Skip to main content

Respiratory Therapy Technology: Journals & Databases

GALILEO Databases

If you're off campus, you may need the GALILEO password to access some of the databases on this page. The password is emailed to students, faculty and staff at the beginning of each semester. You may also ask for the password in person at CPTC libraries or by email using a CPTC account. Some databases require additional passwords. Ask a librarian or your instructor for help.

Databases

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source database image

 

 

 

 

Nursing and Allied Health Source
Provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. A notable publication within this database is the Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy

MedLine Plus Library database image

 

 

 

 

Medline Plus
This database directs you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together authoritative, consumer-focused information from The National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus includes extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, videos, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.

The Merck Manual Library Database image

 

 

 

 

The Merck Manual (Professional)
Offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy. Content is updated monthly to keep current with changes in medical care.

Health Reference Center database logo

 

 

 

 

 

Health Reference Center
Includes more than 585 educational videos on a wide range of health topics; more than 1,000 searchable and browseable color illustrations; and a Health in the News section with regularly updated health news articles. Health Reference Center's vast content is organized under five subject areas: Body Systems, Diseases and Disorders, Drug Abuse and Addiction, Mental Health and Developmental Disorders, and Nutrition and Wellness. A wealth of material is drawn from The Facts On File Encyclopedia of Health and Medicine, the backbone of this comprehensive database.

Learning Express Library Database logo

 

Learning Express Library
Resources include Learning Centers for test preparation and build skills. Offerings include practice tests for elementary, middle, and high school students, preparation for college entrance and graduate school exams, GED preparation, business writing, job search skills, resume writing, practice tests for licensing and certification for several occupations, and U.S. citizenship preparation.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context library database logo

 

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides information on important current news events. This database can help with writing a critical essay, researching a report or term paper, or preparing for a debate. This database covers a variety of reference materials, commentaries and viewpoints, periodical and news articles, primary sources, statistics and multimedia.

Journals and Magazines

Current Medical Literature: Respiratory Medicine by Remedica Medical Education

Respiratory Research by BioMed Central

Respirology by Wiley-Blackwell