.GIF&client=springshare

The Two Lives of Lydia Bird

Two lives. Two loves. One impossible choice. From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Reese's Book Club Pick One Day in December. . .   "I read The Two Lives of Lydia Bird in a single sitting