The Research Process: Pre-Research
What is the research process? Where and how do you begin? What do you need to do to get from the moment when you’re given the assignment to turning in your final paper?
Research doesn’t have to be daunting. Think of research as a process of discovery. With a research plan and an open mind, you will collect new insights and develop key academic and professional skills.
This video will introduce you to the purpose of research and present strategies to successfully begin your research journey.
Single Sign On credentials might be required to access the video. For more information about accessing CPTC Library resources off campus, please visit the OpenAthens LibGuide.
Research and Writing Links
More Helpful Videos
- Internet Research: What’s Credible? (Films on Demand Database) On the Internet, it’s incredibly easy, and fast, to research a topic with a few simple keystrokes. But it’s also incredibly easy to end up with unreliable and non-credible information that makes your research efforts fruitless. With an overwhelming abundance of options after doing an Internet search, how can you tell which results are reliable? In this video, viewers will learn strategies for narrowing down results and honing in on credible sources of information online. Experts such as college professors and media librarians offer advice, while students share their own experiences. A special section on one of today’s most popular research sites—Wikipedia—investigates whether it’s trustworthy or not for academic or professional use
- The Standard Deviants English Composition Series (Films on Demand Database) Grab a pen, a sheet of paper, and a seat because the Standard Deviants will start you on down the road of writing. Get ready to witness bold ideas, extreme penmanship, and some handy-dandy advice on how to write the perfect English paper. Learn to free-write your topics, wow your audience, and get that all-important feedback you need to write a grade-A paper. Learn how to knock your reader’s socks off with cool openers that grab them from line one. Then check out the subtle connecting power of transitions and a discussion on revising and rewriting.
- Quick Tips: How to Select A Topic (CREDO Database) • Overview of the research gathering process used to support a thesis or hypothesis. • Includes questions students may ask to draw conclusions based on their research findings.
- Quick Tips: Research Questions to Your Conclusion (CREDO Database) • Overview of the research gathering process used to support a thesis or hypothesis. • Includes questions students may ask to draw conclusions based on their research finding
- Quick Tips: How to Find Relevant Sources (CREDO Database) Presents search as a process that requires flexibility and open mindedness. • Includes strategies to help students navigate towards the most relevant results
- Quick Tips: How to Avoid Bias in Your Searches (CREDO Database) Encourages students to use neutral terminology to retrieve the most objective and relevant sources. • Directs students to seek a balanced understanding of their research topic by consulting a variety of sources.
- Quick Tips: How to Select a Topic (CREDO Database) Reminds students that research is a process that requires flexibility and curiosity. • Includes strategies to make connections between ideas and form a focused research question.
- Quick Tips: Using Pre-Research to Understand Your Topic (CREDO Database) Reminds students to make use of a variety of source types and background resources to fully understand their research topic. • Includes strategies for locating related sources and other avenues of research.
- Quick Tips: What To Do When Your Topic is too Broad (CREDO Database) • Introduces students to strategies for refining the scope of a research topic. • Encourages students to engage in reflection and revision based on the analysis of their search results.
- Quick Tips: Why You Need Many Sources (CREDO Database) • Encourages students to seek out multiple sources of information in order to gain a fuller understanding of their research topic • Reminds students not to analyze information in isolation. Instead, students are encouraged to make connections between sources to get a sense of the full picture.
Live Chat with a Librarian 24/7
chat loading...
Text a Librarian at 912-600-2782